We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travel Hotel
Ranked #328 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was doubtful of how my stay here would be after reading countless bad reviews. However I found my room to be (although extremely small) very clean and comfortable. I had no problems with my room and it was perfect for my short break. Its true that the stairs are steep and there are lots of them (we were on the 4th floor) but I did not expect any less from a building in Amsterdam. It can be very noisy at night as other guests come in at all hours a there is a bell that chimes every 15 minuetes however after the first night we had got used to it and managed to block it out for a good nights sleep. Perfect location as is close to everything, right in the middle of the city and easy to find. Nice and Simple.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    102
    180
    105
    164
See reviews for
31
87
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great hotel just round the corner from the coffe shops and red light district if thats what you are into. would recomend to anyone and the staff are very friendly. the price is perfect aswell for the location of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

High price for Saturdays and not worth it. The staff was unbelievably rude. A blonde female worker and a dark haired male worker were terribly unhelpful. The woman was very curt and unwilling to help. The man would not speak to you at all. The stairs are very steep and only one person should go up or down at a time. The bathrooms run out of toilet paper and are not replaced. The shower floors are disgusting and muddy. Shoes should be worn at all times while in the bathroom. The rooms are dusty, littered with trash, and beds are not made. The rooms are also very hot when someone showers, and the window is the only source of cool air and ventilation but then it is very noisy from the crowds outside. Bells were constantly chiming in the morning. All the guests were rowdy and inconsiderate of others and their noises levels. Overall, worst hostel I have ever been to. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Makassar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel has no elevator!!! We stay in the 5th floor with a child and a lot of baggage and without elevator, and you know what.. They didnt tell us about that 5th floor with no elevator!! If they told us before use our credit card, we definetly will find another hotel! And when we wanted to cancel our booking for the second nights, the refused it. Oh my GOD. This is the worst hotel ever. Do not take this hotel unles you love to get disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was not too sure what to expect before arriving. But on arrival, I settled in alright, just ideal for my short break. I was generally satisfied with my time there. Friendly and helpful staff. I'll definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Kelvin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent two nights here, more than enough I think. The staff were mostly curt and unnatentive most of the time, failing to notice guests arrival, which was annoying when they needed to 'buzz' you into the hotel. Our room was on the 5th floor, the stairs were very steep and precarious, however I beleive this is the style of old Amsterdam houses. The room was far from perfect with 6 beds cramped into a very small room, as such it got very warm and a little intimidating for a girl sleeping in such close proximity to strangers. The room had a sink, which was useful as there was only one bathroom on the whole floor for both males and females, catering for about 20 rooms. Lockers were available but no locks, however these could be purchased for 5 Euros at the desk. Due to the nature of Amsterdam, sleep was interrupted by the very late arrival of some guests. The hostel was advertised to have wifi, but the router was located in the lobby and got weaker and weaker as you clibmed the stairs, cutting off at the second floor. So no chance on the 5th. 2 Computers were available for use by the main desk, but were very slow and loud. Was cheap, but not so cheerful, wouldn't come here again. Should have taken heed of other reviews here. P.S. it doesnt have a terrible swimming pool or fitness center, mistakes were made.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelpiesaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

1. Hotel pre charge my c.card for 1 night without my consent even though I have already placed 10% payment with budgetplaces.com
2. No lift. Narrow staircase. Problem with big trolley bags.
3. Reception was so-so only.
4. Housekeeping didn't keep the place clean.
5. Only 1 plug to share in a 6 bedroom.

Room Tip: Bring extra chargers as only 1 plug in the room Toilet was dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller23230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#311 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#211 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#241 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Property: Travel Hotel
Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travel Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing