We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was my second stay at the Collector, and for just one night, unfortunately. It’s in a perfect location from which you can walk to many museums and sights. If you’re tired, the trams, including the airport service, are right outside. The rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Both stays, my room has overlooked the garden and there’s a balcony for the summer. It’s great to have the use of the kitchen and for the self serve breakfast, there is a plentiful and high quality selection of food. Karel is kind, considerate and helpful. I hope to return for a longer time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 429 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a great choice for where to stay in Amsterdam. The location is brilliant, with a direct bus from the airport stopping ~100m away. Three major museums, and other attractions are very close as are a number of tram routes for helping to see the other parts of this beautiful city.
The B&B is lovely, Karel very welcoming, and we slept extremely well - it is a very peaceful area, but still well placed for the centre.

Thank you for helping us to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived quite late on the Friday night but The Collector was very welcoming. Our room was huge! Loved all the collections especially the clocks on our room. Beds are super comfortable and we have great sleep while there. The bathroom is also very nice and everything was very clean. Free wifi and the little extras mean you have everything you need.

Location is excellent, very close to the museum area and away from the touristy bits. About 30mins walk to Anne Frank's house and Dam Square which we enjoyed doing to see the city.

Breakfast was brilliant, you are provided with a fully stocked kitchen to be able to make whatever you want when you want including a cup of tea when you get back late in the evening. Suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very central location. A beautiful house in a great neighbourhood, large and airy rooms and a perfect host made our stay at The Collector B&B unique. I can highly recommend this place if you're looking for a place that feels like home in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Collector B&B is a great place to stay when you are in Amsterdam. It's located right across from a tram stop and is very easy to get to from the airport (bus 197). Our room which was at the front (with balcony) was clean, tidy and warm, beds were comfortable it had a good bathroom too. It was really handy to be able to make yourself a snack/breakfast and to be able to keep items in the fridge. The collections are fun too and are what make this B&B one of kind. Karel is a helpful and welcoming host and the area around the B&B is lovely also. Would not hesitate to stay there again if we are in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Collector in April of 2012 as part of 3 weeks in UK and on the Continent. It was slightly above our original budget but ultimately well worth it. I'll save you some embarrassment now and let you know that the innkeeper Karel is a man. "Carl" would be the Americanized version of the name. He was very helpful with museum tickets and directions, but you'd do well to allow an additional 5-10 minutes if you're headed anyplace on foot (Karel must walk at a pretty brisk pace). Karel was very laid back and personable, and answered every idiot tourist question I asked. DO take him up on his offer to get advance tickets online for any attraction you intend to visit. It will generally mean skipping the queue when you get there and it almost always means a discount. In particular the Anne Frank House is timed entry only, so you'll want a reservation there if you don't want to spend half the day in line.

The Collector is easily accessible via public transit. We arrived at the Amsterdam Central Train Station and it was a short ride on the #16 Tram. You can catch a bus to the airport at a stop about one block away. The Collector doesn't have a lift if that's an issue for you.

We stayed in the "Clock Room" on the 1st floor (2nd floor if you're an American) facing the street. It was absolutely gorgeous. It is a large en-suite room with a very comfortable bed. Double french doors lead out onto a narrow balcony. We had more than enough space after staying in some fairly small hotels in London and Paris.

The kitchen is just next to the Clock Room. The arrangement at The Collector is that the kitchen is stocked with staple items and you make use of them in your own time. We found cheese, salami, fruit, eggs, milk, juice, etc. There is also a little space in the fridge for items you might purchase (I had no end of trouble finding a supermarket. Finally learned there was a Albert Heijn at 33 Van Baerlestraat about two blocks away. Helpful hint... it's UNDER the Museumplein). On the plus side, it gives one more of a home away from home feeling and you needn't worry about missing breakfast if you sleep in. Of course, it's also nice to have someone else do the cooking and washing up so you can get out the door to see the sights. It made for an interesting change in our routine, but just be aware that this is the arrangement if it's an issue for you.

The Collector is located within an easy (and very pleasant) walk of the city center and many of Amsterdam's biggest attractions. The Museumplein is less than a 5 minute walk to the north, putting you moments away from the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum, and the Rijksmuseum. The farthest afield we traveled was the Dam and the Anne Frank House, both only about 3km distant, and remember... the city IS the attraction in Amsterdam.

We both slept very well. No street noise beyond the occasional tram or bus. The area is heavily residential and nearly everyone in the city uses a bicycle, so no cars at all hours.

A very pleasant stay in a lovely B&B. Good location, friendly and helpful innkeeper. I highly recommend The Collector!

Room Tip: The Clock Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WyldWeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for one night at The Collector. We were on a trip in Amsterdam and we thought this was better than a hotel. And it was! The Collector is a perfect looking Bed and Breakfast. The location near the Museumplein and the Concerthall without noise from the center of the city, is perfect. Also the chambers in the Bed and Breakfast were perfect looking and well cared. The rooms are very big. The host, Karel, is also very kindfull. We really recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 338 in Amsterdam
362 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#9 of 338 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Breitner House
#12 of 338 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 338 in Amsterdam
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast offers bright, stylish and spacious rooms, each with its distinct own character: one decorated with Amsterdam School (Deco) furniture, the other one with Gispen Dutch Design classics. Both rooms have an ensuite bathroom. There's a guest kitchen for your breakfast around the clock. You will find a well stocked fridge, fresh fruits, a Nespresso coffee machine and lots more. Amenities include bath robes, a hair dryer, toiletries, a safety box, a guest computer to use for internet and email and there's even a bagage storage in case of early arrival or late departure. Here you will be able to freshen up, too. The house dates back to 1914 and is located just behind the Museum square with the Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk Museum. The 17th century canal area is just a 10 minute walk from the B&B. There is direct bus line nearby for transfers from and to the airport. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. You will find those collections in the guest rooms and the rest of the house: unique Dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Bed And Breakfast
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing