We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms ok - Beds good if you like a boogie!”
Review of Thorbecke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thorbecke Hotel
Ranked #363 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooms ok - Beds good if you like a boogie!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Thorbecke was pretty much what I expected having read the reviews. The room was better than I had prepared myself for (apart from a good gathering of mould in the bathroom!)

What you py for here is not the hotel nor the room, it is the location, Rembrandtsplein is excellent, and although I have neer stayed in the square itself I have visited on over a dozen occasions.

Biggest cricisim, of the Thorbecke was when we returned back to go to bed. There was still a queue outside the property - for the club underneath. No Lie, it would not have been any noisier in our room than if I'd curled up on the dance floor with my duvet downstairs! Now I like Erasure, but not as if im by the speaker at 3.00AM.

The fact I was quite intoxicated at the time meant i went to sleep ok, but sober, not a chance without ear plugs.

In short, not the worst I've stayed in, but probably wont be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    38
    39
    123
See reviews for
20
54
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

hey guys, this hotel is in great locations.good for couples to stay.rooms are clean,simple with tv and bathroom.price is also great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

In July I booked a room at this hotel for a weekend in October. They charged me immediately with a deposit in order to guarantee the reservation. Originally I had told them, when making the reservation, that I was planning on arriving at 2 PM. Since my expected arrival time later on changed, I wanted to inform the hotel of this, so I wrote them an email one week before my arrival to let them know. Two days later they send me an email where they tell me that my credit card details are invalid. I find this strange, but I still send them my credit card details via email. The day after, they send me an email telling me that my booking has been cancelled. This was three days before my arrival in Amsterdam. I got highly frustrated and stressed about this, since finding another hotel in such a short notice is not easy! I have a suspition that the hotel had a problem with overbooking and that that's the reason why they decided to cancel my reservation at the last minute. But at least they should have been professional enough to admit this and let me know about the problem way earlier. I will probably never get my deposit returned either. Please take my advice and stay away from this hotel!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Birgitte83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Beersheba, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went to this Hotel, only because it was the only one available in the dates we visited, and also because the cost was not too high. (The hotels in the center is really pricy..)
I have to say It was really reasonable Hotel, the Breakfast was ordinary, a little bit noisy due to the fact is on the square and door to door to a few Pub’s.
Easy access by transportation from airport, and really short walking to all city sites.
In the evenings\weekend the square is full of young people, really nice atmosphere
If you are looking for a romantic weekend this is not the Hotel for you. But If you just looking for a place to crush at night during Amsterdam city exploring I think It is more than enough. (But not for people with sleeping problems)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It is easy to be critical of anywhere..only experience provides the ability to read between the lines. This was my 5th visit to Amsterdam over the years and my 5th different accommodation. The best by far was the Prinz Hendrik opposite the Centraal and the worst was a hostel near Leidseplein Square.
The Thorbecke provides no more or less than its' description in the travelogues.
I stayed here with my son for 4 nights. It is absolutely perfectly placed in the Centre of the city, within 30 minutes stroll from the Museum quarter to the South and the Centraal in the North. There is also a tram stop across Rembrandtplein Square which can whisk you there in 10 minutes for 3.5 Euros....
The Hotel itself is about 200 years old, so it has a vertical disposition and if you are on the top floor, you must negotiate several very steep flights of stairs, but fortunately the breakfast room is on the first floor. The breakfast itself is exactly what you may expect in any budget hotel...bread/toast with sliced ham and cheese...jams and marmalades, fruit juice etc. so don't expect an English breakfast; you are not in England.
I sleep like a log, as does my son, so the local nightclubs did not bother us at all...
The electrical outlets do require an adult approach, but they all worked, as did adaptors. The tv had multiple channels including(to my surprise) BBC1 and BBC2 for those , like myself, whose command of Dutch is non-existent.
There is a superb Indonesian restaurant on the corner, below the Hotel -one of the best in the City and a very good Irish bar (try the soup) across the Square.
We paid the equivalent of £100 each for the 3 nights, so no complaints there - I indulged the extra Euros on fine chocolate which I would have spent on another star rating...I left the Hotel without complaint of any description.

Room Tip: Room 23 is highest from the street and overlooks a very pretty courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel was so disgusting that any reputable on-line hotel booking company should not have it in their books if it wants customers to continue booking hotels through it. Suffice it to say that we moved out of the hotel offering the same rate with better facilities and room. It was dirty - using the word dirty to describe the hotel is actually an insult to dirt. The bedsheets were dirty, curtains dirty everything was just disgusting. The room which was supposed to occupy two people was so cramp there was not enough room to swing a cat yet alone 2 people. Please do not waster your money on this so called hotel. Avoid it like a plague

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#174 of 369 in Amsterdam
65 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 369 in Amsterdam
361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#300 of 369 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#251 of 369 in Amsterdam
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorbecke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorbecke Hotel

Property: Thorbecke Hotel
Address: Thorbeckeplein 3, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Thorbecke Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury Bed & Breakfast with the feel of a boutique hotel - right at the heart of lively Amsterdam. In B&B Thorbecke 1848 you will be able to experience Amsterdam like a true local - comfortably and at your leisure. Two adjacent, characteristic properties at the Thorbeckeplein in Amsterdam accommodate the B&B Thorbecke 1848. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thorbecke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorbecke Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing