We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and only one bathroom to share”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Veteran
Ranked #184 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy and only one bathroom to share”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a basic sunny double room that had a lovely view over the canal, staff and breakfast were fine. However the location is very noisy, we woke many times through out the night to loud street noise and other guests continuing to party in the hostel. There is only one bathroom (1 shower and 1 toilet) to share which was a real pain. On our second night we looked at another room that had become available with a bathroom although really spacious. It was dark, grotty and just above a busy coffee shop. It would have been really noisy so we stayed in the room without a bathroom. The next morning the bathroom was so filthy we couldn't shower or even use the toilet. No good unless you are there to party until dawn and queue for the bathroom.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    46
    20
    36
See reviews for
7
49
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After reading some reviews I was really worried about this hotel/hostal however my friends and I were pleasantly suprised. For the price it was great! If you expect more then a small family run hotel then I would suggest paying more and going elsewhere!

Amazing location in the square which is buzzing and busy (can be very noisy at night but this didnt bother us as we were out enjoying it). Our room was pretty small but comfortable nonetheless. The beds were comfy and clean and given clean towels every day. Yes the stairs are steep but this is no fault of the hotel, as Amsterdam just seems to have steep stairs everywhere!

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again if I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in August of 2010 when we couldn't find anywhere else to stay. The location was quite beautiful, but the room itself was disgusting. Old, dirty, the bed linens looked like they hadn't been washed ever, and the door was flimsy and barely attached to the frame. There was a single shared bathroom for the entire hostel, which was always wet, messy, and stank of mildew. Over the course of our four day stay, there was no toilet paper for about three of them. The guy who ran the place was completely apathetic, had no interest in helping us at any point or even aknowledging that we were there. Breakfast was also pretty meagre. As was the decor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room was abit on the small side and the window didn't open but other than that everything else was alright

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012

i would never stay here again the worst place i have stayed at in 30 years. the rooms where dusty. electric wires where unsafe in the room. the bathroom was not cleaned properly & they moved me into a single room with bunk beds half way through my stay when i payed for a double room with a double bed. i would never stay here again & would never recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank carl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#294 of 364 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,456 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Coco's Outback Apartments
Coco's Outback Apartments
#85 of 226 in Amsterdam
12 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B 1657
B&B 1657
#149 of 329 in Amsterdam
44 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Mokum Suites
Mokum Suites
#74 of 329 in Amsterdam
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Property: The Veteran
Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Veteran 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing