We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I did say I'll be back..”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I did say I'll be back..”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

This is my 5th trip to Amsterdam and 2nd staying at the Barangay. I visited previous with my partner and returned with a friend after such a wonderful experience the first time. We were greeted by Wimmo who served us up a nice drink upon arrival and pointed out some of the attractions of the city and nice bars/areas in detail on a map. We frequented the sky bar regularly given the lovely weather so thank you for the recommendation although we did not manage to find the city beach ha. Wimmo then showed us to our room which was a patio room with separate bathroom right next door which was exclusive to us. The room was beautifully decorated with a relaxing patio area to sit out at with a sky light to let the daytime sunshine in when possible. We were also provided with kimono robes we took full advantage of using. The room had a fridge, tv, tea/coffee facilities a table and chairs both indoor and outdoor, hairdryer, wardrobe and cabinet space and extremely comfortable beds. A bonus of the patio room was the exceptional breakfast in bed served at a time of you choosing. Our first morning consisted of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and a lovely cooked omelette. The second morning we were served pancakes, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, juices which were also delightful. I feel it's unfair for people to pass comment on the steep stairs, this is a given in the majority of buildings within the city which people should know in advance, and can hardly be deemed a criticism of our wonderful hosts or there beautiful home, especially when they are happy to carry your luggage up or down stairs for you should they be difficult to negotiate. We were not leaving the city until late on our last day, our hosts were happy to allow us longer to check out and also store our luggage for later collection providing us with a key to come and go as we pleased despite the fact technically our time as guests was up, this for me just sums up the best customer care I've ever had staying at a guest house, in fact anywhere and believe me I've travelled the globe far and wide. I don't have any negatives I can say about the Barangay, I would maybe suggest a fan in the room for the warmer climate maybe a nice added feature for guests but otherwise this is a home away from home ran with love, care, attention to detail and hosts who clearly go the extra mile. Gentleman thank you once again for helping make my stay in your city memorable yet again and dare I say it again? I'll be back...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiffyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Aloha .... tropical greetings from almost tropical Amsterdam.... he ehh e. Well, at least it is always tropical inside our B&B, rain or shine, winter or summer.
About that, Amsterdam can sometimes be warm.... like 3 days in a year and as suggested, we do have fans available on request. These are not in the room but it is in our storage area in order to have more space in the room.

We are very very happy to read this extensive review about our b&b.... not only detailed review about the room, facilities but also about us. Also, thanks for mentioning the stairs as a lot of people might still not know about it. Indeed, we have steep traditional Amsterdam stairs and we could not change it as we are a listed/heritage/monument building. It is however part of your unforgettable Amsterdam/Barangay experience.

Thanks a million for taking the time in writing and of course a billion thanks for staying with us again. We hope to see you very very soon. Much appreciated for telling the world about us and raving for all the services we offer. Rest assured we will continue to do our very best to keep giving love our guests rightfully deserved.

Tropical greetings,
Wimmo, Edson & Godxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    130
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
432
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

B and B Barangay and it's owner hosts are very deserving of their long list of accolades. We are a senior couple who spent 9 nights there in May. Wonderful location. Wonderful service and hospitality. Wonderful breakfasts. We even had wonderful weather. Wimmo watches the radar, intently, for the benefit of his guests. By the way, the other guests were amiable and everyone enjoyed the conversations in the kitchen/breakfast room, admittedly, me especially. Oh yes, the stairs, unavoidable in historic Amsterdam, but worth the short climb to escape the cold blandness of chain hotels. The hosts will help you book the rooms with the least stairs, if you e-mail your needs and use their website. We love this place and almost would keep it a secret, but the boys deserve to keep it fully booked and they do. We can't wait to return to Amsterdam and B and B Barangay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maliwan1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
sawasdee. aloha....
we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. we also enjoyed your little chats, especially during the morning breakfasts with the other guests. it was fun to hear the different stories each guest has to tell. it is also of curiosity that guests staying for a couple of days has totally different amsterdam experience that our guests staying longer than 5 nights.
loads of museums for Stephen... we think he has seen more that all of us here in Barangay combined... he ehhehe. And of course, you enjoyed your lazy mornings and rest at your tropical & buddhist inspired room.
Wimmo is indeed always making sure that all the guests get what they deserved and also checking the rooms constantly.... he love doing it.
our location is very close to the central station and at the same away from the maddening crowds.
we hope to continue giving the nicest service that our guests deserved.
again, a million thanks for staying at barangay and making time writing a super review.
tropical love from rainy amsterdam.
KAPKUM KRAP, godxxx & eds
the barangay team.... godxxx, wimmo & edson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at this delightful B&B on May 19th and 20th prior to our 12 night Baltic cruise. Our hosts were most welcoming, helpful, and made wonderful (breakfast) chefs. We especially enjoyed the Dutch pancakes and mushroom omelets...their main entree, fresh squeezed O.J., and other breakfast delights. Their suggestions as to where to dine were most helpful, and they even helped us obtain Canal Rides at a discount!

Their location is amazing (three-four blocks from Central Station) so we hopped on the Rail from the airport, then walked the few blocks to their B&B. We had a lovely room with a patio, and the rates were excellent. I highly recommend you play at stay here while in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnieriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
ciao cioa....
we are very pleased to read your review. indeed, our location is very close to the central station and at the same away from the maddening crowds.
we are happy to know that you totally enjoyed your ( world famous ) breakfasts in bed. we try our best to provide the best we could.
we are proud to acknowledge our friendliness and being always there for our guests. we hope to continue giving the nicest service that our guests deserved.
maybe we see each other again next time and you can try our upper rooms (steeeep stairs) in our cozy self-service kitchen.
again, a million thanks for staying and also for taking the time in writing your wonderful review.
tropical love from rainy amsterdam,
the barangay team.... godxxx, wimmo & edson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Barangay B&B offers a quiet refuge from vibrant Amsterdam. Greeted by our hosts with a soothing cup of tea, coffee, and chocolates, we were prepped for our visit. Godwin provided us with a map designating the top tourist attractions and off the beaten track recommendations.

We took advantage of the bike rental located a short block away, the restaurants located a street behind the B&B, and the most amazing deep tissue massage by Kyle, who came to our room.

Each guest room is individually designed with an Asian ambiance, which made me feel right at home. Self-serve / self-prep breakfast was delightful providing an opportunity to chat with other guests as we scrambled eggs together, fed the coffee pods, and enjoyed the morning sunshine in a lovely decorated breakfast room.

The first night we stayed in the basement room, which adjoins a small central patio and another guest room. We were treated to breakfast in bed, with an overflowing tray full of steamy coffee, and lots of other nourishments.

The weekend was perfect, with thanks to Amsterdam, our hosts and our masseuse.

Room Tip: Our room had a Buddhist shrine, a perfect place to site and reflect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Sangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha... we are thankful for you nice honest review about us.
Also, kyla says his thanks for mentioning him. At least a good marketing for him indeed. He gives such wonderful massage indeed. Just got one from him yesterday... he hehe.

Hope your nice & detailed review would be able to help other travellers to know us even before they come to stay with us.
Always great feeling to get a confirmation that we are doing the right thing.
It gives the whole staff more energy.
Feel free indeed to recommend us to all your ( facebook ) friends ... he he he.
Tropical Asian regards from all of us !!.
Godxxx, Edson &, Wimmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Everything is excellent! Wimmo, Godwin and Edwin are friendly, funny and helpful. The location is good, just 5 minutes from the central station. Also there are different style of restaurants just behind the street. For sure, this is a MUST-RECOMMENDED B&B for me.

Room Tip: Read the website hints so that you can choose the right room u like. The owners are very nice as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLam1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thanks for your kind review.
Even more thanks for being so kind to Billy & Bossy.

We hope to see you again in the near future, if not in Amsterdam, then in HongKong indeed.
Til next time around.

Tropical regards, godxxx
++ Wimmo & Edson
++ Billy & Bossy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just left this great B&B, stayed with 4 Adults and 2 small children. First of all the hosts are fantastic, thank you Wimmo,Godwin and Etson!! We were really made to feel welcome. The accommodation was as expected rustic old 1700 's Amsterdam! Even the steep stairs although challenging added to the experience. Breakfast choices are excellent. Location is perfect, close to centre of Amsterdam and only a very short walk from Centraal Station. We will certainly go back next time in Holland
E

Room Tip: If booking the upstairs rooms when having lots of heavy luggage can be difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len_and_Deb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, The Entire Staff at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
hola LEN & DEB.
thanks a million for staying with us and even more thanks for taking the time of writing a nice honest review about our b&b.
it keeps doing what we do best, to give the best service we could to our guests.
also, our stairs are indeed steep and not suitable for the less abled.
we certainly hope to see you and spread the word in perth.
tropical regards from all us,
edson, wimmo & godxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing