We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as always”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #55 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2011

There are two equal suites in Flying Pancake - Captain and Cook. The Cook is a real duplex, with king size bed upstairs, and the Captain is a huge one-floor room. I love both.

Room Tip: Tha Cook is better for couples
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 248 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

To me the main advantage of this B&B is the location: far away from the center to avoid noise and close enough by tram.
Service has been perfect, especially the breakfast delivered every morning in a basket.

Claudia was a very nice host, always ready to give you some advice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexei-om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great place to stay for a B & B. We loved our stay there. The room was big and stocked with so much stuff. Claudia thought of a lot of things to make sure our stay was perfect.
Breakfast in a basket by the door in the morning was great! When we wanted to get up...we could get it and eat.
It is a little farther away from most of the sites in Amsterdam but there is a Metro or tram very close by. It was VERY quite...which was nice! I hate being in the middle of everything and hearing all the people walking and talking...you won't hear anything! Relaxing
You will be so happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Lovely room, friendly helpful service from Claudia and well-placed to explore the town. Bed is cosy and comfortable. Room is well equipped with sofa, breakfast table, fridge, coffee maker, DVD player with tons of DVDs, stereo with iPod dock, big pile of guidebooks. It's worth knowing that the stairs are quite steep and narrow (both rooms are upstairs, we were in the top one). Bathroom and shower/steam room are lovely... if you don't mind a bathroom with no door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Claudia is the best hostess and the home is lovely. It is spotlessly clean and very well located. For Americans, I have to note that there is no air conditioning but there is a floor fan and the windows open. We were comfortable there and would stay again in a minute. The breakfast was wonderful, especially the fresh juice. The restaurants recommended by Claudia were great also. The space was large and very comfortable. All in all, a great place to stay while in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in the Cook room which has a large sitting room and a bed in the gable above. I confirm what other reviewers have said: steep stairs, slight tripping hazard on warped floorboards, if that kind of thing would be a concern (didn't bother us). Great selection of DVDs, very spacious rooms, and a comfortable bed. Wifi worked well. We didn't use the steam room but the rain shower was brilliant. Coffee machine could have done with some instructions (you had to make your own coffee - the only warmed thing you could get for breakfast was an egg, due to the basket arrangement). Thanks to Cristina for letting us have cartons of milk for cereal rather than the little mini-coffee-milks.

One thing which was a little odd (for a prudish Englishwoman anyway) was that the bathroom had no door. You wouldn't be able to see your partner sitting on the loo, but I would have appreciated a door for noise/hygiene reasons.

Reasonable location - only about a 15 min walk down the street into the nice busting areas, 30 mins to the Jordaan area (though pavements and streets were full of obstacles - mainly bikes, some plants!). Very close to Botanic Gardens which is small but nice, with an amazing butterfly house.

The only other thing to beware of is the mosquitoes. There were only a few of them, but we were bitten every night. Bring mozzie repellant and antihistamines.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minzalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent our romantic weekend in a perfect B&B!
The Flying Pancake, the name is already a promise of joy, is close to the Hermitage Museum, in a very calm and silent area.
We were at the Captain Suite, a very large room doted with a bedroom, a cosy living room with fireplace, a kitchen and a super bathroom with mother of pearl tiles and steam bath included.
It looked like my house and we would have spent definitively more time on the couch watching the extensive cds available to watch, listening to music in between!
Cristina, the girl on duty, was extremely welcome, kind and full of suggestions.
The best idea: You order your breakfast the day before and it is delivered in a basket in front of your door the morning after!
Definitively a place where to stay when in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cicciapiccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 337 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#26 of 337 in Amsterdam
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
#34 of 337 in Amsterdam
90 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 337 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 337 in Amsterdam
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $132 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing