We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collector Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Collector Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We first stayed at The Collector 4 years ago and this time and it felt like returning home. Karel is the perfect 'host' available when you need advice or want to chat but leaving you free to enjoy your beautifully appointed room. We had a lovely outlook onto our long balcony and into the trees. The very cute well stocked breakfast room/kitchen has everything you might want, Karel even provides fresh organic bread if you prefer. Everything is high quality - fresh fruits, cereals, mueslies, pancakes, yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats, jams, juices, chocolate, coffee & many teas.The eggs are from the hens in the garden! It is in a lovely neighborhood, architecture, trees, good eating & boutique shopping; perfect positioning near Museum Platz, the canals and Vongel Park, with buses and trams on the street outside (which connect direct to trains & airport), but we walked everywhere. Need some laundry done? No problem & no extra charge. This was best place we stayed in on our 5 week tour of Netherlands, Germany and France. Makes us want to visit Amsterdam a 3rd time!

Room Tip: We like the 2 back rooms for quiteness , balcony & garden outlook. But all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    44
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
197
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent a week in Amsterdam at this B&B. The owner was so helpful with directions, food suggestions...The room was great - well appointed with a lovely balcony overlooking the garden. The bathroom was modern and large with lots of counter space. The kitchen was well stocked, and remained so for the length of our stay. The location of the B&B was also great as it is close to the museum district and far from the irff raff and noise. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This B&B establishment is located a short walking distance from th Museums square, it is just opposite a tram stop and close to a stop of the airport bus. The owner Karel is very nice and helpful (my wife left her bag with her purse and smart phone on the train and he spent more than an hour with us calling the Amsterdam Centraal andthe German train company (BD), and then called again a couple of days later, unfortunately to no avail). There is a kitchen witha stocked up refrigerator so that not only that you can prepare your breakfast but also eat later on in the day. The only drawback is that the rooms are up a narrow staircase and you have to carry your luggage up by yourself. The rooms are covered with coellections of items Karel, the avid collector has collected and put on display, some of them quite charming.

Room Tip: Try to get a back room. The back rooms are quiet as they face the inside court, the one facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dindan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Amsterdam. Stayed for 4 nights in July 2014 in a large spacious en suite room with quick access to trams and buses to go to the Central station and very close to the museum square. Excellent in so far as the little kitchenette is well stocked and you are invited to help yourself to whatever you want for breakfast. This makes catering easy and you can buy food for lunch or dinner and keep it in the fridge. Karel, the owner is most helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Spotlessly clean and always most welcoming staff. HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a nice size with plenty of place to work on your computer and quiet once the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in May 2014. The location is perfect: a couple of blocks from the major museums of Amsterdam, a reasonably short walk from downtown but in a quiet neighborhood, right on the tram and bus lines to the airport and the train station. Our room was beautiful, with a shared balcony overlooking the back yard. Karel keeps the kitchen stocked with delicious food, and you can use the kitchen any time, which is much better than having to be there for breakfast at a certain hour. You can rent a bicycle or get your laundry done. Karel is very helpful. This place has a very warm, peaceful feel to it; highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at The Collector for 6 nights (28th April - 4th May) for our firt visit to Amsterdam. Sadly we didn't meet Karel as he was on vacation. However Fauzan was there to greet us on our arrival with a big smile. We didn't see much of him for the whole stay, as we had no reason to, but he was always available.

The room was the "Clock Room" at the front. Although overlooking the main road it wasn't noisy, and we used to sit on the balcony watching the world go by. An excellent asset to the room. The room itself was very large with en-suite bathroom which was a comfortable size, not small like other B&B's. I cannot remember the last time I have slept so well or for as long. The bed was so comfortable.

The location is excellent as others have said. A few minutes stroll and you are on the Museumplein, with the Concertbeouw and all the major museums. Outside The Collector is the tram stop, and just along the street is the bus stop for the Schiphol Airport Bus 197.

I think everything that can be said about The Collector has already been written, but feel free to contact me if you want any more info. I know people always say they will return to places, but with Amsterdam being such a fantastic city we definitely will be, and after this stay there is only one place we would stay. The Collector.

Room Tip: Karel works on a first come, first served basis, so enquire when you book. The front "Clock Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardwyntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights in april of 2014. We had a large room w/ 2 beds as requested, private bathroom and wonderful breakfast treats. Lots of sunlight in our room and we had fresh flowers and fresh towels everyday. The room is quiet and we slept well. The tram and bus stops are right outside our door and we are within walking distance to everything.
Fauzin was very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#88 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#10 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast offers bright, stylish and spacious rooms, each with its distinct own character: one decorated with Amsterdam School (Deco) furniture, the other one with Gispen Dutch Design classics. Both rooms have an ensuite bathroom. There's a guest kitchen for your breakfast around the clock. You will find a well stocked fridge, fresh fruits, a Nespresso coffee machine and lots more. Amenities include bath robes, a hair dryer, toiletries, a safety box, a guest computer to use for internet and email and there's even a bagage storage in case of early arrival or late departure. Here you will be able to freshen up, too. The house dates back to 1914 and is located just behind the Museum square with the Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk Museum. The 17th century canal area is just a 10 minute walk from the B&B. There is direct bus line nearby for transfers from and to the airport. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. You will find those collections in the guest rooms and the rest of the house: unique Dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Bed And Breakfast
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing