We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor”
Review of Aston City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston City Hotel
Ranked #345 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 17, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Airdriepearl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

No elevator, cleaning rooms is a lie, staff if not nice, far away from nightlife on foot and it's expensive.
Horrible stairs to the room.
Smell of drugs in some rooms.
Rooms are too small. No sound protection.
Avoid at all costs. I recommend other hotel even it's more expensive

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank João C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Checked in for a couple of days, Where do I begin? i knew not to expect too much because of the price.
Absolutely disgusting, The Chinese receptionist was too busy with the computer and the phone while we waited standing 30 mins to check in. After the 20 mins me and my partner exchanged glances wondering if its worth staying even. Anyways we decided to go for it.
Our room was on the 5th floor not even on the same building the reception was on. No lifts and the stair climbing will make your day feel really miserable.
Room is dusty , no hot water even after informing the reception on the day we checked in oh and the walls on the building we stayed have something that looks like stool stains. The ground floor stank of garbage.
Since the room were no smoking we headed to the garden area which was on the building with the reception, and to our surprise it was no smoking after 6 and was told to us very impolitely. Hope the authorities look into their license to run this place.
The only plus point is the location. You will find Dirk supermarket which is only a stones throw away and comes in handy and also no too far to the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glob3trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were on the 5th floor of an unstedy stairway. No lift. The room was really small. I asked for a twin and got a double. I ended up sleeping in the same bed as my 21 yr old son. There was mould on the walls in the shower, quite a lot too. There was dirty curtains up and muck on the walls. We had to check in at a different hotel. I won't be recommending it to anyone. Probably the worst place I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked a 3 bed room, we had separate bathroom with towels and everything. The room was clean but DON'T look outside of the windows if you are staying on the ground floor because it's full of garbage. The window was broken but it didn't bothered because it was not could outside. Somehow the fire alarm was raised but luckily was a false alarm and after 1 minute it was shut down. The bad thing is that is that if you going with car you don't have parking space and for 2 day we paid 72 euros for the parking witch is a lot!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bartha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I get it, it was 100 Euros/night so I didn't expect too much...bed was so uncomfortable that when i laid on it, I basically slipped off the bed because there was no support. It kept caving onto the floor for where it was the heaviest - I weigh 115 pounds. My back hurt so much every morning but couldn't chance sleeping on the dirty floor. Even with that, I would haven given 2 stars but then the bathroom - oh lord. It stank like sewer and I had to keep the door closed or else the room would have reeked. But then the bathroom couldn't air out and the smell was horrendous. I had to hold my breathe while I was in the bathroom - it was that severe. We asked for another room but he said they were all the same and didn't have availability for 2 nights - we stayed for 3. On the up side, its close to everything - including Club Crystal haha - a strip joint 2 buildings down. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Three good things can be said about the Paganini/Vivaldi Hotel - everything about the room was clean, it was surprisingly quiet considering its location and it was just 5 minutes walk from the museums.
The hotel was more like a downmarket boarding house which at over £80 a night was well over priced. The single bed was awful, the curtains didn't fit the windows and there was nowhere to sit. The key failed on two occasions and help had to be summoned but this was prompt and efficient.
Can recommend the bar next door at the traffic lights for excellent food, beer and courteous, friendly service.
Only a port in a storm - there must be better for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 374 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#272 of 374 in Amsterdam
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#307 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#218 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston City Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade, Oud-Zuid 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Paganini Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $55 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aston City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganini Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing