We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brand new, nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #4 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brand new, nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great place, location and staff. Better than the Andaz staff for sure. Rooms are large, the Dutch front desk staff were very kind. A bit pricey but worth the cash. Will be back here sometime soon.
Hat's off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joejnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room, location and service.
We all look forward to welcoming you back for another experience.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    74
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
128
438
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Brand new hotel with luxurious amenities. Amazing renovations to buildings that are centuries old. But the service is what brought it head and shoulder above other five-star hotels we stayed in during this trip to Europe. Greeted personally at the hotel front door upon arrival, escorted to room by check-in staff member, received upgraded room, welcome gifts, and late check out as Hilton Gold member. Superb experience and exemplifies the Waldorf Astoria brand. Staying at this hotel was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback on you recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are honoured to read that staying with us has been one of the highlights of your vacation. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our luxury amenities and Hhonor benefits. At Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam we are passionate about creating memorable experiences that truly exemplifies the Waldorf Astoria brand and we are delighted that you have experienced this.
We truly hope to welcome you again.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent 4 nights in this amazing hotel to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. We had a great suite overlooking the canal and the 17th century houses opposite, how more Amsterdam can that be ! And on the first floor with very high ceilings, just fabulous environment of these 5 historical houses joined together to create this gem of a hotel.
The location allowed us to walk everywhere, the hotel is pure 300 year old building with 21st century comfort, great bathrooms, great beds, and complete calm and silence....bliss...
We tried the award winning restaurant one night, and that was a real surprise as the hotel is so new, excellent cuisine with a strong Hong Kong influence and impeccable service, classic yet friendly.
The team was young , enthusiastic and looked after us beautifully, we were even welcomed by the general manager Roberto, this was just an amazing stay, thank you all, we will be back!

Room Tip: Canal view is typical Amsterdam but the back view is on a garden which looked very nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrelyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, it was a pleasure to meet you in person. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the room and location. I have passed on your compliments to the kitchen and restaurant teams and they are delighted to hear that you enjoyed an award winning experience. At Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam our staff is passionate about creating memorable moments and we are glad to hear that you have had an amazing stay.
We all hope to welcome you back, and I will be happy to welcome you again personally.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have been visiting Amsterdam twice a year for over twenty years. The choice of five star hotels has gotten better and better. Recently, I stayed for six nights at the Waldorf Astoria. This is truly a great hotel. The transformation of the four or five townhouses into a hotel is beautiful. The public spaces are airy and a pleasure to be in. I visited several rooms and they were all spacious, comfortable and beautiful. My room was on the first floor overlooking the gardens. It was silent and the bed was amazing. The room was spacious and lovely with high ceilings and windows. The bathroom large and perfect. The gardens are incredible. The breakfast is the best I have ever had at any hotel. The buffet had everything you could want. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel has bikes for its guests which is a great perk. These bikes are very good.

I had worried that staying at a chain hotel like the Waldorf would mean that the hotel wouldn't have character and feel Dutch. This was not the case. This hotel has blended into the neighborhood and there were no signs I was staying in a Hilton. I watched a soccer game in the lovely bar and it was filled with Dutch residents from nearby homes in the area. This gives the hotel a very nice feel.

The spa and fitness center are outstanding. The work out room is airy and bright and has all of the equipment required for a great workout. It is clean and well kept. The Guerlain Spa has excellent treatments and rooms. When they were full and could not accommodate me for a massage, they booked me at an excellent day spa around the corner.

I have one issue with this hotel. I don't know who made the decision to make the beautiful and fantastic pool so ridiculously short. This was an error. Five extra meters and the pool would have been swimmable. As it is now it is a plunge pool. They could have made it longer because the steam room could have been where the showers are. I only book hotels with indoor pools because I swim while on holiday. That is why I am upset about this. The pool is the only flaw in an otherwise perfect hotel.

Lastly, the location is great. Five minutes by bike to museumplein. Near the flower market and all of the attractions and still tranquil on the beautiful Herengracht.

Room Tip: Any room will be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for sharing your valued feedback about your experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very honoured to hear that an experienced traveller like yourself has enjoyed the True Waldorf experience. At the Waldorf Astoria the staff is very passionate about delivering world class service and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed this to the fullest. I have passed on your kind feedback to our team members. We are sad to hear that the size of the swimming pool was not up to your expectations.
We truly hope to welcome you back , please reach out should you like to make another booking so that we can make your stay even more memorable. We can try to assist with making a reservation to experience a massage at our Guerlain Spa, and we will look at some alternative solutions for a swimming pool.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Beautiful building on the finest gracht's of Amsterdam, everything is within walking distance.
Upon arrival the hotel staff looked at us quite awkwardly as we arrived with motorbike. I guess they did not believe we were staying in the hotel. Once they realized we were indeed quests, they became very friendly.
Our room was reasonable size, lush pillows, duvets and bathrobes. also the bathroom was big. Beautiful views overlooking the canal.
The hotel was recently opened, and the check-in process took a bit of time.
There are no parking places in front of the hotel, the street is extremely narrow. Valet parking is offered around the block

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piiku99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room and stunning views. It is our priority to deliver service of the highest standard to every guest of the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We appreciate your feedback on the check-in procedure, this helps us to continuously keep improving our service. Thanks to you we are now training two of our valet parkers on motorcycle driving, and we have been working on getting some additional parking spaces, thank you!
We truly hope to welcome you back to showcase Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to its fullest potential.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at the Waldorf in Amsterdam. It has been open for only a few months, but the experience is already seamless. The property is stunning. The staff is committed to anticipating your every need. It was like being a guest in someone's (gorgeous) home. I travel frequently for business and pleasure and am very critical of hotels, but the Waldorf Astoria in Amsterdam is now one of my favorite properties on the planet. There is certainly no where else in Amsterdam that compares.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank whitesandiscalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you kindly for sharing your experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are honoured to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us and that we are one of your favourite properties.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again. Please reach out to us should you plan a next visit so that we can make you experience even more memorable.
Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Basically a brand new hotel in a historic building centrally located along one of the Canals. Large rooms, large bathrooms, great food and very friendly staff. I was recommended to stay here rather than at one of the hotels closer to the central station. And after having explored the city a bit, i do not regret this at all. Almost like being one of the locals, bit at a hotel. You can walk to everywhere, sights, shopping, restaurants....

This is a 5 star and it has all you expect from such a hotel. But what i liked the most was the greeting with a handshake at reception and the small tour/explanation of the building. All other staff i met were also greeting you with a smile and personal attitude. The only peculiar element was that they have a very nice garden in the back, but they do not serve food nor drinks there. You cant bring any either. Seems a bit of a waste, but i guess it is to avoid making this into a party hangout. Very relaxing though, sitting and listening to the birds, i should have brought a cigar!

Room Tip: My room was at first floor, facing the garden. Very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for sharing your kind review of your experience with us at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your room, the location and our True Waldorf Service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another experience.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Property: Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, ETB, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing