We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will really be pleased”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

B and B Barangay and it's owner hosts are very deserving of their long list of accolades. We are a senior couple who spent 9 nights there in May. Wonderful location. Wonderful service and hospitality. Wonderful breakfasts. We even had wonderful weather. Wimmo watches the radar, intently, for the benefit of his guests. By the way, the other guests were amiable and everyone enjoyed the conversations in the kitchen/breakfast room, admittedly, me especially. Oh yes, the stairs, unavoidable in historic Amsterdam, but worth the short climb to escape the cold blandness of chain hotels. The hosts will help you book the rooms with the least stairs, if you e-mail your needs and use their website. We love this place and almost would keep it a secret, but the boys deserve to keep it fully booked and they do. We can't wait to return to Amsterdam and B and B Barangay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maliwan1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

sawasdee. aloha....
we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. we also enjoyed your little chats, especially during the morning breakfasts with the other guests. it was fun to hear the different stories each guest has to tell. it is also of curiosity that guests staying for a couple of days has totally different amsterdam experience that our guests staying longer than 5 nights.
loads of museums for Stephen... we think he has seen more that all of us here in Barangay combined... he ehhehe. And of course, you enjoyed your lazy mornings and rest at your tropical & buddhist inspired room.
Wimmo is indeed always making sure that all the guests get what they deserved and also checking the rooms constantly.... he love doing it.
our location is very close to the central station and at the same away from the maddening crowds.
we hope to continue giving the nicest service that our guests deserved.
again, a million thanks for staying at barangay and making time writing a super review.
tropical love from rainy amsterdam.
KAPKUM KRAP, godxxx & eds
the barangay team.... godxxx, wimmo & edson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 927 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at this delightful B&B on May 19th and 20th prior to our 12 night Baltic cruise. Our hosts were most welcoming, helpful, and made wonderful (breakfast) chefs. We especially enjoyed the Dutch pancakes and mushroom omelets...their main entree, fresh squeezed O.J., and other breakfast delights. Their suggestions as to where to dine were most helpful, and they even helped us obtain Canal Rides at a discount!

Their location is amazing (three-four blocks from Central Station) so we hopped on the Rail from the airport, then walked the few blocks to their B&B. We had a lovely room with a patio, and the rates were excellent. I highly recommend you play at stay here while in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnieriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

ciao cioa....
we are very pleased to read your review. indeed, our location is very close to the central station and at the same away from the maddening crowds.
we are happy to know that you totally enjoyed your ( world famous ) breakfasts in bed. we try our best to provide the best we could.
we are proud to acknowledge our friendliness and being always there for our guests. we hope to continue giving the nicest service that our guests deserved.
maybe we see each other again next time and you can try our upper rooms (steeeep stairs) in our cozy self-service kitchen.
again, a million thanks for staying and also for taking the time in writing your wonderful review.
tropical love from rainy amsterdam,
the barangay team.... godxxx, wimmo & edson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Kkr LK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Barangay B&B offers a quiet refuge from vibrant Amsterdam. Greeted by our hosts with a soothing cup of tea, coffee, and chocolates, we were prepped for our visit. Godwin provided us with a map designating the top tourist attractions and off the beaten track recommendations.

We took advantage of the bike rental located a short block away, the restaurants located a street behind the B&B, and the most amazing deep tissue massage by Kyle, who came to our room.

Each guest room is individually designed with an Asian ambiance, which made me feel right at home. Self-serve / self-prep breakfast was delightful providing an opportunity to chat with other guests as we scrambled eggs together, fed the coffee pods, and enjoyed the morning sunshine in a lovely decorated breakfast room.

The first night we stayed in the basement room, which adjoins a small central patio and another guest room. We were treated to breakfast in bed, with an overflowing tray full of steamy coffee, and lots of other nourishments.

The weekend was perfect, with thanks to Amsterdam, our hosts and our masseuse.

Room Tip: Our room had a Buddhist shrine, a perfect place to site and reflect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy_Sangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Aloha... we are thankful for you nice honest review about us.
Also, kyla says his thanks for mentioning him. At least a good marketing for him indeed. He gives such wonderful massage indeed. Just got one from him yesterday... he hehe.

Hope your nice & detailed review would be able to help other travellers to know us even before they come to stay with us.
Always great feeling to get a confirmation that we are doing the right thing.
It gives the whole staff more energy.
Feel free indeed to recommend us to all your ( facebook ) friends ... he he he.
Tropical Asian regards from all of us !!.
Godxxx, Edson &, Wimmo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Everything is excellent! Wimmo, Godwin and Edwin are friendly, funny and helpful. The location is good, just 5 minutes from the central station. Also there are different style of restaurants just behind the street. For sure, this is a MUST-RECOMMENDED B&B for me.

Room Tip: Read the website hints so that you can choose the right room u like. The owners are very nice as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexLam1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thanks for your kind review.
Even more thanks for being so kind to Billy & Bossy.

We hope to see you again in the near future, if not in Amsterdam, then in HongKong indeed.
Til next time around.

Tropical regards, godxxx
++ Wimmo & Edson
++ Billy & Bossy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just left this great B&B, stayed with 4 Adults and 2 small children. First of all the hosts are fantastic, thank you Wimmo,Godwin and Etson!! We were really made to feel welcome. The accommodation was as expected rustic old 1700 's Amsterdam! Even the steep stairs although challenging added to the experience. Breakfast choices are excellent. Location is perfect, close to centre of Amsterdam and only a very short walk from Centraal Station. We will certainly go back next time in Holland
E

Room Tip: If booking the upstairs rooms when having lots of heavy luggage can be difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len_and_Deb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, The Entire Staff at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

hola LEN & DEB.
thanks a million for staying with us and even more thanks for taking the time of writing a nice honest review about our b&b.
it keeps doing what we do best, to give the best service we could to our guests.
also, our stairs are indeed steep and not suitable for the less abled.
we certainly hope to see you and spread the word in perth.
tropical regards from all us,
edson, wimmo & godxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

After reading the tripadvisor reviews, we decided to book this place for our stay in Amsterdam. We arrived after a very short walk from the Centraal Station, which was an easy 15 minute train ride from the airport. The directions they gave on their website were spot on, couldn't get any easier than that. We arrived on a Sunday morning at about 10:30AM and once we rang the bell we were promptly greeted by Edson. Edson, Wimmo and God were very warm and welcoming and sat down with us, after getting our welcome drinks, which was greatly appreciated. He gave us a tourist map to the city and pointed out all the best things to do, we asked a few more questions and he was able to point out what we were looking for. Since we were early and check out for the other guests was 11:30AM, we were able to leave our luggage and Edson pointed out a good street, just right behind the BnB to grab a bite to eat and relax until our room was ready. Once we came back, Wimmo greeted us, we paid our bill and he brought us down to our room, the Tropical Patio Room. The room was very cozy and had such a comfortable bed. Our room had our private bathroom just down the hall. We stayed at the BnB for 4 days and each day breakfast was brought down to our room at the time of our choice between 9-11AM. Each day was something new and delicious, we couldn't wait to get up for breakfast! I am a vegetarian and they made sure to only include items I could eat which was greatly appreciated. Honestly the breakfasts were so big my husband and I had a hard time finishing them, but we had our little fridge in the room where we were able to store some items for snacks later. This was our first experience at a BnB and I will definitely stay at one again and for sure stay here again when we are back in Amsterdam. The service, value, quailty, location, everything about Barangay is amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better first trip to Amsterdam! Thank you so much to Edson, Wimmo, God, Kyle and the others who work here to help make this place a first class BnB.

Room Tip: Patio Rooms are great, down a small flight of stairs and you get Breakfast in bed and a Patio to sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, All the staff. at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Wow... one of finest & detailed review we have ever received in years.
A million thanks for sharing your experience and for giving us such a great feeling that we are indeed doing the right thing.
You make us feel great and give us even more energy to keep on aiming for even better service to all our guests.
Rest assured the we will keep loving our guests as guests deserve to be treated.
Again, our great appreciation.
Til we meed again.
Eds, Wimmo, Kylle & Godxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,237 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,476 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $150 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing