We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Between Art and Kitsch B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Save
You added Between Art and Kitsch B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #128 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Between Art and Kitsch over New Year and thought it was great. Irene is such a welcoming host and as it was our first visit to Amsterdam, gave us loads of really useful information about how to get around the city and the various sights. One of the great things about the B&B is that there is a little kitchen for guests to make their own breakfasts; being left to your own devices means you can have breakfast when you like and around your own timetable. The choice of food was excellent too.

The B&B is located in a great part of Amsterdam - there are lots of good bars and restaurants nearby, and the main museums are only a 5 minute walk away. The B&B is great value for the location.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
48
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at Irene's b&b over winterbreak 2012 and had the best time ever. She was incredibly welcoming, and made it feel like home. She explained the city and recommended places to go to. I have never had such an amazing experience at a b&b. Breakfast is self served, but you have tons of food to choose from. It is just a wonderful place and I highly recommend it. Also, the location is perfect, RIGHT next to the museum plein, about 15 minutes away walking from Dam Square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The owner of this nice b&b, Irene, is very friendly and warm; the room are comfortable and full equipped and clean, also the small common kitchen to cook yourself breakfast.
The location is near city centre, 10 minutes by tram or 25 minutes by foot, very closed to the museum area.
The are is quiet and we had wonderful sleep.
We were completely satisfied about our choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonietta l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Liguria, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very nice place, near the city centre, the rooms are comfortable with original decor, Irene is a great host and cat lovers will find a lovely cat to welcome them. Delicious breakfast, good view. Absolutely recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elvira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very comfortable beds! Great shower! Fresh bread and snacks from the deli delivered daily! Famous market just around the corner! A quick walk to Vondel Park! Great location! Great local pub on the corner - what more could you ask for!! Oh ya - amazing helpful hosts! Irene and her husband are great people - they went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful stay!
If you aren't physically fit to walk up 2.5 flights of stairs to get to the room you'll have to give this one a miss. But for all the healthy people out there - nothing wrong with a bit of extra exercise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapow1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

we have just returned from 4 nights and between art and kitsch. will go back.. fabulous find. Irene is a grt host. breakfast is self serice and yummy.. eat in room at your table. I loved the quirky funky decor and it was all spotless and comfy. Grt views and reasonably central.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed in this B&B for 3 nights while attending a business conference in May.

As expected, the place has quirky decor and the typical steep Amsterdam stairs. The location is fantastic, just across a canal from the Van Gogh museum.

It was a great quiet, place to sleep, very comfortable, good showers, etc

The host, Irene was very accommodating - providing loads of advice on where to go and what to see. Also, there were always nice pastries and fruits for breakfast.

Overall, I think it's a fantastic B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Flynt B&B
Flynt B&B
#73 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#38 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
De Pijp
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
#134 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
De Pijp
Frans Hals Loft
Frans Hals Loft
#69 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
De Pijp
Bell's Boutique Hotel
Bell's Boutique Hotel
#96 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Between Art and Kitsch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Art and Kitsch B&B

Property: Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Address: Ruysdaelkade 752, 1072 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Art and Kitsch is a hospitable Amsterdam bed & breakfast, it's in the middle of the city right between the Museum area and the Quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between Art And Kitsch Bed And Breakfast
Between Art And Kitsch Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing