We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A mixed experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travel Hotel
Ranked #329 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our initial thoughts on the hotel were friendly staff, fairly good facilities, and clean enough rooms. Then it all went down hill.
We were told that the microwave and kettle usage was fine at any time, but the staff had to operate them for us from behind the bar, however, when it came to asking for some hot water the woman behind the desk was extremely rude and had a very reluctant attitude towards helping us which we found very off putting. If you are really too busy to be polite when being asked to use facilities that are told to be provided at all times, then there should either be an area where people can do it themselves, or don't offer the facilities. All other staff members were especially helpful and we were impressed with their level of service.
On our final night in the city there was an incident with a man being sick all of the floor, which led to us being kept up all night, when eventually the police were called (which was a slight over reaction and resolved nothing as the man continued to lock himself in the bathroom in a four hour 'shower' whilst being violently sick and flooding the bathroom.) The guy in reception was lovely and helpful when this happened, we were very glad the awful woman was not there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    102
    180
    105
    164
See reviews for
31
87
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed only one night İn Hotel Mercure Poznan Centrum in Poland and I had to stay in a room with 30 degrees Centigrad in August since air contioning was not working. They offered me to change the room at mid night. I already opened my luggage and settled in the room so I did not accep it at this hour of the day( 23:00) I had never had such a tasteless food in the restaurant of the hotel in my life. I think the personnel was not happy and they showed it with the service(!) they offered. I called the reception many times, nobody answered, I went down stairs to the reception. I carried my luggage to my room since the personnel was too slow. I recommend no body to take this hotel in your plans for the future.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was well aware it was a hostel and this is the 3rd I've stayed in, in Amsterdam (this includes StayOkay Vondelpark and Hans Brinker). It's right next to Central Station and 5 minutes walk from Red Light District (I wanted to stay near Leidseplein). The room itself was OK, I was expecting to see bunkbeds so was very happy to see single beds, the bathroom clean, nice shower but wasn't very spacious. We was on the 3rd floor if I remember correctly and the stairs were very steep so if you're drunk I'd suggest you avoid walking down the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cc_virtue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the most horrific "hotel" i have ever stayed in. How it even got the name hotel is beyond me as people should be paid to stay there as opposed to paying to stay there!! We stayed here for 3 nights and it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The room itself was filthy with blood stained mattresses and cigarette burns all over them! It smelt so bad and was so dirty we slept on towels over the bed linen! I am by no means high maintenance but at the very least i expect my room to be clean! The stairways up to the rooms were tiny and filthy as were the bathrooms! It was quite expensive too considering we stayed in hostels in Berlin and Krakow that where beautiful and for only 12 euro (krakow) and 19 euro (berlin) a night!! The only reason we actually stayed here was because there was NOWHERE else to stay that had any vacancies!! I wouldn't advise anybody to stay here unless they want to be bitten to death in their beds and feel the need to have at least 2 showers a day because of the filth they were sleeping in!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danikagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B&B was not at all as advertised. The pool and hot tub were not open; our room was tiny with an odor; the living room had dead spiders near the ceiling; the afternoon wine and cheese was skimpy; the outdoor furniture was not clean I have stayed in numerous B&B's and this was not pleasant. Breakfast was fine but I could not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights (July 3 & 4) at the Sleep Inn in Hattiesburg MS. While we had checked out the site before booking, we were still pleasantly surprised at the good quality of the amenities (with the one exception being the small thin bath towels). The room was nice and spacious, included wi-fi, good sized flatscreen tv, in room coffee maker, etc.
The ample breakfast and breakfast area was also a nice plus. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend the facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrix91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with the location of this hostel, right near the central station and close to the red light district however the staff were incredibly rude and made it seem like a effort to help out with anything.
The rooms are very small and not well ventilated. The room lockers are so small that our backpacks barely fit inside them. However there was a nice little bar area. Wifi only strong in bar area, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raanzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#312 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#306 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#242 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Property: Travel Hotel
Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travel Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing