We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and charming accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #56 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique and charming accommodation”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Have to say it was the quirky name that attracted us but our experience was brilliant. Good location - having seen the crowds surging around Nieuwemarket we were glad to be a comfortable walk away. Lovely hostess, polite and considerate (she nearly missed a Holland kick off securing our taxi!). The Captain's suite was really charming and a good combination of charm and "how does this work?" technology (we were convinced the guests upstairs could switch our bathroom light off with their remote). The bed was a bit creaky but comfortable and the attention to detail was brilliant (plug adaptors etc), as was the quality of breakfast and the array of available extras. If you want to stay somewhere unique, personal and welcoming, TFP fits the bill. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbt_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    24
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
121
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

2 nights here just isn’t enough! We stayed in the Cook’s suite in this stunning 18th century canal house. Really spacious and full of natural light filled with so many beautiful touches. Claudia is a wonderful host from the start to finish; she emailed excellent directions and the greeted us warmly. The bathroom is extremely luxurious with steam room/shower big enough for two. Great section of dvds and cds on offer gave that homely feel, not forgetting the array of teas, coffees and drinks.

The location was perfect for us, approx. 20-30 min walk into the busy parts of the city or a short tram ride away. Within walking distance of the b&b there’s some magical botanical gardens and some cute little cafes/restaurants.

Highly recommend this gorgeous b&b to anyone looking for something special! Unforgettable memories! Thank you The Flying Pancake…Thank you Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallywoffinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the flying pancake. And we felt like in a authentic dutch house.

The location is fine, you can walk or take the tram to most city atttractions.

The tenant is a nice person.

For breakfats, if you need to eat largeportion, just ;ake sure you check as many boxes as necessary to indicate the quantity you need.

We recomend this accomodotion which is so;ething different fro; any hotel or B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Very large open plan room with comfortable bed and lovely little touches - excellent coffee machine, variety of teas, amazing shower, Wifi, and well stocked drinks cabinet. The breakfast was delightful with a basket delivered outside the room containing fresh juice, cheese, meat, bread, croissant, yogurt, cereal and egg. Great location within easy walking distances of main museums yet away from all the crowds. Very friendly hosts. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pompey134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

It was our 2nd time at the Flying Pancake and again the service and hospitality was above our expectation. Because it's located in the center of Amsterdam visiting the museum is easy. We only can recommend the Flying Pancake.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've stayed here regularly since The Pancake opened and always loved the welcome and the quality of the accommodation. It really is a fantastic place to stay and we can't wait to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sadly we only had one night at the Flying Pancake but we could have stayed there forever. Ultra romantic, super comfortable bed and the coffee machine on the wall was a fantastic treat. Claudia was just amazing and the breakfast was brilliant. Treat yourself. Go on, you know you are worth it.
Paul and Wendy.

Room Tip: Ask for the cook room. The top one. The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyandPaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience at our B&B, love to see you return, maybe with the children?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#186 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Plantage & the East
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
#44 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#58 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Property: The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing