We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice homy on the canal”
Review of Singel Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singel Guesthouse
Ranked #97 of 333 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice homy on the canal”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

we stayed at heren for 4 nights and love it. location is good, a few minutes walk from tram station 'Kolk', though this station was shut after 20.00 for construction when we stayed, it's 10+ min. walk from the next station, but we felt safe at night. breakfasts was great. we stayed on the 2nd floor, it's a lot better than staying a a hotel. room very spacy and convenient. laundry is just around the corner, very near. the house owner, Vlad is friendly and informative when it comes to tourist attractions in holland. would recommend this b&b to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tunwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I booked Heren B&B on a special winter offer. When you book you do not know which B&B you will be staying in, but they are just minutes from each other and both delightful. The location is perfect, round the corner from many attractions and within walking distance from the rest, yet in a quieter area facing onto the canal.

We were met by one of the owners Vlad who showed us all round the different communal areas (living room, 2 kitchens and the breakfast room) in the building and giving us advice on the local attractions/where to eat. The owners couldn't be more generous, with food and drink in the fridge that you can help yourself to any time.

We were in one of the basement rooms which was surprisingly bright and modern. It had many luxuries including under floor heating and a great bathroom. It had obviously been renovated to an extremely high standard with excellent attention to detail.

Breakfast was served around a communal table which was great for meeting others and swapping tips on the attractions. The breakfast assistant was very friendly and helpful, making sure that the huge spread was constantly replenished and making us various treats such as Dutch pancakes.

We couldn't fault the B&B at all and have highly recommended it to all our friends and family. Thank you so much Vlad - (PS I finally gave in and we went to the Heineken Museum!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfw202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We're a young couple and stayed here over the Easter bank holiday weekend. We were greeted by Vlad on arrival at 11pm and he gave us a tour of the house. We were given the downstairs room with very large ensuite shower and sink but access to the toilet was just outside the room, however this was fine as it was still private. Room was perfect, modern decor, very spacious and included decent size TV, wardrobe space and skyline windows that were controlled by a remote. The controlling of the blinds allowed you to decide how much light you let in. The bed was very large and comfortable.

Breakfast is served between 9-11 which was perfect time for us but some residents would go out before hand, for example, to Anne Frank's house as this would get very busy during the day! The breakfast was fresh and included cereal, fruits, eggs, ham, several breads, cakes, yoghurt and one day Ken made us some pancakes too which weee delicious. All residents from the b&b sit together around the table which was nice to get to get recommendations and reviews of different attractions.

We were welcome to access the kitchen at any time and cook for ourself and use the milk, tea, orange juice etc. We forgot travel plugs and were kindly provided with 2! The one downfall / negative was the fact we checked out at 11am and flight was not until 10pm and we were unable to leave our bags in the b&b. As central station is only a short walk away from the b&b with cheap lockers, €5.10 for the day, I didn't feel this was that bad. In general the b&b is a short walk from all tourist attractions. The furthest we had to walk was 25mins to the Heineken experience but this could have been easily accessed by the tram if we wished!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Like others, after thorough research of the mulitude of A'dam B+Bs, we chose this place.It keeps all its promises and delivers in addition. Yummy breakfast. Step out obto the cobble stone strret by the gracht. Really nice. The location near the old quarter, the joordan is excellent. Hope to go back some day,

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank uschi_is_umatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upon arrival, we were impressed with the great location and beautiful house. Its right on the canal and easy walking distance to the train station and the main square. Its a bit of a hike down to the museums but easily doable. They didn't have the room with initially booked available so they upgraded us to the apartment suite. The breakfast was amazing! The rooms were well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizz0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Heren B&B for 3 nights in January 2013. It was one of the best places we've ever stayed in our travels. The room was just wonderful with a comfy bed, plenty of room, a large window overlooking the back courtyard and an extremely good bathroom. Breakfast was incredible with a large range of yummy foods and freshly made poffertjes everyday. Vlad welcomed us to breakfast everyday and gave us heaps of hints & tips about what to see and do in the city. The location of the B&B is great, easy walking distance from Amsterdam Central train station and accessible to all the main sights & attractions. It's located on one of the nicest canals in Amsterdam as well. Vlad & Ken run a very good B&B and I highly recommend staying at either of their B&B's (Heren or Maes). Review written by a couple of very happy Australians!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rocketdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I travelled solo in early Oct 2012. Previous to booking in I did a lot of research into B&B's in Amsterdam. All other reviews of Heren's B&B were great and the pictures delightful. I was SO glad I also booked in here. I had a front downstairs bedroom (off the main kitchen near the lounge room). Because I was at the front I had 2 high windows for light to stream into the room. One of the windows was acutally the original door the servants would have used to access the home, the other window was not large but good for light and a feeling of space. Strategically placed plants both inside and outside gave complete privacy while not making you feel closed in. Curtains also for evening. You didn't have a view as such from the room, but the lounge was just upstairs. Steep stairs yes, but that is part of the fun of being there. They certainly were not unmanageable and at 50+ I was easily able to carry my suitcase up them.

My room had an enormouse bathroom with separate shower, large bath with additional hand held shower attachment. The bath was an absolute luxury and perfect for soaking in and resting tired feet and legs. I loved the deeply frosted/opaque windows around the bathroom; gave light from the room without having to put on lights. The door to the bedroom was also deeply frosted but it lead onto a short hallway to the room itself so you did not feel as though your privacy was an issue.
'My room' is in some of the photos of Heren's - it is the orange decorated room, or some may say the budha room. It was beautifully decorated and while I would not usually say I would go for orange, it was more accents of this colour. Plenty of space for hanging clothes and shelves as well. (It would be fine for 2 people, for 1, most of the space was not used).
I had a peak into the back downstairs room and it was just as large - spied a comfortable arm chair in that room, its bathroom was not quite as large and it had 2 large skylights with blinds. The downstairs rooms with the toilet outside the room must be on the other side of the house, downstairs from the dinning room.
The absolutely only thing I was not totally OK about was that when I booked, I booked through Heren's website, but Ken & Vlad were not able to tell me if I would be in Heren's or Maes B&B (they own about 4 properties all very close together). I booked through Heren's as that was where I wanted to be. I also sent an email asking not to be in a room with skylights as the only window source and that I really wanted to be in Herens. I am sure they took these requests into account as I was where I wanted to be and in a room that suited me. I would suggest that you do make it clear as to what you want. I had a feeling that the rooms upstairs were kept for at least 2 people. A returning couple I met there were in an upstairs room when they had previously been downstairs.
I arrived early and my room was ready. Vlad took my bag and lead me back to Heren's giving me loads of info about the area as we walked. Tips I took - especially regarding cafes/restaurants. Although these are plentiful in the area. I loved sharing breakfast with others where we traded information and plans for the day. This shared atmosphere continued once we returned at the end of the day and only once (my first night) did I eat by myself at night. This is one of the HUGE bonuses of staying here - especially for a single person.
I must mention Jason - he prepared breakfast for us and what a wonderful event this was. He was very helpful and friendly and very quick to respond to requests. I thankyou very much.
I loved my stay and will definitely return here when next able to holiday in Amsterdam.
AND the weather was superb - 5 days, no rain, but plenty of sun!

Room Tip: Be clear if you want to stay in Heren's or Maes. Downstairs at the front has windows with reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TracyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#236 of 368 in Amsterdam
353 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Flynt B&B
Flynt B&B
#96 of 333 in Amsterdam
36 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#32 of 333 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 333 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Guesthouse

Property: Singel Guesthouse
Address: Singel, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Singel Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Home away from home' as our guests say. Singel Guesthouse (formerly Heren Bed and Breakfast) is under new management/owners, along with our colleagues at Maes B&B we are located in Amsterdam, in the heart of the canal area and is truly a quiet retreat. All the home comforts as well as many extra's. A listed monument from the 18th century, a typically canal house which has been renovated with all the modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Singel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heren Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam
Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing