We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding accomodation, highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #60 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding accomodation, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Flying Pancake's. It is in walking distance to all touristic sites and places to visit within the inner city centre. A metro station is 5min to walk.
Yes the staircase is typically steep and narrow as in all 17th century houses but once You come into the large and comfortable room You won't be disappointed! Cosy, warm and with all comfort You will not miss anything! We stayed in the Captain's Suite on the 2nd floor with an exceptional bathroom including steam bath, living room with open fire place and a little kitchenette....stunning!
The owner family is so helpful and friendly that we felt at home immediately!
Very quiet place also!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    23
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
120
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely place cant fault it at all.The staff were so friendly and helpful with everything! the facilities were great. We had no problems with getting to sleep and everyone was very friendly. Perfect for hanging out with friends and meeting new people. And the drinks are a good price too !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay!
We started our drinks selection as a service to our guests, not as a way to earn more money. Glad you appreciated it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a great time here, although the owner was on vacation, a nice young lady showed us the ropes. The taxi driver couldn't find the place, aparrently the street numbering has some quirk, but eventually he worked it out. The issue of the stairs is one that you have to accept, the staircase is narrow which means you cannot lug a suitcase beside your body, and have to propel it in front of you, and the worst part is that the roof suddenly starts sloping at the very top, and you really have to do some juggling. I checked in the cook room, and there in the corner was a huge coil of rope, I noticed there was a pulley extending out from above the window... did guests in times past haul thier suitcases up using it.?? Anyway we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay.
The rope and pulley was, and still is, the best way in Amsterdam to bring larger pieces of furniture to the higher floors in a house. You might have noticed the facades of the old buildings tilting over a little bit. This was done on purpose for this reason, and also to have less rain on your windows.
Using it for suitcases is a bit of a hassle. But I am always more then happy to help out with the suitcases!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Captain's room over a weekend. We got the train to Central Station from Schipol airport and then took the number 9 tram, getting off at Plantage Kerklaan stop, just a short walk (2minutes) away from The Flying Pancake.

The rooms are admittedly up some steep stairs, but the owner, Claudia, was very keen to offer her assistance with our luggage. The room was so lovely and comfortable. There was a bedroom and living area with a sofa and table, a lovely fireplace and it was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was clean, modern and had a wonderful steam room.

The fridge is stocked with reasonably priced soft drinks and wine and beer. 75cl bottles of wine ranged from €6.50 to €12.00.

On arrival, Claudia took time to go through all the elements of the room, including how to work all appliances (the quality teas and the coffee maker and frothy milk maker was a bonus!). Despite being late (we arrived at about 21.30), Claudia advised us on where we could eat in the area.

Having a separate entrance to the room, it means you feel you can come and go as you please without bothering the family. The delivery of breakfast in a basket outside your door at 08.30 each morning also gives you the freedom to get up when you like. You can change your options every day (bread, croissants, muffins, eggs, cheese, ham, fruit, yoghurt, cereal) or stick to the same.

The Flying Pancake is a short 7 minute walk from Utrechserstraat, which is a lovely street of independent shops, cafés and restaurants (particularly Indonesian). There is a great pizza restaurant about a minute walk away from the The Flying Pancake (De Pizza Bakker) where it's motto is 'Prosecco and Pizza' - great! Nicer food than a pizza express and with friendlier service. Pizzas cost up to €13.

We got around Amsterdam on the trams using a 72 hour pass, bought at the tram office opposite the main entrance to Central Station - they costed about €16 each. A bargain.

We had a fantastic stay in Amsterdam and at The Flying Pancake. Why stay in an expensive, impersonal hotel, further out of the centre, and without any breakfast included, when you can stay in this charming B&B?!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review!
I am sure your tips about how to get around and addresses in our neighborhood are very helpful to new potential guests.
It was a pleasure to have you here, and hope to see you again in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in the captain suite last weekend and at the end we didn’t want to leave. Everything was better than we expected. We even had a steambath in the room! Breakfast (freshly made orange juice, cake and other yummy stuff )was left outside our room every morning in a wicker basket, so we always had our privacy. Claudia, the owner, was very helpful in answering all our questions about what to see and how to move in Amsterdam.
The Flying pancake is located in a quiet neighborhood very near the zoo and the Hermitage museum. From there you can reach almost every place of interest on foot. The house is a typical Amsterdam house, so be aware of the steep stairs if you are planning to stay there. If you are searching for a peaceful, lovely place with great service and location this is the place for you. I truly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much. It was e pleasure to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Captain's and Cook's quarters are spacious with some good amenities,but with inadequate (squeaky) bedding. We arrived with a week's luggage to face three flights of narrow, steep steps, impossible to negotiate with our suitcases. Also the owner was not on property, and the (young, beautiful, athletic) caretaker was not attuned to our luggage problem, nor was she able to familiarize us with attractions/restaurants in the area. Though we had reserved with a credit card, checkout requirements were cash only, leaving us scrambling to ATMs. None of this was covered on the website. Ironically, we saw amongst our struggles in the stairwell TripAdvisor awards for the past three years. We could only assume that young people with little luggage made those reviews.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oldebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am very sorry to read that your experience at our B&B did not meet your expectations.
I always offer our guests to help them with their luggage. Reading your review points out to me that in the few weeks per year that I am not there myself, I will specifically instruct my staff to do so as well.

With regard to the payment requirements, these are written in the reservation details that I have e-mailed you in September, weeks before your arrival. A written reminder is printed and kept in the suite, together with other useful information. Besides this, there are 3 different ATM's within 50 meters of our house.

The good reviews you mention above, were not only written by young guests, but also by senior guests, who really enjoyed their stay. Over the years we have hosted many happy senior guests.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the Cooks Room for 3 days in Oct, there was a lot of stairs but it's worth it when you get to the top. It rained most of the time and our suite was a fabulous sanctuary, we especially loved the steam room! It was a real treat getting breakfast delivered in a wicker basket every day and Claudia could not have been more helpful, she even posted back some fondue forks we could not take back on our hand luggage, thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is very nice to read that our steam room is so much appreciated, as well as the breakfast basket. I am happy that I could be of help with regard to the forks that you bought!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Breitner House
#10 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Plantage & the East
TownHouse-Inn
TownHouse-Inn
#59 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Property: The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing