We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$329
$293
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$265
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$304
$274
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$444
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$260
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$489
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$88
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$240
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveler rating
37
115
201
121
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
115
201
121
199
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 673 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Room Tip: No lift here so make sure you requested for lower ground room if you carry with heavy luggage.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Over the years we have stayed in many cheap budget hotels and hostels in Amsterdam mainly mid-week. On this occasion we only needed a hotel for just one Saturday night for five of us which can present a bit of a challenge when trying to find one at a reasonable cost as most hotels require you to book at least two or even three nights minimum at weekends as were some of the regular hotels we have stayed at in the past.

After searching through the internet we eventually found the Travel hotel just off the Damrak. We booked a five person room with private shower and toilet. However, as this was a Saturday night we paid 225 euros (45 euros each) and that didn’t even include a breakfast.

On arrival at the hotel just a short walk from Centraal station, the friendly receptionist checked us in. We did have two pleasant surprises, firstly our room was just on the first floor so we didn’t have to clamber up lots of narrow steep stairs which are conducive to these types of buildings and then on entering the room discovered we all had single beds instead of bunks that are shown in the hotels pictures.

The room was at the rear of the hotel which had two small windows which opened out to the back of buildings behind with lots of Pigeons cooing on the flat roof. There was one other small window to the side but this was covered in thick birds mess and other dirt.

Our room came with a TV with a diabolical reception (not that we watched it much). Each bed came with a metal locker but the lockers didn’t actually lock. The room had its own shower room and toilet rather than shared facilities which is always handy. Towels were provided as were soap dispensers by the small sink (no plug) and in the shower cubicle. A hairdryer is also supplied. The shower itself was very powerful and the water was hot.

But the most bizarre thing to me was the single beds. I have never seen such narrow beds and the mattresses were very strange. I’m over 6’2” tall and when you sat on it you simply sunk into it. And when I finally went to bed I rolled over and fell out of it! I might add that the bed linen was clean as indeed was the whole room.

Kicking out time is 10am and boy do they let you know it. A woman came banging on the door with 15 minutes to go and let herself in to remind us of the checking out time. Luckily, none of us were starker’s after having our showers!

The hotel has free Wi-Fi, internet access and vending machines. Also at the rear is a 24 hour bar which we used when we returned from our night out. It also has a pool table which unfortunately had seen better days.

Other reviewers have mentioned the reception staff being miserable and grumpy, I found them to be quite friendly including the night chap who served us in the bar until four in the morning.

One of the best virtues of the hotel is its location, just a very short walk from Centraal station and close to tram stops and the Metro plus of course the famous Red Light District is just behind it. Lots of bars, cafes and restaurants are nearby.

In summing up we paid a lot of money for just one night (it’s less than half that during the week) but I guess they can charge “top dollar” at weekends. I would say the Travel hotel was better than some other “dives” we have stayed in Amsterdam in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors to avoid lots of narrow steep stairs
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finkfloydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews