We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but . . .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paganini Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paganini Hotel to your Saves list
Paganini Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #354 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location but . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Three good things can be said about the Paganini/Vivaldi Hotel - everything about the room was clean, it was surprisingly quiet considering its location and it was just 5 minutes walk from the museums.
The hotel was more like a downmarket boarding house which at over £80 a night was well over priced. The single bed was awful, the curtains didn't fit the windows and there was nowhere to sit. The key failed on two occasions and help had to be summoned but this was prompt and efficient.
Can recommend the bar next door at the traffic lights for excellent food, beer and courteous, friendly service.
Only a port in a storm - there must be better for the price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel was absolutely fine. The room was cleaned everyday, the sheets were clean and you got new towels.

The bathroom was actually quite big and the room was an apt size for a couple. The location was the real winner here, being very close to the museum quarter, Leidseplaine, Vondelpark and you can also hop on the tram for a short trip to Dam square.

Service was fine - though we didn't really test it as we had nothing to ask. I would advise that you use this hotel merely as a place for sleeping, as it's very basic. Minor complaint would be a slightly dirty toilet and the halls themselves didn't look the cleanest. But again, this should just be used as a stopping point and it's very conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL201389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was a bad stay...The hotel have a good location But it's bad. The bedroom is really really small for a couple, without a blackout , the bathroom is small and estrange but it was acceptable. The cleaning was ridiculous. The bed .. was terrible, a very hard bed i felt irons springs in my back, was really difficult to sleep. We stay at 5flor and the hotel doesn't have a elevator, then you can imagine how it was to take up our luggages in a small stair . Expensive hotel, 90E per day. Bad quality, breakfast not include but cheap.
Dirty hotel, estrangers receptionists,
A hotel for tennagers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brunaconstantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Definitely not a hotel. Toilets were thankfully clean. Bed was too work out. Had a back ache after staying here for 2 nights. It sinks in too much in the hips area. Room was too small. I lived in room 502. No stairs so u gotta carry your luggage up all 5 levels. Heard neighbours having sex. Okay for backpackers. Dining room chairs were stained. Definitely will not be staying here the next time I'm back in Amsterdam. For the price I think a proper hostel would be more decent. Would pay extra 20£ a night for somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Penguinvhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Firstly, there's no lift, so if you're on the very top floor (as in my case) you have to walk up 8 flights of stairs repeatedly everyday with bags/luggage or whatever which is exhausting. My room was tiny and didnt even have a window facing outside, but rather gave us a view of the stairwell and the next room's window, so i could literally sit on my bed and see their bed!!! The whole place smelt of damp and rotten cabbage, there were always loads of rubbish bags at the bottom of the stairs and the cleaners were rude (would bang on the doors in the mornings and if we didnt reply straight away they'd just let themselves in) -totally out of order! The lady at reception (which was down the road, not even the same building) made us pay for some aparent 'tax' which was a blatant con, she was rude and had no people skills. The other man who worked at reception was slightly more approachable but still no help whatsoever. The seats in the lobby (which was the only place with wifi connection) were absolutely filthy and the tables were sticky. Every part of the hotel was cramped and me and my friend found it extremely difficult to live in as there was ZERO storage space other than two drawers about the size of a shoebox. It's not even close to the city centre!! there was no security whatsoever, i felt unsafe the whole time i stayed there as the window didnt even shut properly and people could easily climb into it from the stairwell!! the only thing that saved me about the hotel is that there was a reasonable amount of channels, although the tv was the smallest thing id ever seen and was right in the top corner of the room and we had no remote! the bed sheets werent changed once and we were there for four days.....all in all it was horrible and it toally ruined my experience of amsterdam which really upset me. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL***

***HOSTEL

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripreviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#250 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#229 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#271 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#269 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paganini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganini Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Paganini Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Paganini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganini Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing