We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Sleep, Perfect Location, and COZY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prinsen Boat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Prinsen Boat
Save
You added The Prinsen Boat to your Saves list
Ranked #111 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sweet Sleep, Perfect Location, and COZY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Peter Woundstra's "Prinsenboat" in December 2013 for 7 nights. (Don't get confused with another boat claiming this name. There is only one Prinsenboat near the Prinsengracht tram station.)The neighborhood is sweet and quiet yet hip, with lovely little boutiques, delis, brown cafes, restaurants, and bars. I have been to Amsterdam many times but this was the best location I've ever stayed.
The boat itself looks unassuming from the outside, but who stays in a hotel only to look at it from the outside?! The key is being inside this cozy place. You feel like you're in a different world. The windows are bigger than some boats. Like true locals we opened our curtains and dined in at dusk with lovely lighting and watched a few tour boats pass, waving at us. The swans, ducks and other birds came to eat our leftover bread. The kitchen was well-stocked with pans, utensils, etc. and there is an Albert Heijn store just a block away to buy food to cook.The wifi worked GREAT, the tv offered a large variety of European channels in every language.
The beautiful bed is so comfortable. After traveling in the Netherlands for 5 weeks, this was our last stop and the best rest of the trip.
Peter is a wonderful host. His daughter welcomed us upon arrival and let us know that she would be a phone call away if we needed anything.
On future trips, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and I plan to share this sweet place with friends, family and colleagues.
Thank you Peter! Your Prinsenboat is truly special. (Again, don't be mislead by another boat that calls themselves the Prinsenboat. THIS is the true Prinsenboat on the Prinsengracht!)
Susan E., Twin Falls, ID, USA

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzivangogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter p, Owner at The Prinsen Boat, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for the great review.
Especially appreciate it you warning future guests not to get confused with the imposters!

Best regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Finding a place like this is why we like trip advisor! So, so much better than a hotel room. Comfortable, fun, wonderful location in one of the best areas but only 6 stops on the tram from Central Station. Don't miss the friendly bar on the corner outside that does great salads, omelettes and more. Or the bakers (Kujt) a few doors down towards the city. On an August Friday night there were quite a few boats going past on the canal with parties on them so not tranquil, but it's fun to see and quickly quietens down once it's dark. All the booking arrangements were easy and Peter was very flexible about departure time as he didn't have people arriving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBLALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights on the Prinsen Boat and loved it. Peter met us when we arrived and was very friendly and helpful. The boat was quite big for just the two of us and very clean, and it had a great shower and everything else we might need. Location-wise, it's right next to a tram stop, but we hired bikes and cycled everywhere anyway - none of the major tourist points are more than a 15 minute bike ride away. When we were in, we loved sitting in the window and sharing waves with all the tour boats going past. Oh, and we had a family of moorhens to feed out of the window. Overall, we had an amazing stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmyjudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Prinsen Boat was the perfect place to stay for what was an amazing week in Amsterdam. Peter, the owner, is excellent with communicating during the booking process and leading up to our arrival. From the minute we walked in the door we knew we had made the right choice in accommodations. The boat is right at the stop for Tram 4 at the Prinsengracht and well-located within walking distance of everything! There are cafes, shops, grocery store and everything you need right there. The views are incredible as is the atmosphere of the neighborhood. From the flower shop and herring stand on the corner to the busy cafes the whole vibe was lively but not overly touristy and not crowded. Really chill. The boat itself was really unique. Every review mentions the bed...oh that bed! Some of the best nights of sleep we have ever had. It's like a cave in there! The shower has awesome water pressure and plenty of hot water. There is just enough movement on the boat so you know you are on a boat but there is not really all that much movement. The boat traffic on the canal is constant and really fun to interact with everyone partying on their boats in the canal. There is reliable wifi and cable TV with CNN (that's all I care about) and Cartoon Network (all my boyfriend cares about). The boat is rustic. If you are looking for room service and your sheets changed daily this is not your place. But if you are looking for a really unique, comfortable, romantic alternative to a hotel the Prinsen Boat is a great choice. There is no question we will stay there again if Peter will have us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jgpatlantatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent 4 days/nights with my partner on Prinsenboat over 1st May Bank Holiday and loved it! A few minor DIY repairs in progress and decor not quite as twinkly as some of the photos suggest but it was lovely. Very comfortable, spacious, heating/hot water excellent etc and kitchen amenities very adequate. Great location with easy acces to very centre of town or to walk to museum area in other direction, also to walk to practically any of the major sites, museims, parks etc. If don't like walking too much easy to get trams everywhere. No problem with noise and easy acess to supermarket, bars, deli's, restaurants and some funky shops just walking off the boat! Peter was great, friendly, humourous and genuine. Would definitely go back again and stay if not fully booked out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank DrC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for three nights on the Prinsen boat and would certainly recommend it! Stayed with my husband and three youngish children. The boat was well equipped and the central heating system worked a treat. It was in a great location, near shops and supermarkets and within walking distance of all the sort of sights you want to see when you have a young family and far enough away from the ones you don't want to see! The owner was fantastic, responding to e-mails and queries. I would no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the Prinsen Boat in early January. It was our first house boat experience and we were very excited about it. We left 3 nights later extremely satisfied. The house is at a busy intersection with a tram stop and car traffic - but none of this noise was audible inside the house. (the quacks from the local ducks is another story). The large king-sized bed was very comfortable and our two kids slept comfortably in the pull out sofa bed in the living room. The bathroom and shower were nice and well cleaned and the heat (one of our initial concerns about renting a house on a canal in January) worked great! We didn't use the kitchen much, but anyone planning to eat in during their stay will find everything they need (including some staples that are kept in the house for guests). The house was within walking distance to many activities, and there was a nice, large grocery store about 5 minutes walk away.
Only one complaint - the beautiful wooden paneling around the bedroom door frame hurts when you hit it with your head!

Room Tip: The pull out sofa would be crowded for two adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmericanVersaillaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter p, Owner at The Prinsen Boat, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guests,

We have a new pull out sofa which is a lot bigger and makes a standard European double bed of 1.40 x 2.00 m.

Best regards,
Vonoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#79 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
De Pijp
Houseboat Little Amstel
Houseboat Little Amstel
#46 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsenhuis
Prinsenhuis
#108 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Minties
#42 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
CoHo Apartment Suites
CoHo Apartment Suites
#114 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prinsen Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prinsen Boat

Property: The Prinsen Boat
Address: Prinsengracht 816 F, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a memory of your stay in Amsterdam aboard The Prinsenboat that you will always remember. We take pride in offering you a residence that is warm, inviting and comfortable. From the first day of your arrival at The Prinsen Boat to the last day you stay with us we will do our utmost to make sure that your experience is all that you wanted. Our little porch outside is right on the Prinsengracht. We can make arrangements for taxi service, and offer suggestions on activities. If you're celebrating an event, a birthday, anniversary or a reunion let us help you make it a unique experience. You will notice immediately the difference with an Amsterdam hotel. Children enjoy The Prinsen Boat as much or even more as adults. They love the small boats passing by and are thrilled by the life on the water. Also your very little ones are on our mind; we can provide a baby cot and a playpen. Be sure to ask for our special family prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Prinsen Boat Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing