We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Thorbecke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorbecke Hotel
Ranked #365 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 22, 2014

After reading poor reviews I still decided to book this hotel as it was super cheap and very central. Our room had everything we needed. It was clean and a good. It's true that the stairs are steep and there is some noise from the clubs but I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 222 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

the location of the hotel is great, location vs price. however the quality of the rooms were terrible: windows not closing well, dirty sheets, water infiltration, molding walls. there is noise from across the street bars

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had booked here for one Saturday night for around 80 euros.

We arrived at 11am and they kindly looked after our luggage so we could spend the day in Amsterdam and check in later. We did this. We came back to check in at roughly 6pm. There was nothing to the check in, simply confirming our surname and been given our keys. The staff were pleasant and apart from the stairs being insanely steep there was nothing to actually complain about.
Our room however was a hell hole. It was two floors up, the single glazed window had been left open so it was cold. We closed this immediately and it was disgusting rotting wood, and still let a breeze and noise in. If the window was the only problem then I wouldn't complain. But the shower/bathroom was like I haven't ever seen before, they cannot call that place a hotel. I've stayed in many a hostel and don't mind for a cheap price something a little substandard but this was grim. The tiles already had muddy footprints before we had even gone into it, the shower curtain was mouldy.for us, what was the worst part of the bathroom was the lack of lighting. I went down and asked for a better light or a different room with a better bathroom. The man at the reception told me there was a lamp by the bed and to use this. So I went back up the two stories to find there wasn't a lamp. So I went back down and told him this. After much time and a bit of arguing, he decided to change the lightbulb for a stronger one and he also gave us some hand towels (towels not provided and don't even have large towels available). However the room was even worse with light, it was mouldy and damp and to be honest just dirty. Only one socket and a broken tv. It was nothing like the photos at all and doesn't reflect the rate we paid. We could have paid less and stayed in a nicer hostel. Went back to reception and apologised and told him how unhappy we were and how the photos were not anything like the real thing. He agreed and said that the photos were of the apartments (which they don't own anymore). I told him they were on the website next to the rooms and under the hotel name but he wouldn't listen. Oh and wifi is NOT available anywhere but the reception, I complained about this and he argued that 'throughout the accommodation' like stated on website, meant just the reception.
We left, without a refund (despite arguing and we will take this further) and stayed at a nearby NH hotel for 100 euros and it was exactly what we expected and nothing that this hotel was... Friendly and polite staff, wifi, clean, tv, nice shower. Simple but clean.

I thoroughly tell anyone not to stay here unless they want nothing more than a damp bed for the night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkshirewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Don't some people moan, yes it's basic and more than a little rough but it provides what you need for a Saturday night in Amsterdam, four walls, a roof and a bed. If your staying longer you'd be better doing what we did, we stayed two nights in Zaandam and used the bus, then moved into the centre for the Saturday night, the bouncers on the club watched the motorcycles for us and we hit the bars and clubs until the early hours. Can't comment on breakfast as we missed that.

As for damp, well you're on reclaimed land below sea level and surrounded by water, what can you expect.

Shame this won't take dates before Jan2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwalesRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is great, the rest is a disaster.
The staff is nice, they changed our room, but even if it was a little better, the hotel is horrible. If you are planning a longer stay i do not recommend.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Emanuela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Giovanni D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Reading the poor rated reviews on Thorbecke Hotel I feel it's only fair to provide a balanced opinion on my stay:

Firstly, I stayed as part of a large group of twentysomethings (and some older gents) as part of a Stag weekend in August 2013. After reading some of the opinions on TripAdvisor I felt apprehensive; so I'll outline the pros and cons of the Thorbecke Hotel are.

Negatives

The Stairs- The stairs in the hotel are admittedly a bit of a taxing challenge to negotiate; especially if you suffer from a corpulent body structure (like some of our party) or have spend all day and night sampling the local Amsterdam ales and delicacies (like all of our party). Admittedly, some kind of elderly persons stair lift or simple winch device installed by the hoteliers may rectify this issue.

The Breakfast- Yes, the breakfast is very basic. Bread, cheese and orange juice are the specials of the day, but let's be realistic... there is a whole city with wonderful bars and restaurants to taste and absorb the local cuture. Perhaps visit a local coffeeshop and enjoy a "flapjack and a schigarette" or "pipe and a waffle" for lunch to cure any hunger pangs.

Being above a pub/nightclub- The only issue with this is that the bouncers are a bunch of clowns who get in your way on the way up the stairs. For more information on the stairs visit first section.

Positives

Clean- The room we had was clean if a bit dated; (think 1980's American comedy decor) but laminate flooring which was cleaned but housekeeping staff and clean bed sheets.

Location- This is the main positive for Thorbecke hotel. You are right in the mixer of the nightlife; get out there and enjoy it.

Innovation- The room we had enjoyed some kind of patio/conservatory/greenhouse arrangement, which is great for banging broads in if you enjoy that kind of thing.

Shower Rooms- After a night of dirty debauchery. a powerful shower is just the ticket. Thorbecke provided this with as much water as you like with no extra charge.

Beds- Yes! There are beds. Exactly what one requires for resting or engaging in coitus with one of the friendly local females.

Summary-

Thorbecke is a hotel which is great if you're more interested if going out and enjoying the delights of Amsterdam rather than sitting in your room pulling your pudding. If you are looking to enjoy yourself and have a bit of a party, no need to worry about noise complaints or if someone is sick on the linen. However if its a romantic weekend with your beloved or bit on the side; stop being a tightwad and book somewhere classy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BWWaccies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#209 of 372 in Amsterdam
152 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,605 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 372 in Amsterdam
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Coco's Outback Apartments
Coco's Outback Apartments
#90 of 237 in Amsterdam
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorbecke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorbecke Hotel

Address: Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $177 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Thorbecke Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury Bed & Breakfast with the feel of a boutique hotel - right at the heart of lively Amsterdam. In B&B Thorbecke 1848 you will be able to experience Amsterdam like a true local - comfortably and at your leisure. Two adjacent, characteristic properties at the Thorbeckeplein in Amsterdam accommodate the B&B Thorbecke 1848. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thorbecke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorbecke Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing