We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous vacation and relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous vacation and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I couldn't have found a better place. Great friendly host, from the moment we arrived we knew we were going to like it. We had booked the upper Suite, which was roomy and beautiful. Then we went to ground level Suite. " We LOVED it!. Sorry we missed you when we checked out. We will definitely be back. We came from the USA to see our friends get married in Amsterdam. A wonderful trip as well as comfortable stay. Thank you again.
Matt & Steve New Orleans, Louisiana Dec3 dec7 2013

Room Tip: you need space, you got it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearignysuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    128
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
79
423
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The best things about this b&b are:
Super location.
Really friendly & gracious hosts.
Spotlessly clean rooms with private bathrooms.
Unique deco - tropical touch here and there to compliment the warmth of this accommodation. Home from home away feeling.
On top of that a great choice of ( unlimited ) of breakfasts... he he.
Cant recommend enough. See for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gangelo508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I chose this B&B based on reviews on Trip advisor and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with kindness. We were then given a map from Wimmo with multiple recommendations of places to visit, markets to go to, and restaurants to eat at. The B&B is in a great location to so many great places including a wonderful Christmas market that we visited during our stay. We walked from the train station to the B&B very easily and had not problems finding it. Our room was spacious and the decor was very eclectic, which we enjoyed. The bathroom was FANTASTIC! Best water pressure and shower head ever...We had access to a self serve kitchen every morning and enjoyed fresh eggs, juice, fruit, cheese, breads, cereals, and coffee. This was wonderful and plenty. If you are traveling to Amsterdam and want to stay somewhere with at great location where you feel at home you should stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g8torjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a great time in Amsterdam and we really loved our stay in this B&B. The hosts are very friendly and they immediately make you feel at home. We had a lovely room, very nice and clean. The location is also superb. It is close to the central station (so perfect when you travel by train) and to the "Haarlemstraat" and "9 straatjes" (nine streets), a very nice area to walk through.

I would really recmmend this B&B to everyone who visits Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stottermaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

At the Barangay you will find a big hospitality and a very warm and clean ambient. People are friendly and kind, the only thing I did not appreciate too much is the of 20,00 Euro if you arrive after the 6 pm, all the other things was simply wonderful and perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
2 Thank acsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review!!

We would just like to explain about late check-in and how to avoid the surcharge.

If you book directly via our own web site, there is never a 20 euro sur-charge if you arrive after 6pm.
If you make a ( last minute) booking via an internet booking website, you can read the check-in policies before you book. ( we have to pay these booking sites 15% commission)

Often we give 25% to 35% discounts for last minute bookings, but.. you have to check-in before 6pm. ( It is possible that we have appointments in the evening already)
We advise you to use our site, and you can always check-in till 10pm without a surcharge!

Hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Wimmo & Godwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Located just a few minutes walk from the train station and within easy walking distance of all the main areas of Amsterdam, this B&B is a great place to explore Amsterdam from.

We stayed in one of the en-suite rooms next to the main B&B. The room was underground, so did not have a view, but this was not too much of a problem as the room itself is decorated very nicely. Very quiet, didn't hear a thing from anyone else in all the time that we stayed.

The freely available nespresso machine in the room is great, as is the huge TV.

Breakfest is a self-service buffet available until 11:30 (a very civilised time for breakfast indeed!) and had the usual continental choice of cheese and cold meats, with croissants, yoghurt and the option to boil an egg if you wish.

The owners are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome, and on the last day allowed us to leave our bags there until late. There is no reception desk, so you need to let them know what time you will be arriving so that someone will be there to welcome you and give you your keys. Not too much of a problem at all.

Not completely sure about the price as we booked last minute so we had little choice, but this B&B fitted inside our budget and included breakfast which was a bonus. Best deals are from contacting them directly if you have a bit more time to look around and get prices.

Overall a very good B&B and somewhere I would definitely consider visiting again if I am back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

On Trip Advisor's site for this B&B it clearly is stated 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms for the one night we requested, for $107. But when we used links to confirm and pay for our reservation, and after havingt sent a detailed Email, price went up to Euros 136, and then we phoned and were quoted Euros 138. We complained and said we would not make the reservation. On phone owner said we had used another server/site and that room was no longer available, and he then quoted Euros 138 for a triple room.

Room Tip: Beware of various sites for this B&B. It just might be better to telephone them and get a less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhappy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
This is the mail we wrote to Mr. Unhappy 200

Dear "Unhappy",

I just want to let you know that we are very upset that you rated us "terrible" only because you wanted to book a TRIPLE ROOM for the price of our cheapest double room. We only answered your inquiry and offered you our master upper (triple) room.

We are running our B&B for 15 years, but this never happened. Our prices are very clear on our site or on one of the many booking sites. We also advertise on many other sites and often on those sites you see a price for the cheapest double room. You wanted to come with 3 persons!

We are surprised why you don't understand that not every room has the same price and that sometimes the room you prefer is booked by someone else.


On the Tripadvisor site are no prices, for available rooms and correct prices we gave you a link to our own site.

I do understand it is a big misunderstanding, but to rate us "terrible" ?? We hope you consider to remove or adjust your review.

Best regards,

Wimmo ( also very unhappy)
Barangay B&B

Later he replied and wrote us we can take of the "terrible" Unfortunately we can not do that our selfs.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing