We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly owners, clean and lovely rooms”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location of B&B in walking distance from train station, easy to find. On arrival, greeted by friendly owners who showed us to our room and gave us a detailed introduction to Amsterdam including a map. Bedroom was better than expected (and expectations were high), lovely décor, lots of space, warmth and light. En suite was exceeded expectations, the highlight being the walk in power shower! The communal breakfast room was always spotless, well stocked with various foodstuffs and usually we ate breakfast alone. On the occasion when another guest was dining, there was plenty of space. Was able to come and go at anytime we pleased. Cafes and supermarket on street behind B&B. All sightseeing attractions were in walking distance for us. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for B&B Barangay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 918 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not only is B & B Barangay a great location, the rooms are scrupulously clean, the hosts are welcoming, and the breakfast is yummy--plenty of coffee for us coffeeholics and warm bread baked by Wim along with the expected breakfast fare. Yes, there are stairs, but Noy carried my suitcase up when I arrived and down when I left--I don't know if this is usual service but I certainly appreciated it. I would definitely go back to B&B Barangay, and I've already recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: The room above the street had street noise, but I took out the movable screen at night and replaced...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dischmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thanks for taking your time in writing a very nice review. It is highly appreciated.
About the street noise, we would like to inform you and all our future guests that it is a thing of the past. We now have second set of windows, double glazed to filter all street noise.

Also, our kitchen has been transferred to a much bigger space ( 2.5x bigger ) to offer more comfort to our guests. It is still as cozy as before based on our guests new reviews. Very spacious for everyone to enjoy preparing their own breakfasts. The choice of sitting intimately on your own table or sitting ( as most guests do ) on the long table to meet and share your travel/amsterdam experience with other guests of Barangay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and a million appreciation for recommending us highly. Tropical regards, W&G, Eds, Billy & Bossy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was recommended to me by a friend who lived in Amsterdam 10 years ago. When I arrived the place was better than she described. I stayed in one of the rooms in the basement with the little internal garden. It was cosy, warm (you can controll the radiator to your liking) and comfortable. I was there in February so it was snowy and cold but the room was very warm. The outside shared bathroom was very clean and it really didn't feel like you were sharing it with anyone. The guys that run the B&B are utterly lovely. They recommended a few places to eat and looked after my bags on the last day after check out. The breakfast was sumptuous. I was waking up at 7 and the table was already set with all sorts of delish delights and the fridge well stocked. I left to work very happy every day. At the weekend I was joined by my friend and we were moved to the bigger suite to the side of the main building. That was very very comfortable, with it's own kitchen. An amazing coffee machine and really comfy bed. The sofa area was lovely, not that we stayed indoors long as there's so much to do around Amsterdam. the location of Barangay is ideal. It's 5 minutes walk from Central Station which is convenient for commuting and it's surrounded by fab bars shops and restaurants. A couple of really good supermarkets are near by too. The first room i stayed in is one of 2 in the basement and it's very quiet. It's equipped with everything you need. There is Wifi and it's a perfect place to stay if you're working in Amsterdam.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasmin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review!
We just want to inform future guests that our Patio rooms have private external bathrooms!
The upper rooms have en-suite bathrooms or private external bathrooms. Since February 2013 there are no more shared bathrooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Picking accommodation on internet seems always risky, but I found a great choice with the Barangay. Their locations is really a short walking distance from the station. Run by Wimmo and Godwin I can understand why they have a lot of regular guests. Wimmo is a mind of useful info on where to go and what to see in Amsterdam. A clean and home away from home residence with authentic warm people including welcome drinks. Nice ( tropical ) design of the room will bring you special feeling in Amsterdam indeed. Surely, I won't stay anywhere else and would highly recommend to all visitors of this Amazing city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuvanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is by far the best B&B I've stayed. The location is second to none, just two blocks from Amsterdam Central Station (very convenient), and very close to the City Center, but it is still in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are very very friendly and helpful. They offer you a welcome drink, give you a map and explain to you about the city and the best places to go. The room is very comfortable, clean and new. We had one with in suite toilet, on the top floor (a tropical suite I guess he called it). Decoration is beautiful, specially the kitchen, where you have your breakfast (you make it yourself, which makes you feel kinda at home). On the downside, only to mention the stairs which are very steep, but they help you with your luggage to carry it upstairs. But every house in Centrum Amsterdam has that kind of steps.
I will definitely stay here if I go back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank federoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Barangay for 3 nights in June last year (2012). We arrived at the b&b after a super early flight with a friend and were anxious about leaving her outside while we checked in. No need for any worry, she was invited in along with us and made to feel immediately welcome. We all had a welcome drink (very much needed at this point) and a chat where our hosts seemed to pick up on our personalities straight away and were able to pinpoint areas that we would like and point of interest.

We were shown to our room which was up some typical steep Amsterdam stairs (as noted on the website) and were blown away by the size of it - I think it was the Upper Masters Tropical Room. A huge luxurious comfortable bed, loads of character, extra seating ... and a pristinely clean shower room and toilet right outside our door. We immediately felt at home.

The kitchen was just across from our room, where you could help yourself to loads of different types of food for breakfast, and has an impressive coffee machine. It was quite lovely to sit there every morning and decide what to eat - pastries, eggs, cold meats, cheese, cereal, toast, fruit etc. So much to choose from .. and with the added bonus of being able to chat to other guests at breakfast.

In terms of location it is perfect - on a quiet street yet only 10 mins walk from the train station (max). We like walking so it was perfect that we could walk to most of the attractions. The b&b is situated in the Jordaan area which is near to the canals, to bars, to a lovely park ... so much is on your doorstep so its great for exploring.

We will definitely be going back!

Wimmo & Godwin were perfect hosts - they helped us with our plans and provide excellent accommodation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlevic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose Barangay on the basis of the reviews on this site and were very glad that we had done so. It is conveniently close to Centraal Station and the city centre. The hosts are clearly characters; very welcoming and very helpful. We had the tropical red room, one of the few with en suite facilities. We were in Amsterdam during a heatwave and the room was hot, but in our view that's still better (with its fan) than air-conditioning. The self-service breakfast offered plenty of scope and suited us. The free wifi was of a much higher standard than at many hotels. We patronised all three restaurants recommended to us, each of which was excellent. We would certainly go back, but potential guests do need to read the very fair warning on the website about the steepness of the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,326 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $152 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing