We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home in Amsterdam”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 332 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked The Collector from a recommendation and were certainly not disappointed. It was very comfortable and homely with flowers in our room. Our room was located at the front with our own balcony. The bathroom was very nice and clean. Clean towels were left for us every day. We enjoyed our breakfasts,cereals, eggs, pancakes, cheese, meat and bread which we could help ourselves to at what time we wanted. It is very handy for the bus 197 in and out of the airport, as well as no 16 tram into Central Station, although this is within within walking distance if you wanted. It also is very handy for the Concergetbouw the Rijskmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum on the Museum Plein all about a 5 min walk. The Collector is definitely a great place to stay and we would certainly book a room on our next trip to Amsterdam. Karel the owner is very kind and helpful, I happened to mention I was going to visit my cousins in Harrlem. Karel remembered this and he left me a note out at breakfast that morning informing me of a train crash. He gave me the instructions on which tram to catch to Sloterdyke and then see bus or train from there. This was very kind of him and greatly appreciated.

I

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
210
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed for one night with my daughter. The owner Karel was excellent to communicate with. We had a lovely clean, warm and comfortable room at the back of the house. Although we were only in Amsterdam for just over 24 hrs Karel was very helpful, answering all our questions with regards to public transport etc. I would certainly recommend the Collector to friends and family, and would stay again. If you want to eat in a restaurant that is nearby, the pizzeria that is only a few 100 metres away was extremely good quality. Thank you again Karel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The location is perfect - just a five minute walk from museum square, and a variety of public transportation options. The place is bright, well-decorated and so charming. The owner has thought of all the little details that make a house feel like a home. And his collection of crystal and antiques is inspired - really gives a unique look to the place and is almost like staying in your own cozy little museum. I stayed there on my recent trip to Amsterdam and I plan to book for any future trips I take. It is truly the best option for a vacation in the city. It just made the whole trip more comfortable, and it was both more convenient and more intimate than staying at a hotel. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This b and b was perfect for my 6 days in Amsterdam with my mom. The location is perfect, 3 blocks to VondelPark, block and 1/2 to the Van Gogh Museum, Reijksmuseum and grocery store. It's also across the street from the tram to the train station and a block from the bus stop to/from the airport.
The garden room is bright and quiet and the free wi-fi was great. Breakfast was make your own whenever you want and Karel will buy what you ask for (even soy milk). The kitchen can be used anytime so we bought fresh meals at the grocery store and ate in. The little things made the trip too, umbrellas to borrow, maps, Karel will even buy tickets to the museums for you so you can skip the queue.
It's in a quieter part of town so if you want to party or go to coffee shops there are probably better options, but if you are looking for a peaceful place this is the one.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank McMShopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

No doubt this is the place to be when you seek for a personal touch and a lovely B & B in Amsterdam. The owner has put his hart in this beautiful place. He was so kind to show us all 3 rooms and each room had it's special touch, really very tasteful! You feel at home and at the same time you have all the privacy you want during your stay.
The kitchen on it's own is a cosy Dutch experience with all goods needed for a perfect breakfast.
Thank you very much for a wonderful stay in Amsterdam. We will come back for sure!
Jane

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janneke1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Collector B&B. The house is uniquely decorated with bold and graphic displays of amazing collections such as wooden clogs, old canes & perfume bottles to name just a few. Our room was off the back of the house and was very nice. The bed was so comfortable, the shower was great and our shared balcony overlooked the back courtyard where Karel has his laying hens that provide fresh eggs for the morning.

The kitchen is open for guests and yummy ingredients are available for a make your own breakfast at any time that is convenient.

Bikes are available for rent and the Collector B&B is in an ideal location for a bike ride into Vondelpark. The tram and bus are also easily accessible and getting around the city is a breeze. The street is quiet and pretty. Amsterdam is a wonderful city and The Collector B&B was a great place to call home while we explored all the area had to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Recently I stayed in the Bed & Breakfast The collector in Amsterdam, in the Museum Quarter.
What a great place to stay. Beautiful rooms, all styled in a original different character (Amsterdam School style, Van Gispen Design and the Alarm Clock room), very good breakfast and specials served if you ask for it, lovely owner and proper and clean crisp beds and linnen.

I will go there again soon!.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#111 of 368 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Flynt B&B
Flynt B&B
#85 of 332 in Amsterdam
36 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#26 of 332 in Amsterdam
199 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#11 of 332 in Amsterdam
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast offers bright, stylish and spacious rooms, each with its distinct own character: one decorated with Amsterdam School (Deco) furniture, the other one with Gispen Dutch Design classics. Both rooms have an ensuite bathroom. There's a guest kitchen for your breakfast around the clock. You will find a well stocked fridge, fresh fruits, a Nespresso coffee machine and lots more. Amenities include bath robes, a hair dryer, toiletries, a safety box, a guest computer to use for internet and email and there's even a bagage storage in case of early arrival or late departure. Here you will be able to freshen up, too. The house dates back to 1914 and is located just behind the Museum square with the Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk Museum. The 17th century canal area is just a 10 minute walk from the B&B. There is direct bus line nearby for transfers from and to the airport. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. You will find those collections in the guest rooms and the rest of the house: unique Dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam
The Collector Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing