We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cat lovers welcome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Between Art and Kitsch B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Save
You added Between Art and Kitsch B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #128 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cat lovers welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I spent 7 nights here and had a wonderful time! The B&B is convenient to public transport, the museum quarter, and the cafes and pubs of the Leidseplein. All the rooms look out onto the Rijksmuseum, which is a 5-minute walk away. Our hostess, Irene, took great care of us, always supplying some special breakfast treat for her guests. And Hatrje, Irene's snow-white cat, kept us company during breakfast.

There are three rooms in total. We stayed in the middle room for 6 nights then moved to the smallest room on our last night. (To make room for a larger party). We were given a discount for being accommodating. The middle room is great for an extended stay. The smallest room is good for a couple of nights at most. Breakfast is serve yourself and consisted of a good variety of bread, baked goods, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, fruit and coffee. The staircase to the rooms is long and steep but really not that challenging. My wife and I got lots of great tips and advice from Irene about what to do and where to go, including a discount for the canal cruise. If you are looking for civilized accommodation in a very cool part of the city but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown, you will find it at Art & Kitsch!

Room Tip: Ask for the middle or largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungarican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
48
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The place was junky and smoky. The room was clean, but I did not like the interior and atmosphere. The shower room had odor probably from the drain. I was to prepare my own breakfast. I only had a piece of cheese and a glass of oj because other stuff were not really appealing to me. It was like 9:30 am when I tried to check-out... I had to knock on the owner's door for like 15min. I even went outside to ring the door bell... to wake her up... I felt terrible.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Pros - excellent location, de Pipj is a great area. Flat itself is quirky and unusual and charming. Breakfasts are plentiful.

Cons - no heating all weekend and no real effort to get it fixed, we were given an extra blanket each.

The dining table had a ball of cat fur and a layer of dust. The host cleaned it off with the palm of her hands, hygiene is clearly not a big concern here.

I specifically asked for a twin bedded room and was assured it was fine, but on arrival the host breezily admitted 'I know you asked for a twin room, but as you can see this double bed is large enough for 2'. As it was 10pm, we hardly were in the position to argue. This was incredibly cheeky if you ask me and quite blatantly advertising the room incorrectly.

The shower pressure was non existent, a trickle at best.

The host was eccentric and at times downright rude. She would walk into the room (even when you are in bed) and linger for ages. Whilst cleaning the shower, she mentioned that lots of hair had been shed on 4 occasions - to the point were this was offensive. After all, humans as well as cats shed hair.

Other reviews have mentioned the cat - it's freely allowed into all the rooms and does frequent them often. The stairs - 3 flights and very narrow and steep - a challenge for anyone with luggage.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meander2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Had a fantastic stay at Art and Kitsch. Irene is a great host, she is friendly and informative. The breakfasts were fabulous and a real feast by European standards. The room was spacious and had all we needed. We even got a little bottle of Champagne for our honeymoon. The De Piyp neighbourhood is quiet and in a good location with the market and museums close by. Would recommend it highly as a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodkatbadkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Great location, welcoming host, spacious room. Breakfast fare was basic. Challenging stairs, but manageable.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachShafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This is a great, quiet and comfortable bed & breakfast in Amsterdam. Very nice residential neighborhood. The cafes and nearby hang-outs were all very local....not a lot of tourists in this quiet area, right near all the museums and an easy bike ride or tram ride to the city center. Irene is a great host and was always willing to answer a question or make a recommendation. Comfortable room, bed and accommodations. We will stay here again the next time we are there. Not far from quality coffee houses as well!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_And_Diana_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Nice B&B with a distinctive home feel to it. I have very much enjoyed my stay there for two nights. Located in a nice residential area, not far from the city centre. It's only a few stops away by a tram. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Kitchenette is handy and gives you much needed flexibility when and what to eat. Recommended to those who are looking to have a nice and relaxing city break. Would love to come back and write more. Thank you, Irene. Your friends from Moscow.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank korund69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Flynt B&B
Flynt B&B
#73 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#38 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
De Pijp
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
#134 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
De Pijp
Frans Hals Loft
Frans Hals Loft
#69 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
De Pijp
Bell's Boutique Hotel
Bell's Boutique Hotel
#96 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Between Art and Kitsch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Art and Kitsch B&B

Property: Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Address: Ruysdaelkade 752, 1072 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Art and Kitsch is a hospitable Amsterdam bed & breakfast, it's in the middle of the city right between the Museum area and the Quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between Art And Kitsch Bed And Breakfast
Between Art And Kitsch Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing