We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The good - cheap. The bad - bed bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Veteran
Ranked #174 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The good - cheap. The bad - bed bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back, was not expecting much and for the price it would be probably all right (if not the extra guests - yes bed bugs come free of charge). Really basic setup- depending on the room. Entrance to some rooms requires a bit of rock climbing skills - stairs are fairy steep so getting into the room maybe a challenge after night out. Rooms facing Thorbeckeplain are bit on the loud side as there are pubs and coffee shops galore around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Done_T_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    41
    19
    31
See reviews for
7
41
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012, it was lovely :) Wasn't the cheapest but wasn't too expensive either. The owners were lovely and helpful! Breakfast was included, always a nice bonus. Staircases were very tight and windy but we loved it; it was quirky and we have lovely memories there. We would return :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorJDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent my 60th. birthday in the worst place I have stayed in in 45 years of travelling. The room was a dump despite paying 120 euros/night. I paid by credit card and was charged 5% (no mention of this charge in their website). Some sign say `Hotel`, others `Hostel`. These are 2 different categories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patersonneil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in room 6 for the first two nights of our stay. This room is at the top of the building, and only has a tiny window. The room overlooks the square outside, so there was a lit of noise from football supporters enjoying the European Cup. It's a small room, and the stairs are very narrow and precarious. I slipped down the stairs twice, and have the bruises to prove it. We then moved to room 1, which is much nicer. There is a lovely view over the canal, so you can watch the boats as they go by. We were badly bitten by some bug during our sleep. Breakfast is adequate. Service fairly good. Overall, the Veteran is too expensive to offer value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Plzensky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms are, uh, modest in the extreme, and the stairways are best described as narrow, winding passages. It can even be slightly loud out front at times, but that's the benefit of staying at this hotel: It' smack in the middle of the city and there's vibrant clubs and street life everywhere around this hotel/hostel/pension. The location just cannot be beat for the ridiculous low price of a room in a great city section of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJunot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a basic sunny double room that had a lovely view over the canal, staff and breakfast were fine. However the location is very noisy, we woke many times through out the night to loud street noise and other guests continuing to party in the hostel. There is only one bathroom (1 shower and 1 toilet) to share which was a real pain. On our second night we looked at another room that had become available with a bathroom although really spacious. It was dark, grotty and just above a busy coffee shop. It would have been really noisy so we stayed in the room without a bathroom. The next morning the bathroom was so filthy we couldn't shower or even use the toilet. No good unless you are there to party until dawn and queue for the bathroom.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After reading some reviews I was really worried about this hotel/hostal however my friends and I were pleasantly suprised. For the price it was great! If you expect more then a small family run hotel then I would suggest paying more and going elsewhere!

Amazing location in the square which is buzzing and busy (can be very noisy at night but this didnt bother us as we were out enjoying it). Our room was pretty small but comfortable nonetheless. The beds were comfy and clean and given clean towels every day. Yes the stairs are steep but this is no fault of the hotel, as Amsterdam just seems to have steep stairs everywhere!

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again if I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
#247 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#144 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Central Guest Rooms
Central Guest Rooms
#162 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B 1657
B&B 1657
#135 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#183 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Toon
Hotel Toon
#66 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Property: The Veteran
Address: Herengracht 561, 1017 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing