We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Semi decent hostel for overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston City Hotel
Ranked #353 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    51
    53
    136
See reviews for
18
88
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The real negatives were the towels which had stains on them, the electric plug next to the pillow had tons of dust and the inability to be able to smoke in the rooms. The rest was pretty much all right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank RiadHD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

For a little more cost it would be perfect for spending few days with friends.. good location near tram services and 15 minute walk from Central station. No elevator. Tv doesn't work but there were no necessity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff were efficient and helpful, but for the price paid the building was a little bit worse for wear than I was expecting (this can probably be forgiven as it was between Christmas and New Year). Contrary to some claims online all the rooms are non smoking, and the wifi is actually limited to the hotel lobby (our room was in the separate building so no chance). A bit of a killer staircase, as are common throughout Amsterdam - luckily we were travelling light. The room itself was reasonably clean, the window a bit dodgy and the TV pretty small but it did get Comedy Central. Slept reasonably, although there was a waste pipe right next to my head and every time a toilet above was flushed you could clearly hear it on it's way down. On the first night a fire alarm went off but was silenced when we were halfway down the stairs.

If you're looking for a reasonable low budget room and don't require much else at all then this is perfect. The location is great, felt very safe, with coffee shops nearby and lots more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I reserved a room on my card for me and a friend and once we arrived I was told that we would have to share a bed due to the double rooms running out. Prior to even speaking to the receptionist we had to wait extremely long due to amount of people in reception. I wont go into to much detail but we ended up going to another hotel and paying more.

It is a lot like a hostel not an hotel.
Marc Brown
London

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

away from city center. very small rooms (you can hardly stretch your arms at two sides). bathroom in the room. nice people working. had a silent and nice sleep. smoking not allowed. it was expensive for such a small place, however this may be partially forgiven, because it was around new year's eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank atork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Although the room was small but cozy and warm. One of the beds was slightly broken. Friendly service. Reception and our room was not in the same building. Only a 100 meters away, though. Clean towels, shampoo, and soap available in the bathroom. Continental breakfast available for 3 euros per person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Justina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#301 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#262 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#246 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#192 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston City Hotel

Property: Aston City Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade, Oud-Zuid 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Paganini Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Aston City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganini Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing