We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, reasonable rates, warm hospitality”
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Verdi
Ranked #185 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I had a single room which I originally booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 5. The room was comfortable but was definitely no frills. The location is in a very nice neighborhood near the concert hall and Van Gogh museum. This family run hotel is staffed with caring, kind people. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahotpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Verdi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was lovely. The family who run it are very helpful. The hotel is lovely and clean. Our room was big with lovely big windows. Beds are comfy. The floors are v squeaky so hard to creep round at night. Lovely shower. Beware the stairs as with any amsterdam accommodation. They have a cute cat called Mona and a nice garden off the breakfast room. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. The little tv was good for evening entertainment and hotel is close to nightlife and museums. It was quiet as it is away from main roads. there was some noise from passers by at night but the windows blocked most of the noise and it cant be helped as we went over the weekend. Best out of the 3 hotels we stayed at for our city break.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

it is a hotel run by an Asian family which means that you are welcomed warmly and seen off like a member of an official delegation, which is quite nice actually and makes you feel like a VIP...
The little room I had at the top of the mountain (3 flights of steep but small stairs) was charming . The hotel is quiet (but I was on the top floor) and the breakfast gave plenty of choice in cold food (yogourt, plenty of fruits, ham, cheese, several kind of bread and other crackers....hard-boiled eggs)..The shower was on the same level but the toilet downstairs but It was'nt a pb as you take into account this fact while going up /down..I felt very cosy and my stay was up all my expectations. Moreover, You can get free internet in the inner hotel nearby ...or buy some drinks or food from their vending machines. There is also a supermarket (albert heijn) just opposite the road to the concert hall

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mceiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Good value for money in a good location. Safe and very close to Rijks/Van Gogh Museums. Also very close to tram line that will take you further into Amsterdam if you don't want to walk. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Room was very simple and small but clean. Concert one night of my stay outside Rijks Museum made sleep difficult but not the fault of the hotel. Very steep flight of stairs with no elevator - a little scary carrying luggage!! Room had small TV, shower, toilet and small sink. No hairdryer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have checked the hotel for bed-bugs and there are no bed-bugs you can sleep there very well the hotel have showed me a contract that they are sprayd every six untill eight weeks all over the hotel. The manager and people that working there are very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmn-ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed there for an extended time. Changed rooms several times. Spots on all the bed linens. Bedbugs. We were bitten so badly that we had to go to the doctor. The doctor said they had never seen so many bites on one person. The owners, all family members didn't care at all. In fact the exterminator who showed up the morning we were covered in bites said to us that he had warned them many times to fix the bedbug problem but the family who runs the hotel did not want to spend the money. We woke up at 4AM covered in bedbugs. Dozens of them. It was like a horror movie. The fact that the hotel is in such a state of disrepair, curtains were filthy, most everything is broken and unsafe, should have told us something. Imagine putting long time staying guests knowingly in bedbug infested rooms? The exterminator told us that all the rooms were infested, not only the one we stayed in. My partner and I still are covered in bites weeks later. Dishonest family trying to save money foisting bug infested rooms on unsuspecting guests. There are so many negative things to see about this hotel. Stay at your own risk and don't be fooled by them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stillitching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

If you like walking, centrum is 20 minutes of a joyful walk. Hotel location seems a bit far from the centrum on the map, but it is not that far if you can walk 20-30 minutes. There are many attractions on that walk, too. Tram to central station is only several minutes anyway. My room was on 3rd floor. Entire hotel is quite as a libary. Breakfast was very good. I would definetly stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#232 of 371 in Amsterdam
204 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#267 of 371 in Amsterdam
508 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#101 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#205 of 371 in Amsterdam
174 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#103 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Hotel
De Bedstee Hotel
#189 of 371 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $106 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Verdi 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing