We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Hotel
Ranked #326 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Travel hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here last month. Found it basic, which was fine, the sheets were clean. We had a bathroom in our room with shower. Look it did four lads for a weekend, somewhere to get your head down, and your right in e middle of things. Grasshopper bar just down the street. Italian reception guy i forget his name but he helped me print of my tickets which was great of him and he was more than happy to do it might i. Add. I liked it here. As is well known, the owners need to invest in some new computers, aside from that it was spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    109
    184
    109
    166
See reviews for
33
89
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Staff are rude, beds are horrible and dangerous (no ladder on bunks, or rail to stop you from falling off in the night), don't believe the bar prices (4euro for a vodka is actually 6euro if you want a mixer), the church next door never shuts up, the toilets and showers are filthy, overall it's just bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

staff were okay and helpful, APART FROM A BLONDE LADY SHE WAS EXTREMELY RUDE!, we would ask for a drink at the bar and was told to wait as she is having a cigarette break! then she went for her break, we had to wait. I lost a jacket in the bar she was no help at all and asked me to look for it myself very rude with her answers!!!! pretty much had a go at me, she clearly did not care! very good location, short walk from station, good price, no food at the hotel. We checked in early which was very convenient as we didn't have to carry our suitcases around Amsterdam until check in. we where put on 5th floor! no lift very steep narrow stairs, awkward carrying suitcases up, rooms did not get cleaned only spare towels. room was a good size,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Our room was on the 5th floor, there was no lift. The room double room was like a cabin on a ship with a tiny bathroom. The room itself was clean enough but the rest of the hotel smelt a little funny.

The location saves this place, walking distance to everything you would like to do.

As my title states, if your just gonna pass out here after visiting the local coffee shops and bars, its fine.... but if you are looking to spend some relaxation in your hotel, it is not for you. It is noisy (made by the ringing bells of the church next door and other guests) and the rooms are not big enough to be comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank awhitebhudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hostel/hotel is amazing, we were 3 Scotsmen who went to Amsterdam basically for a piss up and to get a wee weekend break, this is the 2nd time ive used this hostel and can safely say it wont be the last. The multi-national people who work at the 24hr bar/reception are the most friendly people in the world. I must say Michael (Italian), Akeem (Pakistani), Mayra (Korean) & even Shinn (Chinese) make this hotel what it is. I have to apologise to Shinn for the last review I left on trip advisor when I said he was anti-social, I was 100% mistaken, shinn is game for a laugh and we spent some good hours chatting and having a laugh.

Location of the hostel is perfect, 5 mins slow walking from central station, dam square and 2 mins from red light. Coffeeshop next door and a 24 hour bar, what more could you ask for in Amsterdam?

I recommend this hostel/hotel for anyone who wants to go and enjoy Amsterdam without expecting 5* quality! The rooms are good enough for what you use it for, sleeping, they are clean and bedding was changed daily.

Don't know what else to say, other than i'll use this hotel every time I return & I'll see you's in April!! peace out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccaffs1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me n a mate booked in here for 2 nights on oct 1st.
We had a twin room with private bathroom. It was brilliant !
Beds were v comfy
Spotless clean
Big comfy pillows.
Tv, desk, locker, big mirror.
Bathroom was spotless
Hot water all day
Clean Towels and floor towel
Bodywash and soap
Stocked toilet paper.

Daytime receptionist was a very good fella. Very chatty and helpful which made us feel welcome. Plus 24hr bar and wifi (which does only work on groundfloor in reception + 2 x free computers )
Nighttime guy was an asian guy who was very rude and strange. Zero chat, not even hello.

The room was 170€ for 2 nights
Divided by 2 guys was €85 per man for 2 nights.

The location alone is worth this !! Quiet street right in the verge of the redlight and a coffee shop next door practically ! Zero night time outside street noise during our stay.
Its literally a 6-7 min walk from central station. Keep the clock on central right behind you, go straight down by canal past the canal tour boats. You will see big green building away on left (the grass hooper) turn in here. The travel hotel is on the first street on right almost straight across from grasshopper street entrance.
You will see the 'travel' sign 20/30 metres down the street on the left.

My 2nd stay in amsterdam and thought last was good until this. We thought it was More than we expected and ideal location and my mate is a hotel restaurant manager !!
I will be back !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinny15688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location is great and the receptions are nice and helpful, especially in the morning shift. The blankets and sheets are not in a good situation, so if you have problem, take your bed sheet with you. The room was small and ventilation was not good. There was only a small window in a four persons room. But as Amsterdam is really expensive, that was teh best option with the money we had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#305 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#250 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#244 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Property: Travel Hotel
Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travel Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing