We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An indulgent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #60 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An indulgent place to stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sadly we only had one night at the Flying Pancake but we could have stayed there forever. Ultra romantic, super comfortable bed and the coffee machine on the wall was a fantastic treat. Claudia was just amazing and the breakfast was brilliant. Treat yourself. Go on, you know you are worth it.
Paul and Wendy.

Room Tip: Ask for the cook room. The top one. The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyandPaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience at our B&B, love to see you return, maybe with the children?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    24
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
122
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Thanks Claudia for a most lovely weekend in your gorgeous apartment! We so enjoyed our second visit and relaxed in front of the wood burning stove and the lovely steam room. Thank you so much for accommodating for our tastes at breakfast and the freshly squeezed orange juice!

WE had a very delicious meals at Centra tapas bar in the red light district and locally at Happy Corner for Chinese ind fresh food!

We took a evening canal cruise with blue boat company and felt this was the best company to travel with rather than those previously used by the central train station

Room Tip: Cooks room - top room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riversidegirl571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for your kind review, and also for the canal boat company tip!
Always great to see previous guests returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I spent in Flying Pancake 3 nights and it was very nice stay. Our room was called Cook´s room and this room is higher than the second one. For us it was great choice. The room is very romantic and you sleep on the higher floor. We appreciate a lot a steam.

The owner Claudia is very helpful and friendly.

Perfect is also breakfast in the basket and you can choose what you want ( selection of fresh juice, cheeses, musli ect. ).

The flat is closed to the centre, just short walk.

I recomend to everywhone to go there. It was really perfect. Thank Claudia.

Room Tip: Cook ´s Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela222_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review!
Hope to see you again as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Flying Pancake's. It is in walking distance to all touristic sites and places to visit within the inner city centre. A metro station is 5min to walk.
Yes the staircase is typically steep and narrow as in all 17th century houses but once You come into the large and comfortable room You won't be disappointed! Cosy, warm and with all comfort You will not miss anything! We stayed in the Captain's Suite on the 2nd floor with an exceptional bathroom including steam bath, living room with open fire place and a little kitchenette....stunning!
The owner family is so helpful and friendly that we felt at home immediately!
Very quiet place also!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely place cant fault it at all.The staff were so friendly and helpful with everything! the facilities were great. We had no problems with getting to sleep and everyone was very friendly. Perfect for hanging out with friends and meeting new people. And the drinks are a good price too !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay!
We started our drinks selection as a service to our guests, not as a way to earn more money. Glad you appreciated it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a great time here, although the owner was on vacation, a nice young lady showed us the ropes. The taxi driver couldn't find the place, aparrently the street numbering has some quirk, but eventually he worked it out. The issue of the stairs is one that you have to accept, the staircase is narrow which means you cannot lug a suitcase beside your body, and have to propel it in front of you, and the worst part is that the roof suddenly starts sloping at the very top, and you really have to do some juggling. I checked in the cook room, and there in the corner was a huge coil of rope, I noticed there was a pulley extending out from above the window... did guests in times past haul thier suitcases up using it.?? Anyway we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay.
The rope and pulley was, and still is, the best way in Amsterdam to bring larger pieces of furniture to the higher floors in a house. You might have noticed the facades of the old buildings tilting over a little bit. This was done on purpose for this reason, and also to have less rain on your windows.
Using it for suitcases is a bit of a hassle. But I am always more then happy to help out with the suitcases!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Captain's room over a weekend. We got the train to Central Station from Schipol airport and then took the number 9 tram, getting off at Plantage Kerklaan stop, just a short walk (2minutes) away from The Flying Pancake.

The rooms are admittedly up some steep stairs, but the owner, Claudia, was very keen to offer her assistance with our luggage. The room was so lovely and comfortable. There was a bedroom and living area with a sofa and table, a lovely fireplace and it was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was clean, modern and had a wonderful steam room.

The fridge is stocked with reasonably priced soft drinks and wine and beer. 75cl bottles of wine ranged from €6.50 to €12.00.

On arrival, Claudia took time to go through all the elements of the room, including how to work all appliances (the quality teas and the coffee maker and frothy milk maker was a bonus!). Despite being late (we arrived at about 21.30), Claudia advised us on where we could eat in the area.

Having a separate entrance to the room, it means you feel you can come and go as you please without bothering the family. The delivery of breakfast in a basket outside your door at 08.30 each morning also gives you the freedom to get up when you like. You can change your options every day (bread, croissants, muffins, eggs, cheese, ham, fruit, yoghurt, cereal) or stick to the same.

The Flying Pancake is a short 7 minute walk from Utrechserstraat, which is a lovely street of independent shops, cafés and restaurants (particularly Indonesian). There is a great pizza restaurant about a minute walk away from the The Flying Pancake (De Pizza Bakker) where it's motto is 'Prosecco and Pizza' - great! Nicer food than a pizza express and with friendlier service. Pizzas cost up to €13.

We got around Amsterdam on the trams using a 72 hour pass, bought at the tram office opposite the main entrance to Central Station - they costed about €16 each. A bargain.

We had a fantastic stay in Amsterdam and at The Flying Pancake. Why stay in an expensive, impersonal hotel, further out of the centre, and without any breakfast included, when you can stay in this charming B&B?!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review!
I am sure your tips about how to get around and addresses in our neighborhood are very helpful to new potential guests.
It was a pleasure to have you here, and hope to see you again in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#230 of 367 in Amsterdam
107 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,181 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#66 of 336 in Amsterdam
398 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#31 of 336 in Amsterdam
174 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#24 of 336 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Property: The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing