We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could probably do better but no denying its good for students and stoners.”
Review of Sarphati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarphati Hotel
Ranked #367 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's not a great hostel. But ask yourself, what did you really come to Amsterdam for? This will cater to all your needs, its grim, but its cheap. You won't spend a lot of time here, why would you, there are an abundance of coffee shops needing business. They have cats, which just crawl about your beds. Its fine for a while but then you wake, coughing up a hairball. Its about a 20 minute walk from the main town, but its a sweet deal. There's a guy who permanently lives in room 223; Do NOT get him mad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

For €10 per night, I knew I had to set my expectations accordingly, so I wasn't surprised by anything.

The location is by Sarphati Park, south of Frederiksplein and Albert Cuyp Market, so it's slightly away from the center of things, but it's also a bit quieter at night but still provides easy access to the rest of Amsterdam.

When I arrived, the reception seemed quite overwhelmed by some irate guests who did not realize that this hostel accepted cash only for payment. I had booked online and paid a deposit, which took a while to explain to the guy manning the front desk before he gave me the correct price.

The room I was given probably could have been cleaner, but it did have an en-suite bathroom for convenience.

The staircase to go to the kitchen in the basement is very steep, as is typical in the Netherlands, so you'll have to be extra careful. Breakfast was included, very basic bread and jam, but I was happy that it would be available at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrapDivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room was filthy- despite there being signs up about 'no food / drink allowed in rooms' there was beer and crisps all over the place. I guess I was unfortunate to be stuck in a room with a bunch of Idiots on a 'lads weekend'.

It is a good location, though, and the staff were helpful. If you could get into an all female dorm it might be better.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place is a bit out of the way of everything that you want to do. Luckily there is a tram stop about 10feet from the enterance but it is a bit of a hastle. The place itself is nice and pretty clean. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. We had to cancel 2 of our days last minute and they had no problem helping us out and refunding what money they could. The rooms are a bit small but nothing too uncomfortable. The common room is big enough with free computers and tv. There is a kitchen which is a bonus but it's kind of messy (but that may have just been from the other people staying there). The free breakfast is just toast with a choice of spreads but it's cheap and tides you over. The other weird thing (but not weird for Amsterdam just weird if you're from the west) is that the bathroom in your room has a shower and a sink (no shower door the sink is literally in the shower) and the toilet is out in the hall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLK_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

me and 2 other friends stayed at this hostel in october 2011. hostel was clean, had computers for free access, decent continetal breakfast in the morning, and it was cheap! would stay again. although its not in the city centre, there is a bike shop though were you can hire then about a 40 second walk away!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooke i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the 10-bed dorms for two nights at the end of our trip to Europe. For 10euros/bed our expectations weren't high, but it wasn't too bad after all. If anything, smelly and lazy young "job-hunters" (read weed smokers) were more of an annoyance than the hostel itself. For this price I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALaunonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was the last stop on myself and my boyfriends month long interrail trip, and after some of the terrible hostels we stayed in this was a nice surprise. We stayed in a double room (with bunk beds unfortunately) which was well equipped. The room had satellite television, a shared balcony and an "en suite bathroom." The bathroom was the only let down as there was no ventilation at all - and after a few days of staying in the room it began to smell quite a lot and become a bit uncomfortable.

It is slightly out of the centre which might be inconvenient to some but was actually quite nice for us after a noisy night in a hostel on ones of Amsterdam's main streets. There is a tram stop right outside the hostel makes it so easy to travel to tourist spots.

Overall, we really did enjoy it, there was a nice atmosphere and the people on reception were lovely. If there had been a fan in the bathroom i would have rated it higher.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are nice, and double rooms have televisions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allybug1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 375 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
New Century Hotel
#340 of 375 in Amsterdam
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#311 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,992 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#286 of 375 in Amsterdam
790 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#206 of 375 in Amsterdam
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarphati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarphati Hotel

Address: Sarphatipark 58, 1073 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $27 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sarphati Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarphati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarphati Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing