We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #7 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the B&B Barangay for a long weekend in August and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The location is perfect, on a quiet street close to the central station. Wimmo and Godwin were great hosts and I loved the breakfast in bed! I had one of the patio rooms downstairs, which meant that the bathroom was separate from the bedroom (just outside, in the hallway). I thought this was going to bother me but it didn't. There were lots of fun little details in my room, starting from the towel animals on the bed. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - in fact, I already tried to do that once but everything was booked. :)

Room Tip: The patio rooms are downstairs, so there are a few steep steps to go down. Not good for people with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    128
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
79
423
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

5 minutes walk from the train station, very easy to find. The owners are very helpful, we arrived quite early and they tried to get us in our room as early as they could which was really appreciated. They were able to give us heaps of info about the area, where to visit etc and the breakfast was really nice, wifi also worked well. We stayed towards the top and as the website says the stairs are quite narrow - we did have large suitcases but a bit of pain at the start and on leaving was worth it as the room was really nice and as the stairs are heritage listed it was quite cool to stay in and get a feel for a typical Amsterdam building. The owners also arranged us a cab for very early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nay_799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely accomodation and the staff were amazing, catered to every need and we really enjoyed the varied breakfasts! The decor was very unique and en suite was very modern.
Will definately stay here when we visit again.
5 minute walk to central station and trams also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean comfortable accommodation. 5 Minute walk to central station and trams. Excellent breakfast. The most pleasant and helpful hosts I have ever encountered when staying in a B&B.
Wim will provide excellent advice (plus map) on places you would like to visit during your stay.

Room Tip: Any infirm traveller should choose lower level room as stairs are steep to some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Font66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been to Amsterdam about three or four times in the past and have always stayed in a B&B on Herengracht. This time, since we were a bigger group, I had to find a place that could accommodate all five of us.

Barangay has always been at my top list of places to stay when I search the internet for B&Bs in Amsterdam and I regret not checking this place out sooner! It is located in a superb spot, just by the train station and right where the small shops and places to eat are located. The hosts are friendly people, but not too over friendly that they encroach in your space.

We were living at the top floor during the time we stayed here so we occupied the entire top area. Which meant that we only had to share the bathroom upstairs with each other (from within our travelling party). The top floor rooms accommodate a triple occupancy and double occupancy. I would have minded a little bit if we had to share the bathroom with strangers.

However, whilst there, some contractors arrived because I believe they were splitting the bathroom into two. So maybe on your stay you won't have this issue anymore! But despite the shared bathrooms at the top floor, the bathroom is immaculately clean at all times. Huge enough to be a room itself, and really just 2 steps away from your room so it doesn't feel like it's out of the way to go there in the middle of the night.

My favorite part of the B&B apart from the little kittens that greeted us when we were briefed before check in is the kitchen. It always has coffee available. The kitchen is completely useable at almost all hours of the day. And the breakfast choices are pretty basic but sufficient--with enough choices of meats and cheese and different kinds of yummy bread.

I also mentioned the place is in a superb location. Dam square is a bit of a walk, but completely walkable (maybe 10 minutes leisure walking?). The place is also littered with a lot of coffee shops, cafes, and boutique stores for the smoker, the coffee-drinker, and the shopper. Best part is that it is near Joordan so if you happen to be there during the flea market time, then it's also walkable. It's quite a bit of a walk from Vondel Park and the museums, but since it is close to Centraal station, you can take a tram to virtually any part of the city from there.

All in all an awesome experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamromualdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We want to thank these guests for their great review!
They are right right about the bathrooms. All rooms have private bathrooms now, (either private external or en-suite) Both upper rooms where these guests stayed have ensuite bathrooms now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location of B&B in walking distance from train station, easy to find. On arrival, greeted by friendly owners who showed us to our room and gave us a detailed introduction to Amsterdam including a map. Bedroom was better than expected (and expectations were high), lovely décor, lots of space, warmth and light. En suite was exceeded expectations, the highlight being the walk in power shower! The communal breakfast room was always spotless, well stocked with various foodstuffs and usually we ate breakfast alone. On the occasion when another guest was dining, there was plenty of space. Was able to come and go at anytime we pleased. Cafes and supermarket on street behind B&B. All sightseeing attractions were in walking distance for us. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not only is B & B Barangay a great location, the rooms are scrupulously clean, the hosts are welcoming, and the breakfast is yummy--plenty of coffee for us coffeeholics and warm bread baked by Wim along with the expected breakfast fare. Yes, there are stairs, but Noy carried my suitcase up when I arrived and down when I left--I don't know if this is usual service but I certainly appreciated it. I would definitely go back to B&B Barangay, and I've already recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: The room above the street had street noise, but I took out the movable screen at night and replaced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dischmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for taking your time in writing a very nice review. It is highly appreciated.
About the street noise, we would like to inform you and all our future guests that it is a thing of the past. We now have second set of windows, double glazed to filter all street noise.

Also, our kitchen has been transferred to a much bigger space ( 2.5x bigger ) to offer more comfort to our guests. It is still as cozy as before based on our guests new reviews. Very spacious for everyone to enjoy preparing their own breakfasts. The choice of sitting intimately on your own table or sitting ( as most guests do ) on the long table to meet and share your travel/amsterdam experience with other guests of Barangay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and a million appreciation for recommending us highly. Tropical regards, W&G, Eds, Billy & Bossy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing