We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Rembrandt Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Ranked #235 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is great. At first we got a room facing the square which I must admit a bit noisy with the pulsating music from the street but we were lucky they upgraded our room into a triple room facing the back of the hotel which is very quiet. There's no elevator in the hotel & we had to carry our heavy luggage up to the 4th floor but at least we had exercise. Inside the room, basic such as kettle to boil water & fan is provided. The triple room we had also has a sink. The staff is very helpful to show us where to exciting location to visit around Amsterdam. Hotel also provide a small room to store your luggage in case you came early before the check in time or decide stay after the check out time. Train stop just 20 meters from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to lower floor, facing the back not the square because it is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2footprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here with two friends in September for one night and was very pleased with the standard of the hotel as well as the location. Sittimg right on the square, central Amsterdam is just outside the front door - the square can be lively at night but we were lucky with a rear facing room. Funnily enough, there is a letter in the room stating that earplugs are available FOC as reception should you need them but honestly - it's nowhere near as bad as that would suggest. Staff very friendly, room clean and tidy with tea / coffee making and the usual steep stairs. We had a shared toilet which was two enclosed toilet units between about 4 rooms and they were spotless, never saw another person and quality of shower etc was excellent.
The breakfast was very good, just served next door in what was a jumping nightclub until about 3am - but it was transformed into a breakfast room with an excellent buffet.
If your into that kind of thing, Smokeys Coffeshop is right underneath the hotel and I would also recommend it - it didn;t get a good right up some sites but we found it to be one of the best and kept coming back. The combination of being able to have a beer and a smoke at the same time, plus they do food and some excellent fruit smoothies as well as good music, pool tables, quality 'gear', outside tables and a generally good atmosphere.

All in all a very good experience for us and would highly recommend the Rembrandt !

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room , get one facing away from the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Towson_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hostel is very centrally located middle of popular cafes, clubs and joints. The staff is pretty helpful and friendly. Stay also offers you some free drinks at the cafe below. The rooms are pretty small but clean and the interiors are very modern chic. The complimentary breakfast is served in a club/cafe next door but the spread is worth the money. The only drawback is the noise levels as it is situated right above a number of clubs and cafes and getting sound sleep is impossible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

They advertise themselves as being the best one-star hotel in Amsterdam, and that´s probably true. The location is very central, the staff´s friendly and the shared bathroom was of surprisingly high standards. Your typical basic continental breakfast was served in a dingy cafe next door. Like most basic hotels in Amsterdam the staircase is steep and there is no elevator, but a friendly and very fit staff member offered to carry my 23 kg bag to the first floor. Compared to other hotels in the same price range, this place in my opinion, offers great value for money, the only problem is the noise.There is a nightclub downstairs in the same building that plays extremely loud, trashy music until late, 3 am or so. I got free earplugs from reception, but it was still loud enough for me to hear which Shakira song was on. If you plan on staying out late every night or you are hearing impaired, or sleep like a rock, this place is a bargain.

Room Tip: Second floor is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colargol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

good location . standard of room was also good.

Overall the staff were helpful, on the last day i requested a wake up call to leave, and didnt get one. I complained and instead of an apology i got a "there is no record " and then the lady on reception advised that i actually did have a wake up call. - i wasnt high, and im a deep sleeper , but i would have woken if i had a call. There were no apologies. However, other than this i actually really liked the hotel and if this incident didnt happen I would have given the hotel a higher rating.

it is loud on weekends - so if you are not looking for that , dont pick this hotel. on thursday and friday night it wasnt too bad.

Room Tip: request the highest floor possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpmBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I know Amsterdam is pricier than other cities, but we were pretty disappointed with this hotel. The price (80 euros) seemed like a lot for what we got. People mention the location, which is central but really rowdy with the drunk college crowd. Lots of noise in the room, weird smell throughout, small room that was *very* stuffy (even warm, and that on a rather cool day), could hear people coming and going, mosquitoes in the room. Yeah, I'd say find a short-term rental for a longer stay, more bang for your buck, because decent rooms in Amsterdam fetch a high price. Lesson learned!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avecwithcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located but has gone down hill since I had stayed there the last time. The carpets were not clean and we had a problem with the mini bar. Very good location but this is all I can say. The restaurant attached "flo" is still very good but the service has slowed. Pity as this was a fab destination in the past

Room Tip: As this is in the middle of the entertainment district try not to get a room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 373 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 373 in Amsterdam
302 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#216 of 373 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#223 of 373 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $71 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing