We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam party weekend”
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Hotel
Ranked #333 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amsterdam party weekend”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hostel/hotel is amazing, we were 3 Scotsmen who went to Amsterdam basically for a piss up and to get a wee weekend break, this is the 2nd time ive used this hostel and can safely say it wont be the last. The multi-national people who work at the 24hr bar/reception are the most friendly people in the world. I must say Michael (Italian), Akeem (Pakistani), Mayra (Korean) & even Shinn (Chinese) make this hotel what it is. I have to apologise to Shinn for the last review I left on trip advisor when I said he was anti-social, I was 100% mistaken, shinn is game for a laugh and we spent some good hours chatting and having a laugh.

Location of the hostel is perfect, 5 mins slow walking from central station, dam square and 2 mins from red light. Coffeeshop next door and a 24 hour bar, what more could you ask for in Amsterdam?

I recommend this hostel/hotel for anyone who wants to go and enjoy Amsterdam without expecting 5* quality! The rooms are good enough for what you use it for, sleeping, they are clean and bedding was changed daily.

Don't know what else to say, other than i'll use this hotel every time I return & I'll see you's in April!! peace out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccaffs1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    188
    114
    173
See reviews for
35
91
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me n a mate booked in here for 2 nights on oct 1st.
We had a twin room with private bathroom. It was brilliant !
Beds were v comfy
Spotless clean
Big comfy pillows.
Tv, desk, locker, big mirror.
Bathroom was spotless
Hot water all day
Clean Towels and floor towel
Bodywash and soap
Stocked toilet paper.

Daytime receptionist was a very good fella. Very chatty and helpful which made us feel welcome. Plus 24hr bar and wifi (which does only work on groundfloor in reception + 2 x free computers )
Nighttime guy was an asian guy who was very rude and strange. Zero chat, not even hello.

The room was 170€ for 2 nights
Divided by 2 guys was €85 per man for 2 nights.

The location alone is worth this !! Quiet street right in the verge of the redlight and a coffee shop next door practically ! Zero night time outside street noise during our stay.
Its literally a 6-7 min walk from central station. Keep the clock on central right behind you, go straight down by canal past the canal tour boats. You will see big green building away on left (the grass hooper) turn in here. The travel hotel is on the first street on right almost straight across from grasshopper street entrance.
You will see the 'travel' sign 20/30 metres down the street on the left.

My 2nd stay in amsterdam and thought last was good until this. We thought it was More than we expected and ideal location and my mate is a hotel restaurant manager !!
I will be back !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinny15688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location is great and the receptions are nice and helpful, especially in the morning shift. The blankets and sheets are not in a good situation, so if you have problem, take your bed sheet with you. The room was small and ventilation was not good. There was only a small window in a four persons room. But as Amsterdam is really expensive, that was teh best option with the money we had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

First, the location was great and when we arrived, we liked our room, because we've had our own bathroom and it was clean. But then at night the problems began. We found a mouse running all over our room and when we asked the receptionist to get it out, he acted like he didn't care, he said that it's an old building and that it happens sometimes. So that night we didn't get much sleep, we sat all night in a hotel bar, where we found out, there were also mice there, because it had many holes in the wall. I would'nt reccomend staying here for people that have a problem with that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location, red light district 2 streets behind the hostel and 5 min walk from central station so very convenient! Reception was pretty rude and didn't know the area when asked but the Asian lady's were very helpful and would do anything for you.
The room was small but clean and met an awesome Canadian guy I spent a few days with but when he left I got some noisy guys in that played music at 4am and smoked joints in the room (very poor ventilation) but that's just bad luck.
I ended up in a 4 bed room and our allocated toilet was in the corridor while others were in the room which meant guys came from all over the hostel to use it when they wanted to "make some noise" so I didn't get to shower at checkout as it was busy.
The room was warm during the day but cool at night (2nd floor) but the guys on the 5th were dying. (You can borrow a fan for 10 euro deposit).

And if you can't negotiate very steep narrow stairs don't stay here but that's the same in all the places around unless you stay somewhere with a lift.

Wifi is still free in common room/ bar but doesn't work in rooms which is a pain.

Overall a good stay that would have been a lot better if you were in a group.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked two beds in a 4-bed dorm. The room really was TINY. And yeah, practicly everything was clogged, the sink -both in the room and in the toilet as well as the shower.. and also, it smelled!! Located close to both the centralstation & the tourboats -as well as beeing locade just at the start of Red Light District....

Helpful?
1 Thank marrix
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay there - all 5 of us were in a 5 bed-room, and it worked out great! Friendly staff, very accommodating. Good security. Central location in Red Light- can't go wrong with that!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bipin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 368 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#294 of 368 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#250 of 368 in Amsterdam
283 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#317 of 368 in Amsterdam
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Property: Travel Hotel
Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travel Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing