We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than a small hotel room”

Kerstin's Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kerstin's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #219 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“better than a small hotel room”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

this bed&breakfast is really value for your money. we visited kerstin's b&b september 2010 for 5 nights with my wife. you can go everywhere (Dam square, central station etc.) by tram very easy. our apartment was very cosy and bigger than most of the hotels room in amsterdam. private shower and toilet was clean. there is a small kitchen that you can make tea, coffe and there is a microwave. our room has a big balcony and canal view. breakfast is included the price and absolutely fantastic! also Kerstin is a very kind woman and very helpful. i recommend this b&b with no doubt to anyone visiting amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mehmetcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

When we arrived in Amsterdam after a LONG flight from the west coast of the U.S., we just wanted to check in, shower and unwind before walking off the remainder of our jet lag time. Unfortunately, although we arrived after check in time, the room was not cleaned and the bed messed up from a previous lodger. We gave her the rest of the afternoon to fix it up but when we returned, extremely lethargic, the only thing done was the bed. The floor had hair all over it and the kitchen was dirty. I wound up using the brokedown vaccuum and "swiffer" to clean the room since I don't enjoy having other peoples' hair stuck to me and my belongings. There was a microwave on top of the stove so I'm not sure how we could have used it even if we wanted to. On the plus side, we could lock the door that was between the other lodgers and the kitchen in order for us to use the bathroom outside in privacy. The balcony was nice, although all the plants were dead, but the bed (2 twins stuck together) was decent. Since the Euro is killing the dollar, this did turn out to be a cheaper place to stay and it was in a very quiet neighborhood. Kerstin, while a little cold, was a pleasant bohemian-type lady. Breakfast is basic (as it is all throughout Europe) and consisted of breads, cheese, deli meats and beverages. I'd recommend it to younger couples in their 20's or singles with extra cash who don't like hostels. Average.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank highplainsdrifter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

We had a wonderful stay in the double room. For 100 Euros a night, including breakfast, this was a great deal in comparison to other Amsterdam offerings. The room was airy and spacious, and half of the room was set up like a living room (with couch and tv). The toilet, shower and the shared kitchen were easily accessible just outside the room, and we were able to block off access to the shared kitchen whenever we were using the bathroom facilities. The kitchen even offered free teas and coffees, plus a microwave and dishware. The breakfast was the best we'd had in Europe, with a generous offering of fine breads, great meats and cheeses, veggies, fruits and fresh squeezed OJ and coffee. The location was also very close to tram lines, and the owner was helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and dining. We definitely recommend this place!

  • Liked — Great quality and overall experience
  • Disliked — Very steep set of stairs going up to room -- not good if you have heavy luggage
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank USA808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We had a great week here at the start of July. The B&B room is ensuite, with a balcony and access to a small kitchen. The room was clean and large enough to make the time we spent inside comfortable. The bathroom was big, bright and clean with a large shower. Having the balcony really added to the holiday, although it was only big enough for one person to sit on it comfortably. There´s a ceiling fan which was a big plus in summer! The shared kitchen was a bonus - it had everything you´d need to make do on nights you don´t want to eat out (although access to it was past the other bedroom´s bathroom-/showerroom and so the other guests could lock us out, that was fair enough and didn´t cause very much inconvenience). Also, you have your own frontdoor key, meaning no lockout times. Tram lines to centre just up the street,although it´s a bustling area anyway. Breakfast at a time to suit you and couldn´t fault it. The owner is very nice. I´d recommend it!

Helpful?
6 Thank Laura2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#43 of 367 in Amsterdam
408 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
836 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 367 in Amsterdam
599 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#174 of 367 in Amsterdam
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerstin's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerstin's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kerstin's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Kwakerstraat 2h, 1053 WC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerstin's bed and breakfast Amsterdam offers a self-catering rental apartment and B & B, located in the museum district just outside the canal area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing