We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel experience”
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Veteran
Ranked #193 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in August of 2010 when we couldn't find anywhere else to stay. The location was quite beautiful, but the room itself was disgusting. Old, dirty, the bed linens looked like they hadn't been washed ever, and the door was flimsy and barely attached to the frame. There was a single shared bathroom for the entire hostel, which was always wet, messy, and stank of mildew. Over the course of our four day stay, there was no toilet paper for about three of them. The guy who ran the place was completely apathetic, had no interest in helping us at any point or even aknowledging that we were there. Breakfast was also pretty meagre. As was the decor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room was abit on the small side and the window didn't open but other than that everything else was alright

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

i would never stay here again the worst place i have stayed at in 30 years. the rooms where dusty. electric wires where unsafe in the room. the bathroom was not cleaned properly & they moved me into a single room with bunk beds half way through my stay when i payed for a double room with a double bed. i would never stay here again & would never recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank carl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I had perfect understanding of what I`ll have for this money. This place was perfect for my trip to Amsterdam Documentary Film Festival. Family, who owns the Hostel was very open to me and helped me in anything.

Smell of Coffee shop followed me in any place of the Hostel, even when I moved to the side of the river channel (because there wi-fi worked much better, than on other side). I hate it, but this is Amsterdam and I couldn`t do anything to get rid of it.

This is not a place for a rest, mostly for young peoples and backpackers. But the location is brilliant!

Room Tip: Ask receptionist to show you all available rooms before choosing the right one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The location of this hostel is very central: right near Rembrandt Square and on one of the main canals. Given that this is a square with many bars, it also means there can be streetnoise throughout the night. It's a loud but safe area.
Coming in can be a bit of a climb, with typical old-fashioned Dutch staircases (narrow and steep). The rooms are small but clean and with proper facilities. Bathrooms can be a little brutal late in the morning, but they are cleaned daily.
On the whole, it's not luxurious, nor good for light sleepers. But at this location and at this price, what can you expect? It's good value overall and I'd recommend it for young backpackers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Typical house in Amsterdam - according to my Dutch partner. Great location, lovely building. Yes, the room is small, but cosy and comfortable. Yes, the stairs are a bit challening, but we rather found it interesting and funny than annoying. Yes, it is next to a club, but this hostel is in the CENTRE, if you want a quite place, go far from the city centre.
The staff is lovely, very friendly, very helpful, could speak English. Breakfast was simply bu fresh, cold-cuts, cheese, jams, peanut butter, butter, fresh bread, toasties, few Dutch toasties, hard-boiled egg, fresh milk and ornage juice and continuous refill with freshly made tea and coffee.
The only negative part is that, thre is only 1 bathroom for around 5 rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor was nice and warm, we could leave the window open, so we also could enjoy the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#34 of 249 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $71 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Veteran 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing