We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #61 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“5 stars B&B”
Reviewed November 17, 2005

What a nice surprise

Used to visit amsterdam's hotels and B&B, I have finally found mine.

The suites are really cosy and comfortable and the bathroom is amazing (steam shower + very nice design).

The only problem with the Flying Pancake is that you don't want to go out anymore and visit amsterdam, when you are in your bed, watching a DVD on the TV set (B&O) with a fire in the fireplace.

We really enjoyed our 3 days stay

Thanks again Claudia !!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
315 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    24
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
122
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 11, 2005

I spent three days at The Flying Pancake and had an perfect stay!. The neighboorhood is green, safe and cosy and is good located in the citycenter. Claudia the hostess is warm, interested and provides a 5 star service. There is a breakfast of your choice, a selection of spirits is offered free of charge and she brought home from France a fine selction of Bordeaux wines (try yhe Chantelys), there is TV/DVD a beautiful illy espresso machine and a lot of dvd's and CD's. The bathroom is a dream two showers and a steambath with eucalyptus, a real pleasure. A laptop computer is available on request. I can recommend this place to everyone. Claudia see you soon!!

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
323 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2005

My husband and I stayed a week in The Flying Pancake. The "room" that we stayed in is an entire floor of a charming row house conveniently situated within walking distance to all of the major attractions in Amsterdam. The main living space has street views on one side and courtyard views on the other side. The seating/dining area has a working fireplace with a lovely antique marble mantle. The sleeping area is seperated from the dining area by a modern modular wardrobe, which made the space open, light and airy. The room has a small kitchenette with a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator and neat espresso maker. The best part of the room is the bathroom with its great use of tiles in various shades of green defining three distinct areas: one for the toilet, another the vanity and the third a walk-in shower. The shower, which is also a steam room, has a handheld spray, a rain showerhead and a sculptural glass tile bench. Not only does The Flying Pancake offer a great physical space, but the owner, Claudia, with her superb attention to detail, goes the extra mile by decorating the room with fresh yellow roses, delivering a delicious basket of goodies for breakfast every morning, providing a selection of CDs for use in the B&O stereo system and a pile of current DVDs. Also available in the room is a good selection of reasonably priced wines that the owner brought back from Bordeaux. We had an excellent stay in Amsterdam and would definitely visit The Flying Pancake again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
326 Thank Asullivanindoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2005

The Flying Pancake is two Bed and Breakfast Suites in an authentic Amsterdam house just off a canal in a residential area five minutes by tram from the city centre and a two minute walk from the tram stop. The amenities are superb with every touch you'd want in your own home and unusual for just about anywhere: an up-to-the-minute CD player with top of the line Bose speakers, an espresso machine, a TV, video recorder, a dozen movies in each suite, two dozen CDs, a bathroom to suit a king and queen with two showers, steam. an option for eucalyptus and bath sheets rather than bath towels. The bed is comfy with a big soft duvet. One suite is a large studio with a small separate kitchen, a separate bathroom and separate bedroom with TV. The other, at the top floor, has no kitchen as such but the bed in a loft, which is a real treat. In both suites the heating works instantly, the breakfast is first rate with meat, cheese, fresh bread and hand squeezed orange juice and there is wireless internet. Why I haven't just moved there permanently beats me.

Helpful?
324 Thank LadyDilberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 31, 2005

The flying pancake is located in my favourite part of town close to the
plantage and the old Jewish district. The apartment is beautifully
appointed, the coffee machine makes excellent espresso. The bed nestles
cozily under the roof and the spacious living room has a log fire
which will come in handy when we come back in the wintertime. Claudia gave us a warm welcome and we felt very much at home. Some nice CDs to listen to and DVDs if you decide to stay in and chill.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
322 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 8, 2005

We just returned from a week stay at the Flying pancake.We stayed in the cook suite and found it charming and beautifully appointed. It was wonderful to have our own space to relax in. The steam shower and expresso maker quickly worked their way into our daily routine. We suddenly found ourselves refering to it as "our place." The neighborhood is comfortable and non touristy with the tram close by. Claudia's hospitality and advice are priceless.(not to mention the breakfast from the bakery and the selection of French wine.) We highly recommend the Flying Pancake, It made our stay in Amsterdam perfect...

Helpful?
341 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 368 in Amsterdam
111 reviews
Prinsenstede Lodging Amsterdam
#71 of 336 in Amsterdam
52 reviews
Plantage & the East
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
#40 of 336 in Amsterdam
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#29 of 336 in Amsterdam
175 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#69 of 336 in Amsterdam
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Property: The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing