We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here”
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Veteran
Ranked #193 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent my 60th. birthday in the worst place I have stayed in in 45 years of travelling. The room was a dump despite paying 120 euros/night. I paid by credit card and was charged 5% (no mention of this charge in their website). Some sign say `Hotel`, others `Hostel`. These are 2 different categories.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patersonneil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in room 6 for the first two nights of our stay. This room is at the top of the building, and only has a tiny window. The room overlooks the square outside, so there was a lit of noise from football supporters enjoying the European Cup. It's a small room, and the stairs are very narrow and precarious. I slipped down the stairs twice, and have the bruises to prove it. We then moved to room 1, which is much nicer. There is a lovely view over the canal, so you can watch the boats as they go by. We were badly bitten by some bug during our sleep. Breakfast is adequate. Service fairly good. Overall, the Veteran is too expensive to offer value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms are, uh, modest in the extreme, and the stairways are best described as narrow, winding passages. It can even be slightly loud out front at times, but that's the benefit of staying at this hotel: It' smack in the middle of the city and there's vibrant clubs and street life everywhere around this hotel/hostel/pension. The location just cannot be beat for the ridiculous low price of a room in a great city section of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelJunot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a basic sunny double room that had a lovely view over the canal, staff and breakfast were fine. However the location is very noisy, we woke many times through out the night to loud street noise and other guests continuing to party in the hostel. There is only one bathroom (1 shower and 1 toilet) to share which was a real pain. On our second night we looked at another room that had become available with a bathroom although really spacious. It was dark, grotty and just above a busy coffee shop. It would have been really noisy so we stayed in the room without a bathroom. The next morning the bathroom was so filthy we couldn't shower or even use the toilet. No good unless you are there to party until dawn and queue for the bathroom.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After reading some reviews I was really worried about this hotel/hostal however my friends and I were pleasantly suprised. For the price it was great! If you expect more then a small family run hotel then I would suggest paying more and going elsewhere!

Amazing location in the square which is buzzing and busy (can be very noisy at night but this didnt bother us as we were out enjoying it). Our room was pretty small but comfortable nonetheless. The beds were comfy and clean and given clean towels every day. Yes the stairs are steep but this is no fault of the hotel, as Amsterdam just seems to have steep stairs everywhere!

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again if I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camila025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in August of 2010 when we couldn't find anywhere else to stay. The location was quite beautiful, but the room itself was disgusting. Old, dirty, the bed linens looked like they hadn't been washed ever, and the door was flimsy and barely attached to the frame. There was a single shared bathroom for the entire hostel, which was always wet, messy, and stank of mildew. Over the course of our four day stay, there was no toilet paper for about three of them. The guy who ran the place was completely apathetic, had no interest in helping us at any point or even aknowledging that we were there. Breakfast was also pretty meagre. As was the decor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#34 of 248 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $72 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Veteran 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing