We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Easy access from train station. Welcoming staff with a drink. Gave Amsterdam info. Attic room was huge and spotless along with the bathroom. Internet and self-serve breakfast was very good. Highly recommend. Mabuhay!

Room Tip: Attic room was seculded and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    129
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
80
428
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from 3 nights at the Barangay. Had read all the reviews and I was hopeful, but it was so much more. From the cute touches such as the towel "swans" to the helpfulness of Wimmo (tour guide extraordinaire!). We were upgraded to the Master Bedroom which was gorgeous. The place is immaculate, the breakfast is plenty, the location is perfect. I will definitely recommend the Barangay to any of my friends who will be visiting Amsterdam. We hope to return ourselves sometime soon. Stay here!!! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: As others have noted, the stairs are typically Dutch - narrow and steep, but manageable. The patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evenstar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fantastic location with a short walk to Central Station, Bus, Tram and subway. Right behing Harlemerstraad and an easy walk to major attractions such as the Ann Frank house.

Very nice rooms, large bathroom. Great breakfast and friendly hosts. Absolutely will stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The folks at Barangay set the standard for city B&Bs. Great room. Great location. Great breakfast. Fabulous hosts. From the welcome drink to the restaurant suggestions, Wimmo, Godwin and the team obviously love the their job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Barangay is simply the best B&B we have stayed during our first time in Amsterdam. The owners, Wimmo & Godwin are friendly and humorous. The room looks beautiful and clean. They even made the towels into lovely swan and placed them on the bed. The location is strategic and near to Amsterdam central train station and it is located at a quiet street away from tourist crowd which you can get a good night sleep. They also helped us to book tickets for museums which can skip the queue. Definitely will revisit them if we come to Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This B&B is situated close to Central Station and not far from everything you need.
Wimmo and Godwin are the perfect hosts, who go out of their way to do all they can to make your stay a pleasant one!
Upon arrival we were told all about all the sights and the best way to get to see them, with a complimentary drink.
I noticed comments about the stairs, but all houses in Amsterdam are like this and is to expected that the stairs will be narrow.
Breakfast is laid out in the kitchen, and has all you would need to set you up for the day.
As our flight was later in the evening, we were able to keep our luggage there to pick up before we left.
I wouldnt hesitate to recommend Barangay to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great location. 3 mins walk from central train station, and within 30 mins to majority of the sites and museums.

Fantastic breakfast. The brown bread, jam, ham.... are all delicious. Thumbs up to the coffee too. We were allowed to use the kitchen to cook as well. We cooked our own eggs for breakfast, and had a hearty breakfast just like at our own home.

Comfy room. I love the bed and pillows, so comfortable, no less than those in any 5 star hotels, if not better. Wifi is fast. Just be prepared to have an experience with the steep and narrow Dutch staircases!

Room Tip: if you can book early and afford a bit more, the Budda room give you a private bath room. But sharin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are very happy for your great review. Answer has been long coming but better late than never. We highly appreciate your honest remarks and recommendations.

Just for your info, for your future stay with us and that of other guests, all our rooms have not PRIVATE BATHROOMS. Our kitchen has also been renovated and has been expanded & is at least 2.5x bigger. More comfort to our guests but still as cozy as before based on our guests new reviews. Very spacious for everyone to enjoy preparing their own breakfasts. The choice of sitting intimately on your own table or sitting ( as most guests do ) on the long table to meet and share your travel/amsterdam experience with other guests of Barangay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and a million appreciation for recommending us highly. Tropical regards, W&G, Eds, Billy & Bossy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,488 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing