We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
1,438
114
36
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,438
114
36
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvault barbeautiful hotellibrije's zusjepeacock alleyguerlain spamichelin star restaurantturn down servicefour seasonsluxury hotelexceptional hotelherengracht canalthe general managerthe entire staffgarden viewsteam roomjunior suiteperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Stayed for 7 nights in the Loft room. The room is nicely situated in a quiet corner on the top floor and the room itself is quite lovely. The Hotel is also located in a quieter area of town.

Upon arrival we were welcomed to sit at the desk for check in. The process was fast and efficient. We were then escorted to the room and our luggage arrived to the room a couple minutes later.

Housekeeping kept the room tip top all week.

Room Tip: I recommend the Loft!
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tardis750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our unique location on the Gentlemen’s Canal and that we provides you with a perfect setting in the room. Moreover, I will share your compliments with the Housekeeping team, who will feel incredibly rewarded by your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, in which case we hope you will not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Warm Regards,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

I have stayed at many luxury-hotels over the years, however still the Waldorf Astoria (W-A) in Amsterdam managed to stand out in a line of incredible hotels.
In many ways, it is all about simplicity and not over-the-top lavish interior decorating which many hotels think are synonoms for being a good hotel.
From the outside, the W-A does not give away much. It rather looks like it's neighboring buildings, however with the friendliness and professionalisme of the staff once you get out of your car, then it becomes obvious you're in for a treat.
The check-in process is uncomparable to anything I've tried, from the most friendly person checking me in and seasoned with great small-talk and a warm towel being given to soothe after a long travel.
The room was so beautiful and filled with natural light, without being pretentious, and along was a very large bathroom with everything you could wish for.
A great welcome letter from the manager (as well as one upon departure) accompanied with some sweets.
It was not the largest room I've ever stayed in, but somehow this is precisely what the W-A does extremely well, that everything seems so beautiful and delicate and provides you with everything you need.
The breakfast again was not the largest buffet I've ever tried, but every single item on the buffet was thought-through and tasted good.
Definitely a great experience and worth all 5 stars!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that my team has pampered you with our legendary True Waldorf Service and that the passion for hospitality of our team members transcended into making you feel welcome and well taken care of. Moreover, we are proud that we as the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam ‘’managed to stand out in a line of incredible hotels’’.

We place tremendous value in your satisfaction and loyalty and could not hold greater honor than in welcoming you again at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam – in which case we hope you will not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Warm Regards,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

My partner and I stayed here for our short stay in Amsterdam and we loved it! It was a stunning hotel. The bathrooms are one of my favourite with a comfortable tub and a tv. We will definitely be returning here next time we stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chelsea_K_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your short stay in Amsterdam, especially the bathroom with the comfortable tub and tv.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. Do not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Warm Regards,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Everyone that works here is amazing. Friendly and very helpful. They seem to have thought of everything you would need to enhance your trip. We asked where to rent bikes. They told us to hold on a couple minutes and the door men showed up with two bikes for us to use for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank B9702QWbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at TripAdvisor.

We strive to deliver the most unforgettable experiences to all of our guests and it is rewarding to read that we succeeded in doing so. Moreover, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your day by cycling through our beloved city.

It would be our sincere pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, should you consider to visit our wonderful city once more. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly, should you wish to make another reservation.

Warm Regards,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

This is a five-star hotel tucked decreetly behind the facade of a 16th century great house on one of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals. Once you step onto its marble-floored lobby the special proprietary scent soothes you and you become entranced. The service at this hotel is impeccable and the entire building is spotless. Our room was light and spacious, with a very large, beautifully-appointed bathroom, a very comfy bed and a walk-in closet. Once you step outside you are immersed in the beauty of Amsterdam and an easy walk to shops, restaurants and museums. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you’ve appreciated our efforts to create an elegant interior to match the beauty of our six 17th and 18th century canal palaces. Moreover, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your room, our unique Cire Trudon scent and our unique location in the heart of the city of Amsterdam.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam should you desire to visit our beloved capital once more. We hope you will not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Warm Regards,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews