We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Thorbecke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorbecke Hotel
Ranked #365 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fab location.Room clean slightly on small side but we had 3beds in room which I imagine was designed for 2. Staff pleasant and helpful. On the minus side the 3steep flights of stairs were horrendous and for that reason I would not stay here again. The nightclub noise was brutal but we knew about the club before we booked.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 222 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

well firstly after reading the reviews we didnt no what to expect so we went with an open mind arriving on 30.12.12 staying till 04.01.13 .... on arrival we noticed the hotlel shared an entrance with a night club ... which was a problem as as the back of hotel there was another 3 night clubs so unless u keep your windows closed your in for a lively night .... checking in was fine not forgetting your 5% city tax to be added to your bill which is clearly sated on your invoice when booking on line .... well room was deceant size clean beds and bathroom and toliet nothing like some of the pics on here must of changed hands in the last 12 months as the owners werent very updated on the happenings with in the area but as its our 8th visit to dam on nye we new where to go and what plans we had ... breakfst was basic just like we have had every were in dam but there was no eggs shame but hey we dont go to amsterdam to eat breakfast lol ... thought hotel was a little expensive to what we usually pay .. but we only sleep and wash there really dont you ... as you dont go to a beautiful city to sit in your room and what we needed it for it was ideal clean towels every day and toilet rolls coffee facilitys and the main thing was its location was central to every where .... no winter wonderland this yr in rembrantplien though and no party at the van gough meusem it was at central station must change location every few yrs but overall go to dam with your party head on and an open mind and you will have a fab time ..... enjoy .......

Room Tip: turn your heating off and close your window if you dont want to hear the thumping music as its a cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericahigginsbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is just somewhere to get your head down. We went on a stag doo, so we was drunk must of the time. Do not go to this hotel with kids of if your after somewhere nice. its a dive and you pay dive money. Now stop moaning, if your in Amsterdam and sitting in your hotel room then there's more wrong to your life than a grubby hotel.

Room Tip: there all as bad as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We got to this hotel during the day on new years eve to find that they wanted to bill us a fee far greater than the one we had booked online. This would normally be fine as it was new years eve and we just wanted somewhere quite basic to crash and knew it would be expensive - the room was very small and hot with 2 singles (oredered a double) - one cup an 2 tiny towels and a filthy bathroom (blood stains on the door! and bugs on the floor). the room also had what appeared to be 2 windows - when I drew the curtains these looked into another hotel room - you couldn't make it up!!

lastly - we returned to the hotel at 2am to find a nightclub had opened up beneath it - the bouncer at first refused to let us into the hotel reception door but eventually let us through which took forever to convince him. kept up until 5am by thumping euro trance and woke up early due to noisy neighbours knocking on the window into our room.

Never, Ever stay in this hotel - it is the worst hotel in Amsterdam and they will try to rip you off!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I can't really understand the complaints. It clearly states a 1*, which it really is. My friend and i stayed for 2 nights in November 2012. Yes the stairs are really steep, but then so are all the stairs in Amsterdam. Yes it's above a club, but you can clearly see that on Google street view. It is basic, but the staff are pleasant and helpful and the location is great (If you like city centre locations) i couldn't fault it for what it is. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr Travels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just came back from a two day trip to Amsterdam, the hotel is very central which was handy. But it was disgusting inside you would think you was climbing mount Everest to get to bed the two flights of stairs to our room was very steep narrow and dangerous wouldnt attempt going down if I was intoxicated with alcohol. The room inside very basic not pictured at all the way it said on website the shower handle fell off in my hand, as for the breakfast American indeed rubbish a slice of toast and choice of tea and coffee and fruit Juice was all that was offered I have stayed in some hotels but this takes the biscuit. I can get a premiere inn room for 29 pounds and there standard is a million times better than this whole. Its minky meaning dirty and disgusting would never ever stay here again the noise from pubs and cars peeping horns all night I was exhausted when I got home and now have a chest infection hoping I haven't caught anything from this filthy place. The price as well wasnt what I was quoted when booked I was 40euros more to what I expected wasnt happy. Please don't go to this hotel for health sake

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Jgrant1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Pretty old hotel, too expensive for what it is. I would rate it barely a two star .. the bathroom was old and the shower falling apart!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#210 of 372 in Amsterdam
151 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,601 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#120 of 372 in Amsterdam
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Coco's Outback Apartments
Coco's Outback Apartments
#90 of 237 in Amsterdam
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorbecke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorbecke Hotel

Address: Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $177 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Thorbecke Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury Bed & Breakfast with the feel of a boutique hotel - right at the heart of lively Amsterdam. In B&B Thorbecke 1848 you will be able to experience Amsterdam like a true local - comfortably and at your leisure. Two adjacent, characteristic properties at the Thorbeckeplein in Amsterdam accommodate the B&B Thorbecke 1848. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thorbecke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorbecke Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing