We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a stay in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Ranked #235 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are exploring Amsterdam. The rooms are small and basic, but you won't be spending much time there anyway. The hotel is located on one of the busiest and vibrant squares in all of the city. You can easily walk from the hotel to anywhere in the city in about 20 minutes, and there is a tram station right out the front door. The staff is friendly, English-speaking, and available at all hours.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31' on the north side facing the square. No in room toilet, but had a sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 302 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and we loved this place. Easy to reach. Take tram 4 or 9 from amsterdam central and get down right opposite the rembrandt square. the hotel is right on top of smokey club. its 7 minute walk from waterlooplein station. if you are coming from airport, take train to amsterdam central and take tram 4or 9 from amsterdam central to hotel. Alternative route is you can get down at Zuid station and take a local train to waterlooplien and walk to hotel.

we found no issues with hotel. 24 hours reception, Bob at reception was helpful. check in quick. stairs are very steep. we were in 3rd floor and luckily did not travel with much luggage. numerous hotels and eateries around, we had no issues with food. the place is lively at night. we stayed in a weekday, but i guess weekends will be more buzzing.we bought a 48 hour GVA card for Euro 12 for metro/tram/bus travel. remember you can use this card for Airport travel (fyra or airport trains). 24 hour card is Euro 7.


room was very clean, airy and shared bathrooms were good. 2 bathrooms in a floor so no issues with it. the area seemed very safe. breakfast was served a club next to hotel and it was good and filling.

Except for steep stairs, this hotel won our heats. We would stay here again if travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytravChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Considering this is a 1 star hotel it is great! The room was really clean, attractively decorated and even though we had a shared bathroom there were two to share on each floor so we were never stuck waiting. I can see why people might think it's noisy as the hotel overlooks right onto the middle of Rembrandt Square which is a lively square (however this does mean it is a great location with lots of bars and restaurants around) and we didn't ever find it a problem.

The staff were really friendly and we were able to leave our bags after checkout which was great.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_and_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked a twin-bed room with shared bathroom. The room was just fair, in term of size and cleanliness. The door of the bathtub was broken and the shower gel was empty, but it was fine for us because we bring our own. Hotel is near to a coffee shop and a bar. That made the environment very noisy till mid-night, so I recommend people staying here should bring their ear-blocks. Be aware of the surely leg-breaking stair if you have luggage.

The staffs are cheerful and helpful. Breakfast provided was also satisfied.

Room Tip: Windows of the room never facing the Rembrandt Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here on a lads weekend break so this hotel was perfect for us, decent clean rooms and facilities and in a great location for a great price. Breakfast was also provided as part of the price next door in the nightclub area, was good for a bit of toast etc and a drink to start the day off. Looking to go back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year and it was a dream to stay in. We had a beautiful large room with balcony overlooking Rembrandt Square.
The food was great and staff were very helpful.
The hotel is in a really nice location. Lots of nightclubs dotted around the square if thats what you like.
The tram runs outside the hotel so east to get to Dam Square etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravelsbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights during our first visit to Amsterdam, and had a good experience at the Rembrandt Square Hotel. There were a few issues we had with the place, however, that some people might find hard to look past. First, as most other reviewers have said, the hotel is located in one of the busiest squares of Amsterdam, directly above a coffee shop and numerous clubs that stay open until 3 or 4 in the morning. We were on the third floor, and it was still very loud, so I can only imagine how loud it is for the rooms on the second floor. But, the hotel is very upfront about this and offers free ear plugs for anyone who wants them. Along with the noise issues, I was bothered that the entire hotel constantly smelled like pot. But, there's nothing they can really do about that since they are located directly above a coffee shop. The Internet worked well throughout the hotel, and the shared bathrooms were pretty clean. Plus, the location is unbeatable. We were in walking distance of everything we wanted to see, and there was always something going on in Rembrandt Square. Finally, the hotel staff could not have been nicer, and gave us a map of Amsterdam pointing out how to get to all of the major sites. Though the noise and smell bothered me, I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KAW218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 374 in Amsterdam
485 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#215 of 374 in Amsterdam
270 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#261 of 374 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#226 of 374 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#220 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $88 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing