We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Holland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 6 nights at this excellent property at the beginning of a European tour. Paul was a very gracious and helpful host in every way. It is conveniently located for walking or trams into the city, with small supermarkets and coffee shops, cafés, etc close by. The breakfasts were a treat and having access to the kitchen was a bonus.
We had views of the canal and lifting bridge and the many barges and other craft that passed our window. Walking in the nearby Vomdelpark was a great antidote to jetlag when we arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for the Canal Room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jannvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 284 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

An excellent and comfortable place to explore Amsterdam. Loved the proximity to Vondelpark. Room lovely, daily 'surprise' breakfasts delicious. Very good place to stay. Paul and Karen could not do more to make you comfortable.

Room Tip: Garden room very peaceful
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revdpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week. The room (garden room) is light and airy and has a small garden outside. It is quite big enough for two. A bit more cupboard space would be useful, in addition to the curtained off shelves and hanging space. The hot water takes a while to come through but is very hot when it starts. The breakfasts, served on a tray outside your door, is tasty and filling. The staff are very friendly, and Paul (co-proprietor) is very informative.
This B & B is not in the city centre but in a suburb. But is near a frequent tram line (no 1) and close too to the beautiful Vondel Park, which is well worth exploring and which can be used as a route to some of the major museums. In the neighbourhood there is a surprising variety of shops and places to eat and drink - so it is a convenient place to be.

Room Tip: I have not seen all the rooms. The ground floor garden room is very quiet and light and definitely...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidRHarries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My mother and I stayed there for 5 nights in April. Paul and Karen were such good hosts. The breakfasts were delicious served with such friendliness by the housemen! The rooms were clean, airy and comfortable with little touches of hospitality...the bookmark of tulips in my mom's book, the chocolates on our pillows and the real flowers! I will come back for the lemon cake!!! The B and B is well situated on the main tram lines and the view from the top floor gorgeous!! We will recommend it anytime to our friends and family!

Room Tip: The top floor has a wonderful view and is ligth and sunny!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milandre4811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed there in for a few days. I have been traveling around Europe and this place was the nicest Ive found for a my budget. Beautiful and big room, the place is just spotless. You have to share bathroom but only with another room, so it wasn't a problem at all. You can use the kitchen at any time, and theres always tea, coffee, milk and cereal available.
Paul (the owner) is very kind and is always willing to help you.
Location of this place is quite good, 25 minutes walk to the centre, 5 in tram and 10 if you rent a bike (you definitely should) and you´ll have a view of the canals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diani-O89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in March and it was a great experience.

Paul and Karen went out of their way to make us welcome and to make the stay as pleasant as possible. There were lots of nice touches like cakes left out in the afternoon to have with tea or coffee. At the same time, they were in no way intrusive.

A listing of handy hints for day trips using public transport were provided and we tried the trips to Volendam and to Delft. We also went to the windmill in the outskirts of Amsterdam (Nieuw Sloten). We thoroughly enjoyed each of the trips and had no major issues following the instructions.

The house is located near tram lines and a canal and was well suited to exploring the city.

The room was great and very clean.

Great experience and would recommend it to anyone (that I like).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in October 2013 for 5 days. Paul knows his stuff and guides you to his place perfectly. The place is beautiful red and white decor, with tastefully done furnishings, simple yet comfortable.
We choose the room right on top, as we wanted a private bathroom. (you have to request for it, as quite a few rooms have shared bathroom only). The stairs are narrow and steep, really have to go slow on them, but the staff helps with the luggage, not very easy to negotiate of you had a long party going at Dam square. Chocolate and the fruit Jenever was the delight factor.

Location is in a quite neighborhood, but near restaurants, and grocery stores. The walk through Vondelpark is an experience not to be missed, unless you are there in Amsterdam for the red light area only. To live close to locals and not near touristy packed places has its merits, as you experience the place in a deeper manner.
If you are coming back after Cindrella's midnight ball (after the trams have stopped,) you are better off taking a taxi as the bus service is not so frequent. Or you can take the walk back through the charming Vondelpark, its perfectly safe at any hour.

The garden in the picture is part of a room, you can't walk into it, but not private either as the kitchen door on the ground floor opens into it.

Breakfast is not sufficient as it is only, milk and cereals.
Buy the iamsterdam card if you are in the city for more than 3 days and want to explore more than 3 museums.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom, specify it to Paul at the time of booking. The room on the top floor...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monsezyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Sloterkade 65-1, 1058 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $135 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing