We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay in a hotel?”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Why stay in a hotel?”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

when B and B's like this exist. Very warm welcome, interesting individual rooms, lovely big beds, extremely clean, close to station but not busy, shops and bars very near, excellent value. Deserves it's high ranking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_broad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    130
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
432
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I chose this accommodation for its location (central, on a quiet street) and for the good ratings. But not only: the reviews I saw spoke about the owners and they very special way to receive their guests.
From the first contact with them (it was on the phone) they was so friendly! We met them some days after and the offer me an espresso in their warm living room, we spoke about Amsterdam , about what to do, where to go. They were very attentive at our requirements, they understood our concerns and we are separate 3 days later as friends. I will come back in their B&B absolutely!
Rooms are clean and decorated in the colonial/ tropical style. The breakfast offers the complete, the real experience of an original Dutch breakfast. The rooms are equipped with expresso machine but also all you need for making a tea or an instant coffee. The room was good heated and the cleaning is made every day.
Dear Wilmo and Goodwin, tropical thanks for everything! It was great...

Room Tip: Some few rooms have private bathrooms, but outside of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Was a relaxed and quirky place with a lot of character! Had a lovely welcome upon arrival, was offered a drink and a much needed map and then shown to our room. Nice location, very central, didn't use any public transport the whole time we were there as everything was walking distance away. Breakfast was lovely, was a good idea being left to cook whatever we wanted with lots of food supplied and laid out beautifully in the kitchen and the kitchen was open till late morning (11am), so was able to have a lie in which made a change from your average hotel. I found it difficult to choose accommodation when looking at the vast amount of faceless hotels in Amsterdam, they all looked a bit samey and expensive, however Barangay offered a more personal and interesting accommodation experience.

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in the Buddha temple room, in which the bed was to die for! Very very comfy, spacious and lovely bathroom with a large bath and shower.

Great value for money, a right little gem.

Would highly recommend Barangay to everyone and anyone. Made our trip to Amsterdam even better and will definitely stay here again next time we visit without a doubt! Thanks to everyone at Barangay for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My two friends and I decided last minute to go to Amsterdam for New Year's...By which point everything was either booked or the prices were like double. Barangay had gotten some good reviews, so I sent them a message. They told me that they didn't have any space, but set us up with a friend of theirs who had an apartment to rent. We signed in at the B&B, which was lovely by the way...And they were so nice, had a nice chat about the city and he gave us their cell numbers in case we needed anything. The apartment we went to was beautiful as well. All in all, it was a really lovely stay and I intend to stay at the B&B next time I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I easily found B&B Barangay, and the location (5 minutes from Central station) is close enough to the center of city, but still on a quiet street.
We had an amazing experience from the moment we entered the B&B. We were met with a warm smile and offered a drink and a seat in the living room. Wilmo spent a good amount of time explaining the city to us. He asked us what we had planned, what we wanted to do/see and then gave us his favorite restaurant and bar suggestions. We tried almost everything he suggested, and we had a wonderful time in Amsterdam. Since we live about three hours away from the city, we are already planning a trip back. We will only visit when we can get a room at B&B Barangay! We have not stayed at any other places, but I cannot imagine any other place could be better than this darling little tropical getaway in the midst of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer you breakfast in bed. I hear that is a lovely option if you're intereste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanamarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

He said us that we must call before the check-in, and we send 3 emails with the confirmation. He responded to our emails but he didnt remember the emails. After them, he was arrogant and rude all day. There is cat hair in everywhere. The filipinos of the B&B are friendly and educated, unfortunately the manager no. Keep calm and be more polite with customers when you have any problem with you booking system. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I was really surprised when this review came in 4 months later.
We do not ask our guests to call us, we know at what time our guests check-in, this is also written in the confirmation.
We do not have a manager! and of course me and Wimmo are not rude and arrogant to our guests, why should we? ( see other reviews)
In september 2012 we had 1 cat in our private living room, it is impossible that there are cat hair everywhere. The cat has no acces to the other floors and also not to the guest rooms.
I would be not surprised if this person stayed in an other B&B...(?)

Godwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this cozy B&B, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We haven't tried any other Amsterdam B&B's, so can't compare, but I can't imagine anywhere else could be any better. Breakfast is do-it-yourself, with a full kitchen and normal ingredients available. Wilmo is as friendly and helpful a host as can be imagined. Kyle, who works there part time, a trained masseuse, gives a WONDERFUL full body massage - better than any shipboard spa for 1/2 the price. Their website warns you that the stairs are steep and narrow - they were a real challenge for my size twelves. But the spacious, quiet and comfortable tropical room was worth the climb. Great central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing