We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price!”
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Verdi
Ranked #189 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel was situated in a quiet street just off museumsplein. On arrival, the host was very friendly and helpful with any query that we had.
The rooms are very basic, no luxuries really but for the price that was paid I couldn't complain. Accommodation in Amsterdam is very expensive, this was €202 for two people for three nights over the bank holiday weekend in Oct. We shared a toilet and shower on the second floor which wasn't bad at all as one might think, there were no queues even early in the morning.
Breakfast was good, boiled eggs, cereal, breads, meats and cheeses along with coffee, tea and juices; ideal to set one up for the day.
I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a bed to sleep in along with some breakfast and nothing more (exactly what we were after).
The location of the hotel is ideal for visiting the 'van Gogh museum or the Rijksmuseum', but all areas are covered by tram, gvb.nl is the public transport website and an ideal solution to getting around is buyin a four day transport pass for €21. Excellent value!
Heineken museum was well worth the money also!
Amsterdam is very expensive in areas so a pocket full of cash is advised!!! One place charged us €13 for two pints of Heineken! Definitely wouldn't put me off going again tho!

Room Tip: Prepare for the stairs!! Very steep, but that is an occurance in most buildings...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OffalyAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Verdi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Located next to Museum Square, close to the tram and bus stops (also bus that goes directly to the airport) within 5 minute walk to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. Party district just across the canal. Family style hotel, reasonably priced, rooms are clean and practically furnished, front doors are opened with chip. if you take room without a bathroom, toilet might be on a different floor.

Room Tip: rooms with no bathroom might have toilet on the other floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent location for museums. It is 2 streets behind the Concert Hall which is directly across a busy street (be aware of constant bicycle & tram traffic) to the museums Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. A large park is about 2 streets away for walking and jogging. The Concert Hall has a nice restaurant; there are many nearby. We walk most of the European cities and found the canals were easy access on the other side of the museums. As for the hotel: it is old & small with very steep stairs (be aware if you have weak legs, are of heavy weight/size, have large/heavy luggage); there is no lift, though the staff/owners are helpful getting luggage up the stairs. The staff appeared to be family and were very hard working. Breakfasts were good. Room was of good size but bath was small (shower & toilet in step-up 'closet' and sink was in the room). We noticed a public shower in the hall. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, linens were old but clean. We had a street room and did have some noise from young men staying at nearby hotel. I would stay here again, and would recommend to anyone looking for good museum location.

Room Tip: Front street room a bit noisy from persons on the street late at night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockfish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable stay for budget travellers. Very friendly management. Excellent location near Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. Well connected by nearby tram and bus stops. Stayed for 5 nights. Regular room cleaning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank drsdas2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The good--this is a nice hotel in a quiet residential area. It's only three blocks from three museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gough, and Stedelijk). It's also only three blocks to the tram, so you can get anywhere in the city fast. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was kind of charming, Old Europe, with fifteen foot ceilings. The bad--your room will probably be on the second or third floor, and there are some steep steps. The rooms were small and so was the television. Although we never saw anyone on our floor, you do share the toilet and shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank lockq
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best point is the location. Near the legendary concertgebow, Van Goh museum and voldenpark. Good place if you need to sleep well. The neibourhood is quiet and away from night clubs and bars (to me is quite important). The building is old as the entire Amsterdam, so dont expect modern stuff. The staff is a family and are very friendly and helpful. I chose a room with private toilette but not all roons have this facility. Be aware of that. The price is adequate and breakfast is satisfatory. Overall i found it a good option and i would stay again with my family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#230 of 371 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#266 of 371 in Amsterdam
507 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#199 of 371 in Amsterdam
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#102 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,114 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#221 of 371 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $110 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Verdi 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing