We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Place I've EVER been to”
Review of Thorbecke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thorbecke Hotel
Ranked #362 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Worst Place I've EVER been to”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked this place because it was central and good value at £176 for 2 nights. We stayed an hour and left.
It smelt of vomit and Swede, the balcony (advertised) was the space on top of a roof filled with fag butts, urine, lost shoes, empty bottles and general crap. I have never walked outof a place until now. We didn't even try to get a refund, honestly we were happy to pay that not to stay there.
If your only intention in Amsterdam is to find a place under cover you can spew, book away but if u hav any concerns for hair in your bed, dirty scuff marks on the wall and a toilet that smells like 5 years of regret and puke, this might be your match made in heaven. Don't have the same experience! Em and John :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmziH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    38
    39
    123
See reviews for
20
54
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one week.
Right next to the pubs and clubs so there is a lot of noise.
When you enter the building you have to climb up a steep flight of steps. The room we stayed in had mould on the walls in the bathroom. The breakfast was just bread with an option to toast it, and jams and coffee. The owner being Chinese was not friendly and can't speak any English. I wouldn't recommend this Hotel and it's not value for your money!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

breakfast include (guys put please cheese more bc in 30 minutes its finishing) wifi you can catch only on the first floor., rooms are small but its ok. We had share shower. Shower could be better even share. But It still clean and friendly staff. I love dutch people!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

After reading poor reviews I still decided to book this hotel as it was super cheap and very central. Our room had everything we needed. It was clean and a good. It's true that the stairs are steep and there is some noise from the clubs but I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

the location of the hotel is great, location vs price. however the quality of the rooms were terrible: windows not closing well, dirty sheets, water infiltration, molding walls. there is noise from across the street bars

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had booked here for one Saturday night for around 80 euros.

We arrived at 11am and they kindly looked after our luggage so we could spend the day in Amsterdam and check in later. We did this. We came back to check in at roughly 6pm. There was nothing to the check in, simply confirming our surname and been given our keys. The staff were pleasant and apart from the stairs being insanely steep there was nothing to actually complain about.
Our room however was a hell hole. It was two floors up, the single glazed window had been left open so it was cold. We closed this immediately and it was disgusting rotting wood, and still let a breeze and noise in. If the window was the only problem then I wouldn't complain. But the shower/bathroom was like I haven't ever seen before, they cannot call that place a hotel. I've stayed in many a hostel and don't mind for a cheap price something a little substandard but this was grim. The tiles already had muddy footprints before we had even gone into it, the shower curtain was mouldy.for us, what was the worst part of the bathroom was the lack of lighting. I went down and asked for a better light or a different room with a better bathroom. The man at the reception told me there was a lamp by the bed and to use this. So I went back up the two stories to find there wasn't a lamp. So I went back down and told him this. After much time and a bit of arguing, he decided to change the lightbulb for a stronger one and he also gave us some hand towels (towels not provided and don't even have large towels available). However the room was even worse with light, it was mouldy and damp and to be honest just dirty. Only one socket and a broken tv. It was nothing like the photos at all and doesn't reflect the rate we paid. We could have paid less and stayed in a nicer hostel. Went back to reception and apologised and told him how unhappy we were and how the photos were not anything like the real thing. He agreed and said that the photos were of the apartments (which they don't own anymore). I told him they were on the website next to the rooms and under the hotel name but he wouldn't listen. Oh and wifi is NOT available anywhere but the reception, I complained about this and he argued that 'throughout the accommodation' like stated on website, meant just the reception.
We left, without a refund (despite arguing and we will take this further) and stayed at a nearby NH hotel for 100 euros and it was exactly what we expected and nothing that this hotel was... Friendly and polite staff, wifi, clean, tv, nice shower. Simple but clean.

I thoroughly tell anyone not to stay here unless they want nothing more than a damp bed for the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkshirewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#296 of 367 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#211 of 367 in Amsterdam
255 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#186 of 367 in Amsterdam
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#205 of 367 in Amsterdam
41 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#226 of 367 in Amsterdam
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorbecke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorbecke Hotel

Property: Thorbecke Hotel
Address: Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Thorbecke Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury Bed & Breakfast with the feel of a boutique hotel - right at the heart of lively Amsterdam. In B&B Thorbecke 1848 you will be able to experience Amsterdam like a true local - comfortably and at your leisure. Two adjacent, characteristic properties at the Thorbeckeplein in Amsterdam accommodate the B&B Thorbecke 1848. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thorbecke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorbecke Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing