We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Pure luxury.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A truly wonderful & luxury hotel. Words aren't enough to describe our stay. Staff/concierge were very friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and polite, making us feel welcomed. Service certainly top class, could not fault. We stayed in a king suite with separate living room, understated elegance, very clean, fresh, quiet & relaxing. Food in restaurant and in-room dining was delicious. We requested pancakes at breakfast which were the best we have ever tasted across the globe, certainly recommend! My son didn't want to venture out to see the sights of the city, preferring to stay in the room or swim in the pool. A wonderful, luxury experience. Will certainly stay again and will now seek out this hotel chain whenever going abroad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
5  Thank krazymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful impressions with us in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. I will share your much appreciated compliments with the whole team and it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam or one of our other properties.

Please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

I think the hotel is absolutely stunning with a service to match. The hotel is like a dream, all light, fresh and chic and has a real residential feel to it. I stayed with my two sons and they also loved it. we were pampered by the staff who did an amazing job.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 105 and 107 and those were gorgeous rooms with views on the canal and absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katia324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Katia,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family and that you experienced our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff.

The team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed @ the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam and the hotel is breathtaking. I love the design which is contempary classic with some abstract art! The hotel feels very fresh and light as well as residential. And the staff is very well trained and makes you feel very special and they all look beautiful in their custom made Jan Taminiau outfits! I took my sons of 15 and 7 and they loved it as well. They had a great time and were treated like little kings by all the staff!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank femke a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Femke,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased to hear you loved the design of the hotel as much as we do, you enjoyed your stay with your sons and you experienced our True Waldorf Service giving by our team.

The team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great decor, amazing location and impeccable service. Every little detail has been considered, from the amazing mattresses, the lush carpeting, the heated ceramic floors in the bathroom to the toiletry products. An absolute must!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your well valued feedback. We are glad to hear you were happy with our service and location, and that you appreciated all the décor details that the hotel has to offer.

The team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just returned from an excellent trip to Amsterdam. Stayed at the new Waldorf Astoria. Th e Room as excellent. Large , extremely comfortable and well equipped. The bed was as comfortable a bed as I have ever slept in! with great quality linen.
The staff are naturally new to the hotel but without exception they were helpful , attentive and courteous. I begin to sound like an advert but genuinely a positive 2 nights.
If one negative was the fact that the restaurant only has 2 tables reserved for guests which meant we could not get in! Book the restaurant when booking the Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Rob,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you experienced our elegant rooms and our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff. I am sorry you couldn't enjoy our restaurant Librije’s Zusje Amsterdam, we would love to assist you with a reservation so you can experience our restaurant on your next visit.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Brand new hotel, highly motivated staff, nice and competent (and efficient) concierge.
Friendly atmosphere, beautiful and peaceful garden.
We had a beautiful, silent, big room (131) and were very pleased.
The room dining menu should be improved, the regular restaurant is said to be fantastic, who don't offer their specialties (or at least a part of them) also in the room dining menu?
Some small inconsistencies - like no outlets for the hairdryer in the bathroom - or some mistakes in the room service - but the staff is helpful, quick and competent.
So we were very happy and we liked it very much!!!!
Thank you!

Room Tip: 131 Junior Suite to the garden, very calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you were very pleased with the room and you experienced our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff. We have shared your comments with our teams, which helps us to continue to develop and improve our quality in this department.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for 3 nights during a business trip to Amsterdam. I was initially given a ground floor room with a very small window. Although the room was comfortable I found it claustrophobic. After one night I asked if I could move. Within 15 minutes I was moved to a room overlooking the garden with big windows. The rooms are lovely. Everything is new - soft white towels, crisp sheets etc. Other examples of good service: I went out and forgot to lock the safe where I had left my valuables. I phoned the hotel and someone went to my room and locked the safe for me. The concierge gave me an excellent restaurant recommendation and made the booking for me late on a Saturday afternoon. She had asked the restaurant to keep aside a few tables for her guests which was fortunate because I had already tried a number of restaurants and they were all fully booked. I had to have breakfast early on the day of departure. The staff were still setting up but made me feel comfortable and ensured that I had everything that I wanted. This really is a lovely new hotel. The staff are friendly and thoughtful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank jeanm965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Jean,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed the new room that was assigned to you, and the service that was given by our staff.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
862 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#6 of 373 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $528 - $1,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. Choose our Hotel to plan your next social event, featuring events rooms with unique features, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. For all kind of events, weddings, receptions, or special occasions, our dedicated events team will be glad to assist you, to make you day memorable in an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing