We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresentation of The Bear Flag Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Hotel
Ranked #326 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
“Misrepresentation of The Bear Flag Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B&B was not at all as advertised. The pool and hot tub were not open; our room was tiny with an odor; the living room had dead spiders near the ceiling; the afternoon wine and cheese was skimpy; the outdoor furniture was not clean I have stayed in numerous B&B's and this was not pleasant. Breakfast was fine but I could not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    97
    167
    99
    151
See reviews for
30
80
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights (July 3 & 4) at the Sleep Inn in Hattiesburg MS. While we had checked out the site before booking, we were still pleasantly surprised at the good quality of the amenities (with the one exception being the small thin bath towels). The room was nice and spacious, included wi-fi, good sized flatscreen tv, in room coffee maker, etc.
The ample breakfast and breakfast area was also a nice plus. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend the facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrix91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with the location of this hostel, right near the central station and close to the red light district however the staff were incredibly rude and made it seem like a effort to help out with anything.
The rooms are very small and not well ventilated. The room lockers are so small that our backpacks barely fit inside them. However there was a nice little bar area. Wifi only strong in bar area, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raanzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very nice place to spend the night in Bellingham. Nothing fancy, just quiet, clean, and inexpensive. It's near some good restaurants, grocery stores, shopping, and the Interstate. If you need a place to spend a night or more while in Bellingham, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taojonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

One morning In May my husband and I were picked up at our hotel in Edinbourgh by Matthew Wight of Discreet Scotland. To our delight Matt was wearing a kilt and greeted us right on time with a smile and a warm welcome. One of the reasons we chose Discreet Scotland was the promptness and throughness with which Matthew always answered our e-mails and we were delighted with his services. We found him to be informative, knowledgable, and friendly. He was also flexible and very willing to make last minute itinerary changes. We highly recommend Matthew and Discreet Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have never experienced a hotel room as bad as that!!!! the moment i stepped foot into the hallway to find the room an employee was rude. then i walked in to my room and the smell would have knocked you down and thats not exadgerating!!! The moisture in the room in the air was so damp as well as the carpet.There was mold on the window curtains. And it was difficult to even stand the smell. i have never made a review that was negative about any hotel, but this one deserved it. I know they are renovating and i can accept that, but they needed to burn that room! I expected so much more from a hotel at that cost. I felt like i was in a cheap $20.00 a night run down, back alley hotel..

Room Tip: I don't really know what to say about a room, I just hope they arn't all like that in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffany c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It is very central, rather inexpensive and has a bar. However, rooms are tiny and not very clean. Same with the showers and the toilets. Moreover, after one night we were told to change rooms. As it happened before the housekeeper cleaned everything, we were left without a room where to keep our stuff and we had to pack again. Windows did not really open, while lockers were very narrow so that we couldn't really put our stuff in there. I recommend it for few nights stay only.

Room Tip: Lower floors have better access to wifi and less walking upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matraquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#309 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#239 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library
Hotel Library
#203 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#222 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Property: Travel Hotel
Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travel Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Budget Places, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing