We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for backpackers,excellent location for the price!”
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Hotel
Ranked #347 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 16, 2009

In December 2008, my friends and I went to Amsterdam to bring in 2009. We were looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful, our expectations of the travel hotel were low from reading the travellers reviews! From Schiphol Airport get the train it was €2 and took 20-30mins, don't waste you monet on taxis! It is only a 5/8min walk from the station ot the hotel!When we arrived we were greeted by a lady on reception who cleary loved her job; I think we got about 2 smiles off her for our 4 day trip!The stairs was very narrow, however it was only a problem coming home after a night out!The girls and I got a nice dorm with 8 beds, it was clean however we had no handle on the bathroom door,it broke on the first day!In our dorm, every morning at 10am and 12pm church bells would ring right outside our window....very annoying! The boys dorm was very cramped you could not swing a cat in their room, very small! The location was no other than excellent everything is in walking distance, we went in december it was FREEZING weather so my advice is bring warm clothing I'm talking leggings under your jeans it was bitter (-2/3).If you want a bed and shower for a good price in the city centre, go for this place!Really enjoyed Amsterdam and would definitley go back and stay here again,even though it has a few minor faults!

Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
1  Thank OceanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 652 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2009

Stayed at the Travel hotel in Feb, in order to spend a couple of days exploring the delights of Amsterdam. Booked this hotel despite what I'd read on Tripadvisor, as I was having some trouble finding a hotel.

On arrival we were informed, somewhat curtly, that they wouldn't accept payment by card,(despite the fact that it said that they would on their window, and so we had to venture out to get some cash (though they did let us leave the suitcases there.)

Once in our room, up several flight of very narrow stairs, we had to clean the bathroom, as it obviously hadn't been cleaned and there was a generous helping of someone else hair scattered liberally thoughout. Thankfully it didn't take too long as the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. You had to step over the toilet to get in to the shower.

The room was quite grimy, but the television worked Ok once we'd replaced the batteries for the remote, the window opened, and the bed was do-able, even though they'd taken the unusual step of using a single sheet placed sideways over a double bed.

The location of the hotel is great for a tourist visit to amsterdam. It's on the main road, very near to the train station and the red light district. Probably best for a long weekend though, and don't book if you have knee problems

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank type47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We chose this hotel because we thought it would be better than staying in a hostel...So wrong we stayed on the 5th floor that had no lift the stairs was so narrow we had to lift and twist or cases to get up there. The loo got blocked. And the place was basically a flea pit. I had read teh reviews thinking ...well I am not that fussy but if you stay there you will regret it we went on the stay at other hostels in europe which were much cleaner quieter and user friendly. Some dude kept trying to get into our room when he was too drunk to remember where his own was found him the next morning sleeping in the coridoor. This is basically a poorly run hostel. If people partying in the next room wont keep you awake the church bells that go off every 15 mins will drive you mad not great when you have a hang over

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missindependant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

booked a double with en-suite for 2 nights at the travel hotel in 2006. the room was on the top floor, up flights and flights of progressively narrower and steeper stairs, and when you finally reach the room, it was rubbish. it's an odd shape that gets narrower towards a small window rising from the floor, the bed sits wedged in the corner on loose wheels (moves around when you get in!) and the en-suite is shower over toilet! it was pretty shabby and not especially clean. you can also hear people talking, etc., in the neighboring rooms.
the location is central, near the train station and on the edge of the red-light district- which is great for exploring the city, but also makes it very noisy.
only good thing was the nice 24 hour bar and reasonably friendly staff.
at E75/night in '06, i guess it is quite cheap for the expensive city, but i'm sure you could do better.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king_of_muffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

This is good value if you want a very central place to crash. I stayed in a 12 bed dorm with clean sheets, floors, very clean toilet/shower in room + one outside. There are lockers for your luggage for a deposit. The staff were helpful and friendly, 24hr etc. There's a 24hr bar in the hotel which doesn't seem to be used much. The hotel backs onto Warmoerstrat, a busy street of bars & there are loud church bells in the morning so if you're a light sleeper bring earplugs! But if you're after an incredibly central place to crash with your mates within a short walk of Centraal Station, Red Light District, Dam Square etc you could do far worse.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I have to say this is the worst hotel I have ever set foot in! I have stayed in some pretty dodgy places in my time but none were anywhere near as bad as this!

On first impression the hotel looked quite dated and run down, but we figured seen as we had booked it 3 months before we would give the place a chance. Our room was number 5009, it was on the fifth floor, up some seriously narrow staircases, the last one didn't even have a hand rail on the majority of it. We then walked through what can only be described as shabby corridors with spare pieces of wood and DIY equipment lying at the sides. When we eventually reached our room it was very small. We had booked an en-suite room which this was (only just) to get into the shower you would have had to climb over the toilet (the bathroom was no more than 1m square! The bathroom was so small the sink didn't fit into it. The sink which was in the bedroom had some brackets above it for a shelf, although there was no shelf on the brackets. The wall light next to the bed had no shade so it was just a bare metal bracket sticking out of the walls with large screws poking out and a bare bulb. The window was blocked by the bed (the window came up from the floor no more than a meter), when sat on the bed it felt as though it was going to fall out of the window into the cobbled street five floors below (the floor was slanting towards the window). What finally topped things off was when I noticed the brown smear of faeces across the radiator, I was nearly sick at this point and decided I couldn't stay.

The only redeeming feature this hotel had was the helpful young man on reception who told his boss what had happened and which room number it was, who then instructed him to give us our money back! It seemed as though when the boss heard the room number he decided straight away to give us the money back (maybe this is the worst of their rooms?)

Anyway all in all from the parts of the hotel I saw I would say it wasn't fit for my worst enemy! Disgusting!!!!

We ended up staying in a hotel up the road called the Terminus.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelesserknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

went to amsterdam for a weekend, got to the travel hotel (which is located in the red light district) it said on the website that i made the booking on that it was on the damrak, i had payed for the "room" which is actually dormary room (didnt say that on web page) total rip off for prices 95 euro, lady at reception was totally useless! and manager was the same both did not want to help., walked out and got accomation at a proper hotel!

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank emma023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#276 of 375 in Amsterdam
244 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#296 of 375 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#273 of 375 in Amsterdam
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#202 of 375 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#322 of 375 in Amsterdam
194 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $61 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travel Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing