We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #60 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Claudia was an excellent hostess and we immediately felt at home. We had The Captain's Room and it was more than comfortable with fresh flowers in the room (Yellow Tulips) and in the bathroom (peonies) and a stocked kitchen, cappucino machine and liquers on the house. We didn't spend much time there to utilise the TV, DVD's books and music. Enjoyed the breakfast which was served in a basket left at our door. The Flying Pancake is very conveniently placed for public transport and within walking distance of several must see places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much.
Hope to have you as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    24
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
122
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Flying Pancake is even better than the website indicates, it is conveniently located near the city centre, museums, Metro, resdtuarants etc. Spacious, comfortable suite with above average facilities - steam bath, DVD player, MP3 docking station, coffee machine etc supplemented by snacks and drinks. A substantial breakfast is supplied - "Not your average continental one". Hostess Claudia is gracious, attentive and very helpful.
This is a superior B&B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much!
We do our best to have all our guests leave just as happy after their stay at The Flying Pancake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mâcon
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really enjoyed the place !

- Our host was very welcoming
- it was cosy and we felt like home with the Cd's, the DVD's and the little things to drink/eat
- we loved the concept of breakfast : a menu to pick your favorites and a basket waiting behind the door
- we also enjoyed the sauna

However, a door might be good to seperate the bathroom.

I would definitely recommend that place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Small A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! Happy to read that you enjoyed The Flying Pancake.
We are in the process of trying to find two antique shutter doors, that can be placed at the entrance of the bathroom, while maintaining the modern and light lay-out of the Cook's suite.
For all Tripadvisor readers: the Captain's suite has a more traditional lay-out with a separate bathroom in the suite, with a door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A recent short stay at the Captain's suite. Found it spacious, clean, and a comfy place to wear off my jet lag. Claudia is friendly and the Pancake is reasonably located to the nearest metro stop (7 mins brisk walk). There are bars and restaurants only a couple of mins away and an assortment of liqueur + spirits already stocked up in the suite just in case anyone fancies a nightcap, or two.

The lighting system was a bit too clever for me as had more functions on the remote than on my phone. The stairs can be tricky to navigate with luggage but all-in-all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 978Hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review!
True, our lighting system is radiographic controlled and can be used for switching "on" and "off" as well as "more dim" and "more bright" :-)
Hoping to have you as our guest again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a cool apartment to start our European vacation! We relaxed in our huge room, complete with a living area, TV, stereo, travel books, efficiency kitchen, modern clean bathroom and comfortable master bed loft. The steam bath cured our jet lag. Claudia's breakfasts are delivered in a cute basket and have lots of variety. I love her Euro coffee maker and milk steamer. The third floor suite is a bit of a struggle up some steep stairs, but Claudia helped us with luggage. Good location, near attractions, but also very conventient via bus and train to airport. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your great review! Hope you are enjoying the other European destinations of your trip now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend break in Amsterdam staying at the Flying Pancake. There were 3 in our group - and the Captains suite was perfect, with plenty room for an extra bed.
The house is full of character, a real classic Dutch style, and beautifully furnished with all mod-cons - coffee maker, wifi, DVD player, ipod dock and of course the steam room!
Great location on nice quiet road, not far to walk to the town centre, or tram stop.
Claudia was a great host.
Will definitely stay again on our next trip to Amsterdam!
Thank you Claudia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Looking forward to have you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a fantastic B&B, perfect located from business centre and all attractions. Claudia is the perfect host. I liked the suite very much. It is spacious with lots of luxury. The steam bath is really super. I recommend this B&B with five stars!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarwo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#230 of 367 in Amsterdam
107 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,181 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#66 of 336 in Amsterdam
398 reviews
Prinsenstede Lodging Amsterdam
#61 of 336 in Amsterdam
52 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#31 of 336 in Amsterdam
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Property: The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing