We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Amsterdam B&B, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collector Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Collector Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Amsterdam B&B, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a great 3-night stay at this excellent B&B in Amsterdam. It was lovely, quirky with the various collections on display around the house and definitely much better than staying in a hotel. Our room was large with high ceilings, spotlessly clean and had a nice shared balcony facing over the back gardens. We had a big bathroom with good shower pressure, which is a bonus in Amsterdam! The room was fully cleaned each day with fresh towels supplied. The kitchen was shared between the three bedrooms and a plentiful make-your-own breakfast included fresh eggs from the small chicken coop in the back garden, how good is that? We were extremely well looked after by Fausan (Karel was away on holiday) and the free use of the downstairs PC and printer for email and planning activities was useful too.

The Collector is located in the Museum District which is a good area of town with good restaurants and bars within a block or two in most directions. It is just a few minutes walk to the Vondel Park, the Concert Hall and the Van Gogh museum and then on to the Rijksmuseum and the city centre.

We hired the Collector’s own two bicycles for 2-days which made it easier to see more of town. My one comment would be that we had to give the bikes a little service ourselves (olive oil from the kitchen being perfect to oil the bike chains and get rid of the squeaks!)

Overall an A+, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    44
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
198
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Karel does a great job of making you feel at home! The rooms are huge, beautifully decorated with some quirky accents, and each has a balcony where you can enjoy your breakfast or a coffee. He has his own chickens that he uses to provide fresh eggs for his guests. This is a self-catering B&B, which is nice for Amsterdam because if you've enjoyed a good night out, you don't have to worry about getting up at a certain time for breakfast. Everything is there for you to prepare whenever you're ready. Also located in a very convenient and quiet part of the city- museumplein. The Rijks and Van Gogh museum are literally a five minute walk, and other attractions such as Dam square or the RLD are all within a 15 minute walk or 7 minute tram ride.

Room Tip: All the rooms are grand- no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurobound77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We have just returned from a short break at the Collector. This was our first visit to Amsterdam. We chose the Collector as we didn't want to stay in the hustle & bustle of a central location.
The owner, Karel, gave us clear instructions of which bus to get from the airport & where to get off the bus (2 minutes walk when you get off the bus to the B&B). The bus tickets cost 4 Euros each for a single journey.
We had one of the bedrooms at the back, which was very quiet - exactly what we wanted. The en-suite was cleaned daily & fresh towels were provided every day too. We had lovely tulips in our room which was a nice touch. There was a plentiful supply of soap & shampoo.
The kitchen was well stocked with a wide variety of fruits & foods to which you could help yourself. It was nice to be able to go to the kitchen & have tea/coffee at anytime.
Karel was very helpful on where to go & places to eat while in Amsterdam & it was nice chatting with him.
The Collector is close to the major museums & it's on a bus & tram route - but it was nice to walk to get the feel of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

After a magnificent concert in the Concertgebouw and a "night-cap" at Wellings, we return more than once a year "home" at Karel's B&B for a relaxed good night sleep. Our room is tastefully furnished, in the morning the chickens in the garden announce the birth of an egg.
A healthy breakfast as you like, a chat with "the collector" about the state of the world and especially Amsterdam. Good bye and see you! Rein Verhagen en Erma Prins from "Het Noorsche Huis" te Gorssel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ermaprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Collector is the perfect place to stay in Amsterdam particularly if you are interested in the Museums which are a short walk away. The B and B it's self is delightfully decorated and had the most comfortable bed of our trip. Our room in the front with the balcony was very spacious but you might want to book a room at the back as it can be a bit noisy with the trams starting early in the morning. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RozandPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Collector exceeded our expectations in every way possible. This is the fourth hotel / B&B we've stayed at in Amsterdam and it is by far the best.

The location was superb; it was exactly where we wanted to be. It is a 2 minute walk to the concert hall, the Rijks Museum, the Van Gogh Museum, restaurants and a grocery store. There is also a tram stop only steps away which will take you the bustling centre but Leidseplein is only a 5 to 10 minute walk away as well. If you've never been, Leidseplein is a busy yet very safe feeling square/area where you can find lots of action. There are restaurants, coffee shops, cafes, bars and a really cute little beer bar with a great selection.

The B&B itself is amazing. I don't know why anyone would stay at a hotel when they could stay here Our room (the front room with the clocks) was spectacular with its very high ceilings and beautiful double french patio doors leading to a really lovely flower covered balcony. The room is in remarkable condition for an ancient house in Amsterdam; it felt brand new yet had a lovely charm about it. The bathroom and shower were gorgeous and spotlessly clean. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud.

Karel is a nice and accommodating host and the fridge was well stocked for a great breakfast including fresh eggs from his own chickens. There were even bicycles that we borrowed for a lovely day in Vondel Park, which is extremely close as well.

This place is seriously amazing and was a perfect way to finish off our honeymoon in such a beautiful city. I highly recommend the Collector.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizandCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

First of all, I would like to say a few good things about this b & b. Locationwise, it is good. Both the bus stop which takes you to the airport and the tram no. 16 to central station is just a few steps away literally. Accessibility is not a problem at all. Making breakfast on our own is more time flexible and we like this arrangement also. You can also make a light meal at the kitchen whenever you want...a plus. Fruits supply is always plentiful. Staying in a room which is facing the backyard would surely give you a peaceful night. The owner, Karel, speaks good english.

Now here I would like to let you all know.....We booked a room for the first 3 nights and 1 more night on the last day of our trip. We had been looking forward to this europe trip and were expecting a good start and a good stay in "The Collector". After amost 12 hours of flying time, our plane arrived Ams at around 6 in the morning. I had already let the owner know this and told him that we would arrive his place at around 8am. Once we landed at the airport, everything had been running smoothly and we got to get to the b & b at around 7:40am. We assumed that the owner had waken up already and was waiting for our arrival.....however, after pressing the door bell the first time and waited for more than 20 secs, there was nobody answered and so we pressed the door bell again......more than 10 secs had passed and we were forced to do the same again as we were afraid the owner was still in his sleep and we were tired also that we wanted to settle down as soon as possible. Not long after the 3rd pressing of the door bell, the door was opened by a stern face guy who said to me: "Why did you press the door bell 3 times?? It's quarter to 8...it's quarter to 8 (he kept repeating this a few times)". I was both gobsmacked and tongue-tied as I didn't expect to be treated like this! No matter what, we were still his guests, and we had to pay for the room,. right? He didn't tell us who he was, he was just waiting for us to apologize before letting us into his house, OK, we had booked at his place and we didn't have much energy to explain that we just entered his house and followed him to our bedroom. The room was not ready and so we left and came back later.

The size of the room was good, however, one side of the bed is getting to wear down that someone who is having back pain would have problem sleeping on it (the last night we got a bigger room and the bed was comfy this time). We got 2 very small size soaps which were difficult for bathing, and the shampoo was not enough for the 2 of us. The bottle had been squeezed hardly by previous guests that it was out of shape. You could image how much shampoo had been left for us! When I got the chance to talk to the owner and apologized to him again about the morning incident, he said that he was expecting our arrival. Well, if that's really the case, he shouldn't let us wait outside for such a period of time...which in return we were forced to press the door bell more than 1 time!

One more thing that I need to mention is that the supply of food was not steady. On the first morning, everything was enough (bread, eggs, pancakes, different kinds of frozen meat etc). The next day, though we wanted to have fried eggs again, there was only 2 eggs left and we usually have 2 eggs for each of us. On the last day of our stay, no more pancakes in the morning (we saw one piece left in the fridge the night before and thought that the owner would check and refill everything before he went to bed) and only one kind of frozen meat (which we don't like the taste at all) to go with the bread. We asked the owner if he had some pancakes in stock or not and the answer was negative. We were very disappointed.......

I know every guest could use the kitchen and take the food freely, so there's always the chance that some of the food would be running out of supply well before the next morning. In that case, it's better for the owner to supply more than usual to make sure everything is well enough for the guests.

We have been staying in lots of b & b in the past years and have never experienced such a thing like this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Babybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast offers bright, stylish and spacious rooms, each with its distinct own character: one decorated with Amsterdam School (Deco) furniture, the other one with Gispen Dutch Design classics. Both rooms have an ensuite bathroom. There's a guest kitchen for your breakfast around the clock. You will find a well stocked fridge, fresh fruits, a Nespresso coffee machine and lots more. Amenities include bath robes, a hair dryer, toiletries, a safety box, a guest computer to use for internet and email and there's even a bagage storage in case of early arrival or late departure. Here you will be able to freshen up, too. The house dates back to 1914 and is located just behind the Museum square with the Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk Museum. The 17th century canal area is just a 10 minute walk from the B&B. There is direct bus line nearby for transfers from and to the airport. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. You will find those collections in the guest rooms and the rest of the house: unique Dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Bed And Breakfast
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing