We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and charming accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Have to say it was the quirky name that attracted us but our experience was brilliant. Good location - having seen the crowds surging around Nieuwemarket we were glad to be a comfortable walk away. Lovely hostess, polite and considerate (she nearly missed a Holland kick off securing our taxi!). The Captain's suite was really charming and a good combination of charm and "how does this work?" technology (we were convinced the guests upstairs could switch our bathroom light off with their remote). The bed was a bit creaky but comfortable and the attention to detail was brilliant (plug adaptors etc), as was the quality of breakfast and the array of available extras. If you want to stay somewhere unique, personal and welcoming, TFP fits the bill. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbt_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 248 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

2 nights here just isn’t enough! We stayed in the Cook’s suite in this stunning 18th century canal house. Really spacious and full of natural light filled with so many beautiful touches. Claudia is a wonderful host from the start to finish; she emailed excellent directions and the greeted us warmly. The bathroom is extremely luxurious with steam room/shower big enough for two. Great section of dvds and cds on offer gave that homely feel, not forgetting the array of teas, coffees and drinks.

The location was perfect for us, approx. 20-30 min walk into the busy parts of the city or a short tram ride away. Within walking distance of the b&b there’s some magical botanical gardens and some cute little cafes/restaurants.

Highly recommend this gorgeous b&b to anyone looking for something special! Unforgettable memories! Thank you The Flying Pancake…Thank you Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallywoffinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the flying pancake. And we felt like in a authentic dutch house.

The location is fine, you can walk or take the tram to most city atttractions.

The tenant is a nice person.

For breakfats, if you need to eat largeportion, just ;ake sure you check as many boxes as necessary to indicate the quantity you need.

We recomend this accomodotion which is so;ething different fro; any hotel or B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Very large open plan room with comfortable bed and lovely little touches - excellent coffee machine, variety of teas, amazing shower, Wifi, and well stocked drinks cabinet. The breakfast was delightful with a basket delivered outside the room containing fresh juice, cheese, meat, bread, croissant, yogurt, cereal and egg. Great location within easy walking distances of main museums yet away from all the crowds. Very friendly hosts. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank pompey134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

It was our 2nd time at the Flying Pancake and again the service and hospitality was above our expectation. Because it's located in the center of Amsterdam visiting the museum is easy. We only can recommend the Flying Pancake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've stayed here regularly since The Pancake opened and always loved the welcome and the quality of the accommodation. It really is a fantastic place to stay and we can't wait to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sadly we only had one night at the Flying Pancake but we could have stayed there forever. Ultra romantic, super comfortable bed and the coffee machine on the wall was a fantastic treat. Claudia was just amazing and the breakfast was brilliant. Treat yourself. Go on, you know you are worth it.
Paul and Wendy.

Room Tip: Ask for the cook room. The top one. The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyandPaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience at our B&B, love to see you return, maybe with the children?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 338 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 338 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
179 reviews
Plantage & the East
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
#34 of 338 in Amsterdam
90 reviews
Vondelpark
Flynt B&B
Flynt B&B
#76 of 338 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $130 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing