We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice bed and breakfast....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collector Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Collector Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice bed and breakfast....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

...nearby to Museum Plein. Karol does a really good job of making sure the things you want for breakfast are supplied. Our room was large and quiet and we slept well. Karol was helped us find the attractions and eateries for which we searched. I love good art and nowhere I have been was better than Holland....especially the Ryksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, but also including the Frans Hals Museum in Haarlem and the museum in Den Hague that contains Vermeer's "Girl with the Pearl Earring." We stayed here for 2 weeks in 2009, and tried to again last month. But alas, Karol runs such a comfortable "ship" that he was booked.

But nonetheless, we enjoyed Amsterdam very much again. The people of Amsterdam are very gracious to foreigners and especially to old guys. Wish is were not so far away.

Room Tip: Be sure to book in advance. The Collector is often full. PS the When did you travel slot did not le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HornDozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    44
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
197
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here last year for 5 days in 2013. Lovely place with interesting "collections". Well- lit rooms, there were fresh tulips in my room every day! Fridge is well- stocked for breakfast. Breakfast is self- serve. Karel and Fauzan were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again if I visit Amsterdam. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I thought it was a little pricey... even for Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank VK360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you're tired of standard hotels, then Karel's B&B will definitely provide a change. As named, he collects all sorts of items from wooden shoes to miniature perfume bottles. The rooms are spacious and quiet, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms even have wash clothes! Breakfast is do-it-yourself in a shared kitchen with all necessary food and cookware provided. The only drawback is a set of very steep stairs as all rooms are on the 2nd floor. They help with the luggage so it's only a problem if you can't climb stairs well. Karel was most helpful in directing to local restaurants, places to visit and how to use the local transportation. We had a great visit and would definitely stay again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFranTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was such a lovely spot. Surprisingly quiet on a busy street. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious by european standards. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see, although don't forget your umbrella! Lives up to it's name as you will be surrounded by a uniquely displayed collection of assorted items. Loved the serve yourself style breakfast, which allowed for wonderful flexibility. There was an amazing assortment of fresh foods to choose from. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was in Amsterdam on a business trip. So I arrived late, later then expected and was out early.

Karel was very helpful and kind. I already stayed ,as a romantic couple, with Karel ten years ago and would recommend the place to every traveler. It is like staying at your dream home close to the heart of the city and the beautiful Vondelpark.

Glenn
Bed and Breakfast Quatre20cinq.be

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quatre20cinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent location near the museums. Loved the place. It is tastefully decorated. Karol was very easy to reach via email before the trip and very friendly and helpful while we were there. Breakfast is good and plentiful. I like the concept of self serve when you're ready to eat. The place is clean. The bed was big and comfortable. The steps are a bit steep but that wasn't an issue for us. Would definitely stay here again if in Amsterdam and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at The Collector during the Christmas period. Even though it is Winter Amsterdam was very busy and there were queues for most/all attractions. The Collector is about a 2 minute walk to the Museum Quarter and the 'I am sterdam' sign. There is a taxi rank on the same street outside the Opera House which was helpful. There is also a tram stop outside the front of The Collector. We had a light, airy room with a comfortable and good size bed. There was a lovely lookout over the gardens and their chickens.The kitchen is on the same level. The basic food provisions are provided and you cook your own. We enjoyed Dutch cheese on offer! Plus or minus, after the initial friendly greeting you come and go as you please without intereaction from the owner. It was kind of nice in the sense it felt like you had your own Amsterdam apartment. The room was very clean and serviced daily. We had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandPaulPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#10 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast offers bright, stylish and spacious rooms, each with its distinct own character: one decorated with Amsterdam School (Deco) furniture, the other one with Gispen Dutch Design classics. Both rooms have an ensuite bathroom. There's a guest kitchen for your breakfast around the clock. You will find a well stocked fridge, fresh fruits, a Nespresso coffee machine and lots more. Amenities include bath robes, a hair dryer, toiletries, a safety box, a guest computer to use for internet and email and there's even a bagage storage in case of early arrival or late departure. Here you will be able to freshen up, too. The house dates back to 1914 and is located just behind the Museum square with the Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk Museum. The 17th century canal area is just a 10 minute walk from the B&B. There is direct bus line nearby for transfers from and to the airport. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. You will find those collections in the guest rooms and the rest of the house: unique Dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Bed And Breakfast
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing